We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quaint and Individual”
Review of Le Speakeasy

Le Speakeasy
Ranked #558 of 1,906 Restaurants in Nice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Quaint and Individual”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited on the Grand Prix weekend. This place is an experience. When I booked, the lady who ran it went to great lengths to impress on me that it was not chic /gastronomic 5 star establishment but served good honest Vegan food in a modest environment. Well that suited us and that was exactly what we got. This is a tiny restaurant with only 3 tables. It's a definite one off. Jan is a gentle American lady and she runs the whole place herself. She greets, explains the menu, takes the order, cooks, serves and generally looks after you. The choice is limited, just 2 or 3 choices per course. There is organic bread and olives. We all chose the vegetable pate which was lovely- made with potato, olive oil and herbs. For main course we had a buckwheat dish and a sweet potato tart, both served with salad and dressings. It was very filling. For dessert we had baked apples with Hazelnut cream and an apple tart. We chose a bottle of organic Merlot ( 8 Euros) and had tea/ coffee to finish. The whole bill for 4 of us came to 76 Euros. it was filling, tasty, comfort food at a very reasonable price. thanks Jan, it was a pleasure to meet you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    40
    8
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not the best restaurant in Nice I have eaten in”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had lunch here with my husband, and for days afterwards wished I hadn't, my stomach felt full and bloated. The food was unimaginative, unattractive to look at and lacking in flavour. In fact I'd go as far to say stuck in a time warp, this restuarant looks like it hasn't moved on from the 70's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“vegan & gluten free haven”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

after gruelling days of living off frites and overpriced salad, I found le speakeasy! tucked away from the bustling beachfront, this little gem was exactly what I was looking for. a hearty, healthy & delicious meal that was a good portion size & reasonably priced! I opted for the potato & leek pie (gf, vgn) which came with an exciting salad. then dove in for dessert which was a baked apple tart with brown rice syrup (vgn, gf)! the only thing I would say needed improving is the atmosphere, throw on some lovely French music and light a few candles and i would stay there all day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brookearchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Homely feel, wonderful food.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

"mostly organic, strictly vegan" was the theme of the evening, with food extremely fresh, and made with a homely touch. Portions were generous and full of flavour. A visit can be likened to visiting an old friend's place and reading 'chicken soup for the soul'. Felt full, recharged, and revitalised after eating here. A great little oasis in in a desert of heavy meats and oily fry. You won't find chic ambience or waterviews, but you will find homely comfort, value and a freshly prepared meal. The owner was very lovely and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tiny & hidden vegan corner of Nice”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The food in le speakeasy was absolutely excellent - fresh, healthy and well-priced. The hostess is a one lady band of chef, waitress, activist and manager, so yes perhaps the service isn't instant but it really doesn't matter. The food and the message are what counts at this restaurant.

Note that the restaurant really is tiny, with about 4 tables seating no more than 10. We shared our table with another couple, which encouraged friendly conversation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dartogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Speakeasy also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Speakeasy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing