We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Union made in Heaven!”
Review of L'Union

L'Union
Ranked #300 of 1,936 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
chard
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Union made in Heaven!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our first evening meal in Nice and probably the best. After a quick tram ride from the centre, the restaurant was easy to find and we were warmly welcomed by the English speaking waiter. We had a complimentary glass of sparkling wine as we had booked through La Fourchette and also received a significant discount on our meal. Service was excellent with just the right amount of attention and waiting time. We shared a huge bowl of Salad Nicoise which was very fresh then tucked into the tasty bouilibaise and house ravioli followed by a plate of mini deserts and an exquisite lemoncello sorbet so good we have already tried to replicate it at home. It is obvious why this place is a favourite of the locals. We will be back next time we are in Nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    144
    40
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good, but not more than that”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Seems to be a favorite with locals.
Very down to earth, but the food was nothing special.
Just OK. Pleasant service, though. Unlikely I'd go again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JakCv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent regional food - popular with the locals”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Ignore the outside of this restarant and walk through it into an attractive garden area - which is likely to be filled with all ages, from couples to birthday parties - enjoying first rate cuisine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BuzbyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I'd say L'Union is 'Good' - above Average but not exactly Very Good as it is a bit of a hit and miss. I had 2 visits to L'Union as it seemed to be one of the only nice-looking restaurants (apart from the pubs around) which were open when we were there.
The first visit was fine - I thought the food was a little bland. The second visit, I opted for the steak tartare and beef carpaccio, which was AMAZING. Portion was very sufficient and while I was a little concerned at the view of so much 'raw' meat, the taste was absolutely delicious. The dish also comes with a plate of chips at the side, which may make it hard to finish for people with smaller appetites.
The waiters were a little amused/in disbelief over how little French we knew, but I guess this is somewhat a typical French atittude towards English-speaking tourists.
If you're ever in the area, please make sure you try steak tartare and beef carpaccio - absolutely amazing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank pink_hoshi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not be put off by the exterior”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is a great place for great food that won't break the bank! The front looks like a pub, but the back restaurant is very lovely and definitely worth a romantic dinner or two. Great service - kept our bread basket full and was more than happy to help us with the menu translations and tap water at our table without having to ask. Definitely worth the trek (it's about 15 minutes from the centre of Nice). I think it gets quite busy Fridays/Saturdays so may want to book at toptable beforehand.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mslock85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Union also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing