We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average food, poor service, high prices... if that's what you're looking for”
Review of Chez Freddy

Chez Freddy
Reserve with
Chez Freddy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,366 of 1,925 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $25 - $67
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town / Vieux Nice
Description: Located cours saleya in Nice,one of the most famous place of the French Riviera , in the old city , you will enjoy to stay on the big terrace for your diner all the year.Chez freddy you'll find a very large choice of seafood, fish, meat, pasta, salads and our specialities of Paellas, Aiolis, and Bouillabaisses. You can also opt for the set menu with not less than 10 choice of starters, main courses and desserts.All the first floor of the restaurant is the kitchen where the chefs prepare the dishes , from the starters to the desserts, all is home made and the team is almost the same from the opening date, 9 years ago .Every day you have the flower market on this place and every Monday the antiquity market .Chez Freddy restaurant is open 365 days a year, all the day from 11.30 am to 11.30 pm,.W'll be very honored to welcome you in our restaurant on the place from 2004. We welcome around 80 000 customers every year, coming from the area and from all the world and often coming back years after years.See you soon Chez Freddy !!!ps we have menu in english,russian,italiano,german,chinese!!!!!
Tulsa
2 reviews
“average food, poor service, high prices... if that's what you're looking for”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

staff was friendly, just too many people doing the same jobs and easy to get lost... for hours... in the back... waiting on desert and the bill... asking and asking for the bill.......... go to la voglia. far better option in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranger06300, Gérant at Chez Freddy, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear customers
I m very sorry to spoil your meal.
For the price you can eat for different prices and I think we offering very good price value.
I m very sorry that the waiters don't care about you , and I promise you ,next time you will be happy.
We offering you a glass of champagne and ask to mr freddy.
Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    308
    231
    195
    350
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nought special”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Really fancied some sea food, and the muscels for starter was good, but the main course was very dry and unimaginative seemed like fit had been sat under heat lamps for hours. If you was paying €15 for a main course, then fair enough, but it's more like €35, I really expected better...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tezza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranger06300, Gérant at Chez Freddy, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear clients
We are happy for your review . Sorry for the dry main corse .you could ask for changing plate and we will change. But if is a grilled food some times that can be dry but not so much . If you come next time ,we do the best for you .
Merci encore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Satisfying and tasty”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My two sisters and I visited this restaurant our last night in Nice on our trip around Europe. We hadn't looked the restaurant up before going- we were lured in by the maitre'd and the tripadvisor sticker. My sisters and I don't eat much, so we decided to share two dishes- paella with chicken, seafood and chorizo and aoili with vegetables and three types of fish- sea bass, cod and salmon. We were very happy and satisfied with our meal. The paella was flavoursome and spicy, with plentiful seafood and four pieces of chicken. The aoili consisted of three pieces of fish and a variety of steamed vegetables. The fish portions could have been bigger, and the vegetables were a tad overcooked, but overall, still satisfying.
The menu stated that the paella would take twenty minutes to prepare and cook, and we timed it- it really did arrive approximately twenty minutes after ordering. We also didn't seem to have any of the service problems mentioned by the other reviewers- our waiters were friendly and helpful. The bread was also one of the nicest we've had at an Italian or French restaurant- crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.
Of course, we only ordered two mains- things might have been different if we'd had other courses. However, we would recommend this restaurant for the paella alone, and overall were quite happy with the food, service, and price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pseudoyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not great, massively overpriced”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

To keep it simple, this place provides average but not unpleasant food at very over-inflated prices. The food didn't come across like the chefs were particularly talented and creative, but just going through the motions. Wish we hadn't bothered and had gone to one of the smaller places on Rue Droite etc to be honest. Service was fine. The wine was incredibly overpriced also. It looks fantastic and had a good atmosphere, but I definitely wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coach and H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avoid this restaurant! Horrible!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are a young couple who made the mistake of eating at this restaurant; the food was bad, the table was very cramped next to another, the person who makes the seafood platter has quite a temper and this was very disturbing, it takes quite a while until you can eat; the price of the drinks are a bit exaggerated, I hated that place and the meal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Freddy also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez Freddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing