We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short break at Le Mas Candille, Mougins”
Review of Le Mas Candille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Mas Candille
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Mougins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We recently spent a three night short break at Le Mas Candille. The hotel fully lived up to our expectations. As we were staying three nights, our price tariff also included a complimentary cocktail, a free lunch on one day, and a Spa treatment at the Spa Shiseido.
The room (503) did not have a mountain view, but we chose the room for its larger size compared to those in the main building. The room was very well furnsihed, as was the bathroom, which was stocked with Molton Brown soaps etc.
We dined in the hotel the first night (Restaurant Candille), and I have to say that the cost of the menu fully reflected the restaurants one Michelin Star. Despite the high cost, the meal was wonderful.
All the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and courteous throughout our stay, and we could not fault their attention to detail. The hotel has a fantastic main swimming pool, as well as another pool for use of families. There is a very well equipped, open air fitness centre adjacent to the Spa.
Mougins itself is a charming small hillside town, comprising a number of small art studios and restaurants. The centre of the town is just five minutes walk up the hill from Le Mas Candille. We especially enjoyed an evening meal at Resto des Arts which was very good value for money.
Although our short break wasn't by any means cheap, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in this lovely location.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireJpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for Le Mas Candille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 936 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2008

I've been meaning to write a review about this fantastic place for ages but keep forgetting. We stayed at the Les Mas Candille at the end of our honeymoon.

After spending a few days in the hustle and bustle of paris this was a welcome break! I've never felt so relaxed in my life, so quiet and peaceful and in beautiful surroundings. The food is FANTASTIC, we had a truly magical night as we sipped champagne and watched the sun set over a fabulous view.

This is not somewhere to go if you are on a budget, but if you want to push the boat out you should definetly go!

Stayed: July 2007
Thank nancynoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

This is a wonderful hotel, - expensive - but when two old friends are celebrating their 70th birthdays together, why not?

However, "disabled room" is not quite what you would expect. Ground floor yes, approached through a door from the dining room onto a terrace which, in the summer, is divine but in the winter is definitely not.

The room itself was stuffed with furniture which made it difficult to turn, so we moved chairs etc. along the wall. The bed seemed to be a small double, and quite comfortable.

However, the bathroom was a disaster in many ways. The basin was so high, I could put my chin on it and the glass shelves were unreachable. The shower worked well but one small grab rail was not enough, and the slippery marble perch could have been very dangerous. Fortunately the small mosaic floor tiles were virtually non slip. Believe it or not, the tissue holder was in the toilet and not in here!

The separate toilet was approached either from the bathroom or the bedroom. It was quite high, but with a rail that was just slightly in the wrong place. Again, high glass shelves and a mirror, for some reason, placed high on a wall which just didn't make sense. In fact, that whole area had not been thought out properly, but then, most hotels are guilty of that. It is just not enough to allocate a ground floor room and call it a day.

Apart from that, the bar is wonderful with a big, roaring fire, the dining excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

But nothing quite makes up for the stress of trying to use an unsuitable bathroom, and in the end, I was glad to get home.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

This review is long overdue, but as I read other peoples reviews I just had to post my thoughts on this fabulous hotel. The grounds are perfect, the room was beautifully appointed with a nice mix of antiques. The bathroom was done in beautiful white carrera marble with great amenities, such as Molton Brown shampoo and conditioner. The food (we only ate breakfast and lunch) was very tasty and served beautifully. The service was impeccible. The infinity pool was amazing and relaxing. We loved that the restaurant was in the same area as the pool. The spa looked (we didnt use it) very beautiful and relaxing.
The breakfast buffet was unbelievable- fresh juices, pastries, fruits, coffee...My husband decided to toast his croissant, and us Americans not realizing that croissants are mainly butter, placed the croissants in the toaster, as the croissants were going around the toaster they burst into flames and went on fire, it was contained in the toaster machine so it was ok. However, I quickly ran to get a waiter, and he was as polite and helpful as can be. My husband and I felt so foolish for almost ruining the place. However, the waiter was as calm and as sweet as can be. He treated us like it happened everyday. Till this day we laugh about this. The hotel is a pure jem, if you have a chance to stay here, don't hesitate!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank marissad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I chose this hotel for my honeymoon after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We paid 500 euros per night for a 4 night stay which included 2 dinners (the 6 course discovery menu) at the michelin starred restaurant and breakfast each morning. A little over priced but overall it was worth it.

Our room was large and airy and provided a mini bar, although no tea or coffee making facilities which was a bit of a disappointment. The price for drinks in the mini bar were rather excessive so I would suggest that you buy any wine or beer in the town and put them in the fridge! 5 euros for a small packet of Haribo sweets was so over priced that I had to have them! Word of warning - when you arrive at your room there are a few items from the mini bar already out on the tray - they are NOT complimentary though you may assume that they are!

The bathroom was lovely and clean and had two sinks and a great bath which were separate from the loo and large shower. Very handy in the morning.

Service is included so you dont have to struggle to find spare euros as soon as you arrive. We took the hotel's taxi both to the hotel and the airport. At 80 euros each way it is a very expensive way of not having the hassle of finding a taxi at the airport however I would recommend that you pre-book your transport elsewhere to save some money.

Staff were all attentive and we had some great characters serving us in the restaurant. Although all the staff speak exceptionally good English we tried to speak as much French as possible and, as a result, had some great fun with them.

We took trips to Grasse and Cannes using the bus which stops in the town - the 600. It runs about every 30 minutes all day and was on time and very clean. A hire car would be a better option if you wanted to explore further afield although the french drivers are a little frightening!

The old town of mougins is a truly picture postcard place but it is not a "town" in the true sense of the word. There are none of the small artisan food shops that you may expect - there are a small number of these in the new town - just bars, restaurants and artists selling their paintings. The wine shop in the new town (Boris's I think it was called) is well worth a visit. The owner let us try out a number of wines to help us find one which we liked and did not try to ply us with the expensive ones - each of the bottles we chose cost less than 8 euros. Fantastic guy.

All in all a great experience and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melaniec296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OberrohrdorfVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank LuluDublin_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mougins
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lune de Mougins
Hotel Lune de Mougins
#2 of 14 in Mougins
447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Mougins
Hotel de Mougins
#3 of 14 in Mougins
290 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
15.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
3.7 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Candille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Candille

Address: Blvd Clement Rebuffel, 06250 Mougins, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mougins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mougins
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mougins
#1 Spa Hotel in Mougins
#1 Family Hotel in Mougins
Price Range: $245 - $1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas Candille 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mas Candille hotel and spa is a luxurious Relais & Chateaux hotel just a short 10 minute walk away from the medieval village of Mougins, nestled in a secluded 4 hectare park, 7 km away from Cannes and only 25 minutes drive from Nice airport. The Michelin-starred restaurant, Le Candille, offers a truly gastronomic experience serving innovative and tasty cuisine within an elegant setting. Our poolside restaurant "Le Pergola" offers more relaxed dining by our main pool. The luxury hotel also boasts an exclusive Spa, with products by ESPA. The ideal cocooning getaway for relaxing, resting and savouring a perfect escape on the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mas Candille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Candille Mougins
Le Mas Candille Hotel Mougins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing