We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Smith Beach
Nearby Hotels
$203
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$363
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Suisse(Nice)
$354
$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$199
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$341
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$307
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$280
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$148
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
97
58
34
30
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
58
34
30
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townrue droitefantastic hosteleach guestyoung travellerscream and jamcommon areasdefinitely stay here againthe location is perfectrooftop terraceminute walk to the beachthe buscollinebackpackersmonacofrench
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 276 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great welcoming, helpful staff, cool atmosphere and perfect location.
If you are an easy going traveler, this is your place.
You can count on friendly staff to give you some good advice on the things to do and places to see.
I'm going to choose this hostel for my next stay in Nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaszeszko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been to Nice several times and I can recommend Hostel Smith if you want a cheap place to stay. It's clean and nice. I stayed with some friends and we enjoyed it very mucht. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is really super. You are living next to great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicabebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

All the bad reviews happened while they were doing renovations, I went in September and truly enjoyed my stay! The room were a bit noisy, yes, but you are located in the heart of the old Nice so it is to be expected! The hostel was clean enough, staff was wonderfully helpful. They gave us a lot of good advise on the nearby cities to visit, cheap way to get there, and even about the history of the cities! Breakfast room is quite small but good and clean. Showers were good and spacious too which is the most important!!
We stayed in a 12 bed mixed dorms, next to the reception, it was very spacious with private lockers.
I stayed one night only but would have stayed more!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ascote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've been at Hostel Smith in June 2013 and I really didn't like that place. The hostel is in a residential building, the reception is not 24h and the rooms were not clean at all. I heard some guests claiming because their room were more people than beds. On the other hand, the hostel is well located and you can find many bars, restaurants and clubs by walking from there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafaleite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here with a friend and booked an 8 bed room but was placed in a 12 bed dorm with additional cots laid out. Room was fairly nice but the bathroom was very dirty and kept running out of toilet paper. Shower doors were see-through and as a girl I did not feel comfortable using these with all the men around. The location was convenient, as it was downtown and close to everything. However, it was very noisy at night with screaming late-night partiers and the occasional delivery truck.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews