We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was different!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Villa de Magdalena
Ranked #19 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Nice
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It was different!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed at the Villa from the 10th May with my husband for a week in the Art room. It was a long narrow room with no window or aircondition and only a door which leads to a small outside space and seating area. The room is very clean and cleaned every day. Unfortunately the bed was uncomfortable as so were the pillows, after some further investigation we found that the mattress was actually foam.
The owners are very nice and welcomming people and breakfast was in their garden, which was nice.
Breakfast itself is limited, with some croissants, bread, boiled eggs etc. Its basic and a bit dissapointing.
A nice touch was the purple ribbons she gave to her guests and to make a wish whilst tying it into her orange tree.
The walk into the old town, took us 30min. Firstly along a very busy road, then round the port, promenade and into the old town, which is just amazing. Lots of little shops, markets and we couldn't fault the food or friendlyness .
We took the train from the second stop in Nice as this was much closer to the villa and visited a few places nearby. Villefranch-sur-mer and Antibe. worth a visit !
We did try some restaurants recommended on tripadvisor. Chez Freddy was very enjoyable and had great fish dishes. Overall we never had a bad meal no matter where we ate but watch the prices for beer or wine, they can be quite steep.
The language is not a problem as most speak some english and they are keen to practice on you.
I would like to return to nice but would look for accomodation closer to the old part.

Room Tip: The Lady's room is at the side of the house and with only a door leading to the small balcony it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmad92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Superb location near by the old port of Nice. Rooms are decorated by the owners and during breakfast team you walk their private garden and gallery. Walk time to old town of Nice is 10-15 minutes, and bus to Monaco departs almost front of the B&B. The only drawback is that there was't AC in the room, only fan - so we need to keep all windows open to cool down the room during the night time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in Villa Magdalena with my spouse and we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The house itself was situated near the port and the city center (old town and new) was within walking distance, but the neighborhood was far enough from the commotion of restaurants, bars and traffic. As a person who values peace and quiet, this spot was the perfect place to stay. Our balcony overlooked the courtyard, so no noises from the street below could be heard.

The family who runs this place speaks English only a little, but we did not find this a problem. They were very friendly and eager to help us. The breakfast served every morning was quite basic with a selection of cheese and freshly baked bread and pastries, but the atmosphere in the breakfast room with French music playing in the background made up for whatever the breakfast might have lacked.

The only negative thing I have to say about this place is that there were no closets or drawers in our room and thus no place to put our clothes and things out of sight. There were a couple of hangers and shelves, but not enough of those either.

In any case, I would warmly recommend this place for anyone who is looking for an intimate yet private place to stay in Nice for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsinkkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

It is a historical country house in five minutes from the old port of Nice. Each studio is equipped with kitchen, has own bathroom with a shower and a toilet. Breakfasts are covered in private part of a country house or in a garden.
Very silently and comfortably.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sola248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I think it was the most interesting room I ever stayed in. The design is fantastic, at first you don't want to unpack, you want to have a look on the room. Moreover, you want to have a look on the whole villa, and feel sorry you can't do that :) but on breakfast Nadia shows some of her and her husband works, you can have a look on the yard and dining place - and everything is very nice. I liked the location of La Villa, pretty close from the Port and you can walk up to the sea. The breakfast was basic but everything was fresh. Free wifi worked fine and it's very quiet at night. I liked this hotel very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We booked the place for a one night after our journey to Corsica before the flight back. We found the villa very close to the port and got a nice, clean modern studio. The place is very tiny and calm not far from the center of Nice and the Place Garibaldi with very good oysters in Cafe Torino. The breakfast in the garden of the villa was very good and of "family" one. We talked with the owners and looked at their beautiful paintings and other works.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We booked the Villa Magdalena on the reviews we had seen on Trip Advisor and it did not let us down. The family who run the villa are lovely and very helpful and breakfast is a delight. Sitting in an oasis in the center of Nice enjoying lovely french food, surrounded by art work, a white rabbit and parrot was a lovely way to start the day. The location of the villa is also ideal as you can walk to the beach and the old town in about 15 mins and it is on the main bus route to Monaco and Le Cap Ferrat, both routes costing only 1 euro each way. The room was quirky with a Gaudi inspired bathroom and a beautiful view over the roof tops of Nice. If we go back to Nice we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overjoyedguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Mont Boron
Hotel Villa La Malouine
Hotel Villa La Malouine
#103 of 204 in Nice
161 reviews
Port
Clair Hotel
Clair Hotel
#113 of 204 in Nice
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Suisse
#7 of 204 in Nice
1,139 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa de Magdalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa de Magdalena

Property: La Villa de Magdalena
Address: Entree 1 1 avenue Capitaine Scott, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Mont Boron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa de Magdalena 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa de Magdalena is located in the heart of Nice on the French Riviera, just a few minutes' walk from the beach and the shops. It offers free Wi-Fi internet access.The 19th century building has been uniquely decorated with many pieces of modern art. The studio and apartment accommodation is equipped with TV, a seating area, kitchenette and refrigerator.The Villa provides a daily breakfast that can be enjoyed in the Mediterranean-style garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing