We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broken air-conditioning and nothing done to accommodate” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Lausanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel le Lausanne
Ranked #132 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Broken air-conditioning and nothing done to accommodate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I want to start this review by writing that the young clerk at reception was very friendly, apologetic, and as helpful as she could be given her position at the hotel when addressing our complaint.

We were visiting this month and the air conditioning was not working very well over the first few days of our stay. When we questioned the staff at reception, they came to check on it but nothing further was done to accommodate us. My partner and I decided that we would tough it out, as it was blowing a very slight stream of air. After a very hot day, we returned to our uncomfortably hot and stuffy hotel room that had zero air conditioning. When we went to see about being moved to another floor (where the air conditioning was apparently working) or being appeased in some way, we were notified that someone might come in a few days to fix it, but that nothing was for certain and that we could not be accommodated for the problem. We ended up switching to a different hotel for about the same price with working air conditioning and it made our stay in Nice much more pleasant. I see in a review written in April that this was a problem months before our stay. Hotel le Lausanne: Please fix your air conditioning or do not advertise and charge people for it as an amenity!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    42
    14
    13
See reviews for
28
69
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Lausanne was ideal for a long weekend in Nice! Well situated, 5 minutes from Gare de Niceville and 10 minutes from the Promenade de Anglais, getting to where you want to be is easy. There's also a Carrefour Express just down the street for those essentials. The hotel was clean and the staff extremely helpful. We requested a balcony for our visit, and Hotel Lausanne provided it... however, this meant having a twin room rather than the double room we had booked. We felt the issue wasn't enough to put us off and simply pushed the beds together. We would recommend this hotel without a doubt, and would use it again should we return to Nice!

Room Tip: Balconies are great for a good breeze in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_dn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Had a good time. AC worked well although it required us to push the on/off button manually. Other than that, I thought the room was clean and well maintained.

The front desk lady went the extra mile to view my parking spot because I wasn't sure if it was legal. I took a photo of the parking sign but she wasn't sure about it so she walked to the nearby spot to view it herself. Unfortunately I had to move the car but better safe than sorry, especially in a foreign country. Kudos to her.

Other than that the stay was uneventful. Staff spoke english well and we never had problems. Nice is a great city!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for the train station and in a quiet area. It was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and cheerful which made us feel welcome. The breakfast was good and included in the price of the stay. We would definately stay in Le Lausanne again -especially as they are Ferrari fans ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teena_Tee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Our main issue w this hotel was that our AC unit did not work while we were here, but I understand, things happen. However, when little attempt is made to fix the broken AC unit and the staff ignores you and lies to you and tells you it's been fixed, it becomes a little frustrating. We slept for 4 nights on the top floor with absolutely no AC. Actually, we didn't sleep because we laid in pools of uncomfortable sweat. Breakfast is close to $20 which is absurd so we just bought croissants and fruit at a market nearby.
The wifi situation is also really lacking because it is extremely slow and they have to give you a brand new code every couple of hours. You're constantly having to type in new codes of letters and numbers but sometimes they're reprinted so then those codes don't even work and you have to get another one! It's a mess and it makes no sense. Location is fine but there are soo many hotels and b&b nearby that you could stay at. Also, the rooms look NOTHING like the pictures online, it's almost funny. The staff is so moody it's like you're walking on eggshells when you have questions to ask them. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7Jes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed a week here in summer. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the train station which was really handy when we travelled out to days in Cannes and Monaco etc. it is a 10/15 min walk to the beach which isn't too bad. When we were walking home at night however, there are prostitutes hanging about which could be quite intimidating.

The room was basic and fairly small, however it was very clean and we had no complaints whilst there. It wouldn't have made much sense for us to stay in a bigger/fancier place as we were barely in the hotel, only for sleeping in really.
The lift is amazing! It an authentic French looking lift!

The staff were lovely, spoke excellent English, and were very knowledgable on local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephbunny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The reception seems nice and basic, one receptionist was friendly and spoke great english but the other was moody and never smiled. We were put on the 4th floor even though none of the floors below were really occupied. The room was nothing like the pictures on the website. This room was very small, old fashioned looking, dust everywhere, the bed was as hard as a rock so I had 3 sleepless nights (even the pillow had no softness to it), no balcony, no drawers, hardly any cupboard space to fit 3 peoples stuff in. The TV remote only allows limited access to what you can do on the small TV. You're only allowed to have 1 hour of free wifi per day, which gets eaten up easily as their internet is slow. The only good thing about the room was the bathroom, which was only half decent. 10 minute walk to the sea and very close to train station. Access to fridge but only the staff can get to it. The lift scared me as it is old fashioned and if someone gets out of the lift and leaves even one door out of the two open, then you're stuck on the top floor to get down. Wasn't too impressed with the cost of the hotel for what we got in return, also having to pay to use the safe. Breakfast is a lot more expensive than other hotels. Wouldn't go here again !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank as531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#92 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
b11 Hotel
#115 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Hotel Danemark
#74 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#75 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Lausanne

Property: Hotel le Lausanne
Address: 36 rue Rossini, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Kyriad Nice Les Musiciens)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Lausanne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in center of town 600 meters from the sea. Air conditioning, wifi free 1 hour. Hotel is soundproof and equiped with air conditioning. Public parking is 600 meters from hotel. Wifi free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel le Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing