We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food at reasonable prices.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gargamelle

La Gargamelle
Ranked #326 of 1,866 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Outstanding food at reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The room is very full of antique furniture and pictures with very heavy wooden chairs and tables. Some may find it absolutely charming and others may think it a bit old fashioned and cluttered; but the food is excellent.

We shared a plate of fois gras and charcuterie. My wife had a steak in a pepper sauce which she loved, and I had the Tournedo Rossini (filet mignon with fois gras) probably the best steak I have ever eaten! We ended by sharing a desert of glace. See pictures.

Service was excellent. There were only three tables occupied on this night and everyone seemed to be thoroughly enjoying their meals and showering compliments on the chef.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkingStomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    34
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our experience in this restaurant was very good. It seems like a very authentic french restaurant. the food we got was very good. It might be a little expensive, the mains were about €24-26 but I guess this is the normal for nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hurricane_Election
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good cooks here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

A small place with good value and excellent quality of dishes, well located near Place Mecina.
We went back but found it closed the second time, not sure why. I had a nice prawn with spagetti dish with a quality taste and my wife had an excellent beef dish with a good wine based sauce and as I recall the prices were very fair.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This strangely decorated restaurant offers decent food in a very curious setting. The steak with foiegras is pretty good. I wouldn't go back but it may be worth trying once.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CPLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. Translated the menu to us in English.
Food was the best that we've had in France.
Atmosphere was traditional French.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank belzinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gargamelle also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Gargamelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing