We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Failed to live up to its billing, reputation or price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Mas Candille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Mas Candille
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mougins
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Failed to live up to its billing, reputation or price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Have a look at the website for Le Mas Candille or read most of the five star reviews on Tripadvisor, and you would expect a perfect oasis of calm in the beautiful Cote d'Azur.

Having paid more than €400 a night for the privilege, we encountered something very different.

Our room - in a modern separate building to the original Mas that looked like an upmarket Travelodge - was perfectly functional and large, but lacking any tangible charm. This was confirmed when we opened the curtains through to the balcony to be greeted by a charming of the hotel car park.

The far bigger issue was that we failed to find anywhere in the hotel grounds that was peaceful where we could relax.

By the main pool? No, because it is designed in such a way that all of the sun loungers are crammed in to one corner so you have as much space as on the beach at Cannes, and because the restaurant and bar is next to the pool, and because, despite notices politely asking parents not to allow children under 16 in the pool area this was frequently flouted and ignored by staff, and because the predominant background noise was the air conditioning and extractor fan of the hotel kitchen.

In the small garden below the pool with lovely views? No, because it's right next to the children's pool and right next to the plumbing and machinery of the main swimming pool.

In the rest of the (very beautiful) gardens with again lovely views? No, because there are not chairs or sunloungers set up away from the pool area.

Surely in the relaxation area by the spa? Er, no, because it's right next door to the open air gym and the problem with under 16s again.

In fact, the only place where you get that promised peace, quiet and charm is on the terrace of the old house over breakfast (which at €28 a head should be a lot better with hot breakfast cooked to order).

We raised this problem with the hotel and to be fair, the staff were perfectly civil. But when we raised it with the owner afterwards his response was that staying in any 5 star hotel at this time of year for less than €400 is 'very competitive' and that he would 'look into' the issue of noise and children in areas where the hotel says they should not be.

Add in a few lapses of service - no water in our room for two days (after two phone calls we eventually went to reception to pick it up ourselves and were then billed for the privilege of something that should have been free) - and those annoying grubby touches that some hotels don't realise really annoy people (asking for a bottle of water over lunch and being automatically served the most expensive one, ditto asking for some glasses or champagne, or - my favourite - having to buy a travel adaptor from the minibar if you have forgotten one), and you get a hotel where you struggle to see how it got its five stars and why so many people think it is so good.

Seriously, if your idea of peace and quiet is a beach just off the Croisette in Cannes, perfect. Stay here.

If not, and you think a hotel should have to earn the money you give it and should have to live up to its billing, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not overlooking the car park (that covers half the rooms in the new extension). Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Sir,

thank you for your comments, we will we will review the issues you have raised, and make efforts to fix the noise issues.

Mark Silver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    174
    62
    18
    11
See reviews for
91
510
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

...when one visits a spa for the primary luxury of down time and getting as many massages as possible, one expects the massage table to have a little air-hole for breathing when stomach-prone. The Shiseido products (fancy face creams etc.) are dreamy and perfect.

Just, please, add air.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraEllsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Madame,

thanks for your suggestion, I will follow this up, and see if we can improve the massage beds.

regards

mark silver
marksilver@lemascandille.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

For being a 4 star hotel and spa the service is too slow and unfriendly, very disappointing for such a nice place. Unfortunately we will not be coming back to this hotel. Mougins is lovely but this hotel needs new management!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princejaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Sorry, but I just cannot quite reconcile the 5 star reviews on Trip Advisor with our experience.

Certainly the views are fabulous, and the grounds are superbly maintained. The whole setting is very special, and a perfect distance from the bustle of Cannes. Mougins is a 5-10 minute walk and has some lovely restaurants. Wandering back in the late evening to Le Mas Candille, down its sweeping driveway with the lights in the hills twinkling away is very special. There are three swimming pools to choose from, and it took us a while to find the one near the Spa - hidden away and a nice place to spend the afternoon. So the grounds and setting do, in my view, deserve a five star rating.

But the rooms and infrastructure - at least in 'La Bastide' - felt less than 5 star, and the service standards felt variable. The bathrooms are very modern with a picture window out to the views, but the main part of our room otherwise had a dated feel, and not in a stylish way. The furniture was average, the wardrobe and drawer space just about OK for two, the air con unit was barely adequate, the door entry mechanism frustratingly sporadic (we were not the only ones to experience this - it was a topic of conversation in the corridor) and the room servicing while we were there was also sporadic.

We went to the bar on our second night but never to return. We were plonked on uncomfortable iron chairs in the darkness with zero atmosphere and were served some average fruit juice and an unpleasant glass of wine (the bill came at 5 star hotel prices, but for less than 5 star service or quality). The night time views over the hills saved it - but I am afraid that the views and grounds seemed to be carrying this hotel. Indeed the views save the breakfast - fabulous to look out over the hills in the morning, but otherwise the whole breakfast presentation was an indifferent affair and ropey around the edges with a lack of attention to detail.

Our view is that this hotel needs a bit of a shake-up to regain what it presumably once had - including some strategic quality refurbishment (starting with those irritating door entry systems). There are some very nice staff, but there are some indifferent ones as well.

Some tips:

- check the local tourist office for local alternative taxis to the hotel's suggested taxi firm. After being astonished at the fixed rate charged for a Cannes/Mougins trip, we subsequently tried another firm and immediately saved a third on the fixed fare to Cannes, and he arrived in the same model of car so there was no difference in standard (and we did not tell him the hotel's quote nor have to bargain - the first price he offered was a third less).

- eating out in Mougins is a very nice experience with a number of restaurants all competing. We loved wandering into the town in the evening.

- if you stay in La Bastide, try to get a room with the west views across the hills. The views are lovely, but the rooms on the other side look over the car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilbo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your recent comments. I will look into the issue regarding service levels, this is an area where we do try to deliver excellent service day in and day out, therefore this will be looked at. Your comments regarding room, wardrobe space and breakfast are subjective, the rooms received new carpets and furniture in the spring, and the wardrobe space is more than sufficient for a couple staying for at least five days. It is hard to give logical responses to subjective comments, but I am happy you enjoyed the view and the village, finally the taxi situation is not within our control.

Regards

Mark Silver
Marksilver@lemascandille.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is in a stunning location nestled next to the mountain top village of Mougins. We have stayed here many times, we have tried other hotels in this area but keep coming back here although it is not without its faults.
The service is generally excellent in all areas, although in the formal restaurant it can be pretentious.
The pool area is very chic and nearly always busy and the poolside restaurant is for me above average in both food and service. There are quieter places to sunbathe within the grounds with are super, but obviously there is no real service their.
Overall its what you would expect to pay for this standard in the south of France and you can do a lot worst, trust me we have.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

thank you for your recent report. I know I should'nt really ask, as your report was very positive, however I would like to know more detail as to why you marked down the rooms,value and service.

The only way we can improve is when our guests tell us where they feel we fell short. If you do get the time I would really appreciate some more detail please ?

Thank you once again,

regards

Mark Silver
marksilver@lemascandille.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
248 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have just returned from a three day break at Le Mas Candille, we had a lovely time and everything was perfect for us apart from the weather. The view from our room was magnificent, when we could see it! The bed was exceedingly comfortable, all the staff were charming and we loved the breakfast. It is easy to see why so many people go back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordofthepieslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to this Hotel for many years and never cease to want to come back for more. The charm of it's surroundings and the tranquility of it's public spaces are a magnet for discerning travellers from all parts of the Globe.
The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated and it has three lovely swimming pools around which to sit and laze the day away. Food is very good and service unfailingly polite.
Would also like to add our praise to a previous review about Giuseppe Cosmai. He is always delighted to see us and so kind and helpful. Ok, we know it's his job, but one always gets the feeling that he genuinely wants to please and is always very quick to step in should we need help over anything. A wonderful Manager in every way.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank connell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mougins
20.5 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
18.3 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lune de Mougins
Hotel Lune de Mougins
#2 of 13 in Mougins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
8.5 mi away
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
#1 of 6 in Theoule sur Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Candille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Candille

Property: Le Mas Candille
Address: Blvd Clement Rebuffel, 06250 Mougins, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mougins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mougins
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mougins
#1 Family Hotel in Mougins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas Candille 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mas Candille hotel and spa is a luxurious Relais & Chateaux hotel just a short 10 minute walk away from the medieval village of Mougins, nestled in a secluded 4 hectare park, 7 km away from Cannes and only 25 minutes drive from Nice airport. The Michelin-starred restaurant, Le Candille, offers a truly gastronomic experience serving innovative and tasty cuisine within an elegant setting. Our poolside restaurant "Le Pergola" offers more relaxed dining by our main pool. The luxury hotel also boasts an exclusive Spa, with products by ESPA. The ideal cocooning getaway for relaxing, resting and savouring a perfect escape on the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mas Candille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Candille Mougins
Le Mas Candille Hotel Mougins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing