We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening”
Review of Oliviera

Oliviera
Ranked #12 of 1,936 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town / Vieux Nice
Description: Home made cuisine, with sampling and a shop of French olive oils
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Four of us arrived, expecting and receiving a wonderful meal complete with the genial Nadim and his lovely wife. Normally I like to take photos of the food but we were all so entertained that our photos are of empty plates. The four of us constantly passed food around saying 'you've got to try this'.
A relaxed and delightful evening. You need to book.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joolsmacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadim B, Propriétaire at Oliviera, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
"La scarpetta"
Is what italians call liking your plate clean!
"The small shoe"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    214
    40
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS and COMFORTABLE”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent a cozy afternoon in Oliviera. We were seated, without a reservation, in this charming and intimate restaurant with its open kitchen, and made welcome by its host. Sausage and lentils, lasagne, aubergine - French comfort food to satisfy and soothe on a rainy afternoon. Our guess is that a diner visiting on a fair would be just as well fed and welcomed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwaaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadim B, Propriétaire at Oliviera, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
You are welcome indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“another little gem”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I went back to one of my favourite Nice restaurants yesterday.

I had not been there for over three years and was very surprised that the owner remembered me.
It was fully booked; it would appear it has become very popular.
So I would suggest booking a table in advance.

If you are looking for an upmarket dining place then this does not fit the bill.
In fact I am not sure how to categorise this place.

It all revolves around his passion for olive oil.

He will source this himself during one of his road trips and you can buy the oil online.

The menu is very limited, but it is fresh and very tasty.
It is all designed to go with the oil and really brings out the best in both.

The wine list is limited, simple but very enjoyable.

The “restaurant” is small but it has a magic atmosphere being in the middle of the old town.

It started with a bowl of olive oil that was almost fluorescent in colour with fresh bread.
Followed by pasta with pesto, I think simple is best where less is actually more. This is perhaps the second best pesto (my wife makes the best) I have tried. Washed down with a ½ l of Rose..
Despite being very busy, I was not being rushed, I really enjoyed the slow time enjoying the wine and food.
All for the princely sum of euro 26.

If there is one place to go in Nice…then this is it, great experience, great tastes, and one of the warmest and genuine person you will ever meet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rednrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadim B, Propriétaire at Oliviera, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
"If there is one place to go in Nice…then this is it"
May I add, as you said earlier, "it all revolves around ... olive oil."
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Nice is nice”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This place is a life saver !!! you can just go and relax, food is great, service even better. We were surprised by the quality of the coffee. (well as canadians we may have lower standards :-)
But overall an extra nice and affordable meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadim B, Propriétaire at Oliviera, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
When we read all the benefits of olive oil, IT is the life saver!
Thank you for your enthusiasm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth it! ”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a Small and cozy place with great food. The owner is very attentive of all the customers. Definitely recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadim B, Propriétaire at Oliviera, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
In all trades, if you are not attentive to your customers needs, then close shop.
Specially if you have such olive oils!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliviera also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Oliviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing