We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Warm Welcome to a Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Roustide

La Roustide
Reserve with
La Roustide is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,875 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $59
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: This chic little restaurant tucked away on the Rue Beaumont in Nice is earning an excellent reputation for its innovative and exquisite contemporary French cuisine. The Head chef, has created a rich and exciting menu with an emphasis on truffles. The intimate dining room at La Roustide is popular with the locals for sophisticated business lunches and stylish evening meals, and the restaurant's signature dishes include the seared foie gras burger served with sliced truffles, bordelaise sauce and French fries; the Rossini fillet of beef with polenta and truffles; and the rocket salad with asparagus, artichokes and, you guessed it, some more truffles.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
782 reviews
675 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome to a Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have been to this somewhat out of the way address several times before when it was Diamant Noire. It was a very good restaurant then, and the new restaurant and new owners have, if anything, upped the standard. Truffles still play an important part in the recipes. The interior is simple and soothing and suggests you are dining in a country home.

The tasting menu, ranging from 55 to 85 Euros, depending on how many courses you wish to have with black truffles, is very fairly priced for this high price ingredient. More importantly, all the dishes are deftly and deliciously prepared and not just dependent on the truffles. One doesn't have to have truffles here, there are other viable choices on the menu.

There are a limited number of choices for each course, but that is perfectly sensible for a small restaurant. The wine list offers a decent choice of whites, reds and rose's. You should come away from this restaurant feeling that you have dined well, among an agreeable and unpretentious clientele and staff, that your business has been appreciated, and that you have gotten good value. We look forward to coming back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRoustideRestaurant, Propriétaire at La Roustide, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Ulysse,

Thank you so much for your nice review.
We are very proud and happy to read that you enjoyed your evening at La Roustide.
I hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards.

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    96
    21
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location outside the center of Nice but worth the trip”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This restaurant is in a residential section of Nice. It is a small place that is run by the owners. The food is very good and the service is also very good. I would make a reservation because there is limited number of seats available. I would return to this restaurant and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freak4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRoustideRestaurant, Gérant at La Roustide, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thanks and see you soon ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived on a Saturday night, right at 19:30 when they opened because we did not have a reservation. The girl was very nice and showed us to a table. Within 30 minutes, every table was full. This is a very small place, but beautifully decorated, dimly lit, and so inviting. They offered a pre fixe menu for $52 euro (which I would definitely get next time), but I ordered off the menu as I wasn't that hungry. I started with a fois gras pâté and then had prawns and risotto for my plate. My friends both ordered the truffle pomme (some type of truffle potato dish) and the supreme (some kind of special chicken dish). Although I really enjoyed mine, I would have to say their selections were even better. One friend ordered the French toast desert - to die for! This will definitely be the place I take my out of town guests on their last night here. One woman ran the whole room, with patience, kindness and ease. It was truly a fabulous dinner. 3 people starter and main, 1 dessert, 2 bottles of wine $250euro.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRoustideRestaurant, Gérant at La Roustide, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thanks and see you soon ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal on French vacation”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was hands down the best meal I had while in France. The service was excellent, the chef's tasting menu was to die for, and it is all in a lovely neighborhood setting. I was able to add black winter truffle to several courses and it was just divine. If I could give any criticism at all, it would be the wine list. It's pretty limited.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jastarr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRoustideRestaurant, Gérant at La Roustide, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thanks and see you soon ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“MON BOUCHE EST TRES HEUREUX”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were very happy to discover La Roustide the day after Christmas. We've eaten in some of the haute cuisine restaurants of NIce and enjoyed them. However, we were so warmly welcomed that La Roustide will always be our favorite. The lovely, young woman who owns the restaurant, endeared herself and the restaurant by early on telling us that the recipe for the amuse bouche was the same her grandfather made for her when she was a little girl. There was so much love in her eyes and that love was infused in what we ate. Of course one should visit for the food - delicious, inventive and beautifully presented. The warmth and love of the owner made it an exceptional life experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kwaaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRoustideRestaurant, Propriétaire at La Roustide, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Ohhhh thank you very very much !!!
I have no words... your comment is a wonderful christmas present.
I expect you next year...

Warmest regards.

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roustide also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Roustide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing