We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The VERY Best Ice cream in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Arlequin Gelati

Glacier Arlequin Gelati
Ranked #2 of 47 Dessert in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 2006, Roberto, original artisan glacier Milan opens Arlequin Gelati Italiani in Nice. His creative approach, its taste pronounced for innovation, knew enchant and surprise the taste buds of all customers. Today Roberto continues to search for your pleasure, the finest ingredients and the most subtle flavors all around the world. Soft and rounded flavors, spoken or delicate, ice in Arlequin is primarily an extraordinary experience common, a journey of the senses of taste sensations to none. What moments of happiness for our child's soul!
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The VERY Best Ice cream in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Definitely worth going across the city ...and flying in from the UK to eat ice cream here. We have eaten ice cream at other places in Nice (and in the wider world) ....but nothing else gets close !!!!!
Roberto has exceeded his previous great standard by adding little petit fours to his menu and WOW!!!
Quick summary - fabulous true-to-life flavours, imaginitive combinations - a feast for both eyes and taste buds. There's poor ice cream ... there's good ice cream....then there's GREAT ice cream....and that's ARLEQUIN...but you have to try for yourself to understand why we rave....so go on ...drop in and try some flavours before settling on the want you want to dive into (pardon the "seaside" pun)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niceophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    83
    24
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Great ice cream, every flavour you can think of, that's all that needs to be said. Worth a visit but like another person has said I probably wouldn't trek across town for it. There are a number of other very good places in the old town. It was really good tho :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BennyRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I recommend this if you're in the area, but Gelato can only be so different from place to place - don't go across the city for it because there are plenty of great places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

OK, so maybe I'm just greedy, but honestly I couldn't stop thinking about the ice creams we had at Arlequin. We had Tropical Eden (almond and coconut), Pistachio, Pear sorbet and vanilla (which may sound boring but my husband believes you can only judge an ice cream parlour by trying the vanilla!) Definitely worth the short trek from the centre - the other ice cream places just don't compare. The owner, Roberto, a lovely, friendly Italian, is a true artist. He has done the place up since we visited last year, and it looks much classier....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stamfordbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surprizingly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Following the other reviews i made the trek out of the tourist parts of town past, the train line to this ice-cream parlour. i had a fancy creative flavour called persepolis (saffron) and two classic scoops. nothing made me think that is ice-cream is one step above the rest, just average. the portion size was much smaller than the one in the centre of town and poor value for money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Arlequin Gelati also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Glacier Arlequin Gelati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing