We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Indian food, grumpy waiters!!”
Review of Le Shalimar

Le Shalimar
Ranked #399 of 1,936 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average Indian food, grumpy waiters!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Staying at the Star hotel, we were delighted to find this Indian restaurant bang opposite our hotel! The ambience of the restaurant was good and the welcome drink is also quite refreshing! Since we had a toddler with us, we requested if something simple and less spicy could be prepared by the chef; but that request was declined. Thereafter the dishes (both vegetarian and chicken) arrived in similar looking sauces (or gravies). The parathas/rotis were good and the rice was also okay. The next day too we went there, since it was quite late and wanted to have a quick grub. The different dishes we ordered this time around too came in similar tasting and looking gravies. The Chana masala was good though. I saw several other Indian restaurants in the area and I might try those during my next time there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VS2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammar2706, Manager at Le Shalimar, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
thanks for giving us reviews.
we'll consider about what u said.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    112
    23
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good set menus at midday during the week”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Lovely set menu - 3 choices of starter, 3 choices of main and a dessert for around 11 euros. Great for vegetarians and good portion size.
We went with a pram and there was room for that.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank helensushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I dined here twice with my sweetheart. Lovely environment. Equally the food is also very good. Great Indian Food. Just inside the lane after the Supermarket MONOPRIX. Its in a noise-free location. Tasty and delicious food. You have you choice of getting the food made spicy or non-spicy. I like raw onions and my love likes green chilies. These were served to us in good quantity for free. Simply loved everything. Especially the vases in the corners having hundreds of roses which makes the restaurant's interior more beautiful. What also we liked is the style in which you can go on eating taking your own time and still the food remains hot by the stainless steel candle light arrangement. This serves as the candle-light also and also the food-dish-plate can be kept on the upper setting where it keeps heating the dish.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YogeshGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammar2706, Manager at Le Shalimar, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
thanks for nice comment. Our company update the interior décorations, should try it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Shalimar also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing