We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit in the old town”
Review of Lu fran calin

Lu fran calin
Ranked #112 of 1,924 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town / Vieux Nice
2 reviews
“A must visit in the old town”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We went for lunch on our first day in Nice.It really set the scene for a great weekend.The food was excellent and the waiter helpful to translate the menu.The white wine was excellent. It looked a busy place in the evening as well. It is closed Sunday and Monday nights though.

The square where the restaurant is has a nice atmosphere about it as well.

Helpful?
Thank Mikej23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    184
    44
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A revelation”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Should you find yourself ever in the Place Rossetti, resist with all your strength any temptation to eat at L'Abbaye, give La Claire Fontaine, where we enjoyed ourselves, a pass, and hunt out Lu Fran Calin. It's not actually hard to find. It's just to the side of the church, in what is actually the Place aux Halles des Herbes.don't know what its posted address refers to. It's so good. And so much better than the tourist stuff mostly dished out around the Place Rossetti. We had the Assiette Degustation, a giant appetizer plate of Nicoise specialties. Every one of them delicious. And all we had room for afterwards was gnocchi with Gorgonzola sauce. The gnocchi so fresh, mouth-dissolving, almost unrecognizable to these North Americans. Our rental flat was just meters from this place but we only actually discovered it because of Trip Advisor. It is that easy to pass by because of the noisier flashier stuff around the Place, including Fennochio. Don't be distracted. Come here first

Helpful?
Thank paulbeserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food, atmosphere, and value are all outstanding here. What an amazing little restaurant. I'm so glad we found this spot.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank anthony o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very happy we stumbled here!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Nothing to complain about. We had the tasting plate for starters, the stuffed chicken for mains and a bottle of the rosé.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manuocconor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Diner for two on juin 29, 2012. Lu Fran Calin was running full capacity when we arrived without a reservation on Friday night. But after waiting 5 minutes, they had a table available for us. The process was smooth and impressive considering the circumstances. We started with a bottle of house wine, bottled with the Lu Fran Calin label. It was surprisingly good at about 15 euros. A good start along with the olives and tapenade hors d'oeuvres which are gratuit. My entree was the pisaladiere, my first taste ever of this particular dish. Good but not great. My main course was a ravioli gratinee, which was excellent. This is a cheese-based dish (Le Bistrot Fromager, please take note) full of flavor and texture. My partner's main was also excellent. I finished with a good hazelnut-based dessert but cannot recall the name. The website of Lu Fran Calin is a bit confusing and does not have a sample menu to help people remember what they ordered. The service was smooth and attentive. The hostess was charming despite the hectic pace of the evening. She went above and beyond expectations to answer some of our questions. As Lu Fran Calin is located on Place Rossetti along one side of the cathedral, there will be many street performers expecting tips from the terrace diners during high season. On this evening, there were 3 performance groups. Bottom Line - This is an excellent restaurant that specializes in cuisine niçoise. It was recommended by our Nice Cycle Tours guide, along with Casa Mia, and Cose Cosi, 5 Rue Colonna d'Istria. Lu Fran Calin is open for lunch and diner. For diner, expect a lively environment with street performers looking for tips in high season. "Aqui si mangia ben" is Niçard for "Eat Well Here". When visiting Nice, a diner on Place Rossetti is a must. And Lu Fran Calin is the place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtrolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lu fran calin also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lu fran calin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing