We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive dinner, but worth it!”

Castel Plage Restaurant
Ranked #295 of 1,878 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Expensive dinner, but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Fresh, well-cooked seafood, right on the beach, who could ask for more! Save this reservation for a special evening around sunset.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    100
    20
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware ! Horrendous attitude and terribly unprofessional !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked two sun loungers for half a day, from 2.30, for a Sunday in August, using the on-line Easybeachbooking web site. Our booking was confirmed by email and we also received a welcoming email from the beach direct.
We chose Castel because it seems to be the most prevalent on Nice advertising web sites and claims to be most prestigious; this is not the case.
When we arrived exactly at 2.30 we were waved away by a somewhat imperious and arrogant woman who said we could not possibly have made a booking as they don’t do bookings for half days from that time and they were full.
It is clear the beach management have no concern for customer service. The beach is right up against a very high stone wall and it did seem particularly hot, airless and claustrophobic. The sunbeds are also crammed together.
Although it was a Sunday we eventually found Hi-Beach... 100 % better, more stylish and gay friendly. We wish we had not originally been taken in by a beach where they are presumably relying on past reputation to get custom without feeling they need to consider the customer. Avoid it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Espabila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, Gourmet food, classy ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is the first private beach from the old Nice area. It is strategially located near the Chataux. The Restaurant and the beach are excellent in terms of service and food. Very relaxed and upmarket atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Qubain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nothing special, bad food, nice setting in the beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Castel is like so many other places is nicely located in the beach and offer sunbeds so you don't have to burn under the sun. Food is much too expensive and unworthy though.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leolion13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Food was not great at all. I ate the sea salad and it was a catering food. When you think about the amount that I paid and the taste of the salad. It was a waste of money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerhatT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castel Plage Restaurant also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Castel Plage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing