We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Au Picardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Au Picardy
Ranked #107 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I would say it was an average hotel, nothing great about it, in fact a warning that either take a bath at night or very early morning otherwise there is no more hot water to take a bath with. We were a little late to take our bath and all the hot water got fininshed by other guests. Rest was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garima U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAuPicardy, Propriétaire at Au Picardy, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015
Google Translation

Cher cliente,

Nous avons bien pris votre commentaire en compte.

Sachez que depuis, la production d'eau chaude a était totalement changer à neuf, et notre capacité de stockage a augmenter de façon significative.

Cordialement.

Le propriétaire,
Hôtel Au Picardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Ok for 1 day stay ,awesome location close to main atractions in the town,shops etc.helpfull staff but poor rooms and a bit noisy as trams are going just outside the buiding ,until late eve from early hours

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maykaPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel has a great location - easy access to everything (beach, shopping, old town, bus and train).
The owner and his son is very nice. We didn't have shower or toilet in our room, but the shower and toilet in the corridor/hallway was clean so it was not a problem. We stayed there for 4 nights: they clean the bed every day, and we got new towel the 3th day.
There were some misunderstanding with the booking, but we worked it out with no problems.
The breakfast is not that interesting.

Will recommend this hotel to others who (like us) will use most their time outdoor.

Thank you for our stay at your hotel.

Kind Regards

Urissara & Lili (from DK)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Lili Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel has a great location, and you can get there very easily by tram from the train station in about 10-15 min. You have lots of places to eat and drink very closely, as well as supermarkets, pharmacies, etc. To go to old town or to the beach side you can walk or take the tram, everything is very close...
The people who run the hotel are helpful and kind. Our room was very confortable, clean, and you get free WIFI
Very good price-quality relation. Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisePLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Good budget hotel, well located next to the old town and short walk to the Promenade des Anglais and the sea. Room was clean and spacious. Hotel is run by a father and son who were both very obliging and let me change rooms after my first night to one with a small balcony overlooking the street. My first room was adequate but had no view.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel although might need earplugs to cut out noise from the street. Room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

On a trip with my partner in mid-September, we got one of the larger rooms on the first floor overlooking the courtyard, which was quiet but there was quite a heavy smell from the bakery below. The room was spacious and pleasant, though my partner found it more difficult than me to accept the 'Old-World charm' of the place. That said, for the price you couldn't beat the location - on the good edge of the Old Town, a stone's throw from the local bus terminus and directly on the tram line that leads to the main train station.

The people who run the hotel are very upright and helpful, though I'm not sure of their English language skills. In addition, I didn't find the booking process very reassuring: I booked over the phone some weeks in advance and followed up with an e-mail (both in French) and everything worked out ok, but I would have preferred some automated reminder of the booking directly from the hotel, not to mention a simpler way of booking via the Net.

In summary, I'd say this hotel is great for younger to middle-age people travelling on a budget who want a safe, well-located hotel with a family feel as a point from which to enjoy Nice and its locality. Older people or those of reduced mobility might have difficulty with the stairs leading up to the entrance, another traveller has noted a problem with parking in the vicinity, and the fastidious may have problems with the lack of recent refurbishment of the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ASpaceInvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Clean,quite and descent stay in this nice hotel . i really enjoyed my stay there!
Thank you all the staff for going an extra mile for your guests!
i decided to book this hotel after reading all positive reviews
well that is all to say

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishna20112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel Villa La Tour
Hotel Villa La Tour
#129 of 203 in Nice
437 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#80 of 203 in Nice
202 reviews
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#146 of 203 in Nice
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riquier
Hotel des Dames
Hotel des Dames
#106 of 203 in Nice
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Picardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Picardy

Address: 10 boulevard Jean Jaures, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $57 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Au Picardy 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family atmosphere for this hotel, in the center of the city, led successively by parents, son, this for over 50 ans.Face the Green corridor that leads to the sea, the theater (TNT) and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art (MAMAC). Palace Acropolis Congress and the exhibition center are nearby (or 5 minutes by tram). Adjoining the Old Nice, the hotel is near many shops (souvenir shops, craft shops and food shops) and coach stations restaurants.The direction Cannes and Monaco are, too, close to the hotel (1.50 € Per trip). A 10-minute walk through the narrow streets of Old Nice where he stroll takes you to the Promenade des Anglais lined including its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Au Picardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Picardy Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing