We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional French restaurant ...fantastic”
Review of Les Viviers

Les Viviers
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 5/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #353 of 2,265 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $41 - $73
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Reviewed October 17, 2018

This is a wonderfully French and stylish restaurant boasting properly dressed waiters with a cheery welcome and full enough with diners to have a lively atmosphere without being too crowded or noisy. Popular with locals so you feel you are having a dining experience with people who expect good food and a chat with the staff.
We had just one dish each (it was lunchtime) both were perfectly cooked and well presented, served with fabulous chips. Delicious bread and tasty 'amuse bouche' to begin with. I look forward to returning.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HighHeelsNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 541 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2018

The food here was very good. My wife's "Nice fish and chips" were excellent as were my kidneys and both starters and desserts,
However, the service was very poor. Not the fault of the hard-working staff. The place is simply under staffed. and service deteriorated as the evening went on.
1) no spoon for soup; 2) not allowed to taste the wine; 45 minutes for the bill to arrive following 3 requests and i even collared the chef himself! Even then it was wrong with the wine not being included.
I know that I should have paid more attention to other reviews. They were right and I left feeling really irritated.
Shame because the food was good--But that service!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

We were going here on a Saturday and got a reservation for a table at 1345. Which was a little late as the kitchen closes at 14. So if going here I recommend to have reservations at 13. We ordered a cocktail first it was really good and fresh. To eat we had risotto with lobster and fish burger with fries. The risotto was very good,but the fish burger was probably the best burger I have ever had . Wonderful flavours in combination. And of course very nice wine. The restaurant closes at 15 so we were the last guests leaving.
Prices are average for Nice.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank trudemathisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Service was brisk and efficient to start with but disappeared completely as the meal went on. Fortunately we were sat next to a couple who had waited 30 minutes to get their bill, and for some reason they brought ours too when we were only just ready to get it so this saved us 30 minutes!

Nice amuse bouche, but my avocado, crab and prawn starter was bland, main course of duck (magret de canard) was bordering on cold. Highlight was the Café Gourmand which was delicious

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Went twice, both times enjoyed it 100%. High quality local food, prices a bit on the high side, but fully worth it.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Viviers also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Viviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing