We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit, but would we go back again?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Univers de Christian Plumail - CLOSED

L'Univers de Christian Plumail
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Return visit, but would we go back again?”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was our second visit to this resto after a gap of a number of years. Decor had changed, and place now brighter and somehow feels less crowded. The menu was interesting (we ate the menu autumn/hiver), but not sure it lived entirely up to its promise. Very good wine list, and efficient staff who were not overly friendly. If I had a choice between here and Luc Salsedo (same price range but no star) there would be no contest.... Luc would win every time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajsper3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    95
    39
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shefield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The univers and beyond”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had a totally outstanding meal here. All ingredients of the highest quality and the service was much more friendly than one normally gets at places at this market point.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenhillowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but Michelin quality?”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We dined here on a rainy tuesday evening. Reception was correct, but nothing more. Service throughout the evening was efficient. My first course (saint Jacques) was really excellent, main course (Cod with crab) not bad, but not truly special and desserts average. M'y wife's terrine de foie gras was good, but the Dorade somewhat on the heavy side. Menus were very affordable and our Meursault was fine. All in all an agreable experience, but not very special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johannes911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It does deserve its Michelin Star---just!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I visited L'Univers at the end of September having enjoyed it three or four times before. The decor is much brighter and more relaxing now and the staff are still very welcoming and unstuffy, for a Michelin starred establishment. But after being shown to my table I had to wait fifteen minutes before the friendly waiter came back for my order. The other customers however were clearly having a good time. The food here is beautifully presented in the modern French style, the flavours of each dish are clear and satisfying despite the smallish portions. The traditional tasty amuse-bouches that were on offer happily compensated for that.
There are a two very appealing set price menus to choose from which mean that L'Univers is far better value than the many tourist restaurants nearby in le Vieux Nice. But I wonder how it compares in quality to the other Michelin-starred places in Nice. I had a feeling that I had eaten slightly better on my previous visit. The maitre d' is a charming gentleman who chatted to me at length as I was leaving. I promised him I'd write this review on Trip Advisor. I hope its ok!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErnieH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
376 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a surprise. We had always put this on our list every year (for the last 12 years), either lunch or dinner but somehow we are a bit late in coming here this year. The whole place has had a magic make-over. It is now light, bright, has a clever use of beautiful lights, partially opaque glass dividers and mirrors, a new reception area, in fact very professional interior designer.
The food is as good as ever by Mr Plumail, who came into the restaurant. The set lunch menu of 3 choices per course more imaginative than before (in my opinion), and at the same price of 22€ for 2 courses as last year - a bargain. The staff and maitre d' are always 110% and even Madame was enjoying herself. If you have not been before you must go. The home-made breads are excellent, if you can manage the 3 courses, spoil yourself, you will not be disappointed here. Good wine list. Staff only too keen to help if you are unsure. Wheelchair friendly. However, best to book to avoid disappointment.
Lf

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Univers de Christian Plumail also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing