We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Meal...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Moulin de Mougins
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Mougins
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was a fun culinary experience but I wouldn't reccomend for those who don't have a love for fine dining. Will easily spend over $300 for 2. The restaurant was very accomodating for our large group creating a custom prix fixe menu.

There were two amuse bouche appetizers served, and everything was of highest quality, whether you liked the taste or not. We had a snail fried with fois gras and a fresh cut of salmon decorated with a lemon sorbet. We then had a lovely chicken dish severed over cabbage, a delicious lobster risotto and finally a duck breast with lentil sauce and fois gras. Dessert was a fresh Nutella pastry and finally espresso.

We stayed very late and the restaurant owner was friendly--the chef even came to greet our table. Good wine.

Neat space, but somehow no atmosphere. The fireplaces not lit even though it was freezing rain outside. No candles on tables, and harsh lighting against the stark white walls. Music playing on a cd player in the next room was not utilized to enhance the stoic atmosphere. Some very interesting and artistic decor, but needs some small tweaking to make it perfect. Give me an afternoon of rearranging and it would be perfect.

If staying in Cannes, it's a 70 Euro taxi ride each way.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakeHughe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Le Moulin de Mougins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were very surprised to find that our quite room facing the garden, number seven, was above an undisclosed disco party, lasting through 2 AM. After the party water pipes resonated in our room and disturbed our sleep further. Our livid calls to the desk resulted in polite appologies and no more !! We have stayed in the Moulin brfore and loved it but this experience under new management have left us with a big headache and tarnishes the name of the establishment. Room service was amatoorish and on our bill we discovered 21 espressos billed to our room. The 4 stars lux rating is a disgrace to the French rating system.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I stayed here for business for two nights, first night the service was good, second night I had a terrible experience. I left the hotel in the morning and on doing so handed back my key (complete with weighted key ring) to the receptionist. I was not advised that I would need a fob to get back in. On returning to the hotel, late after a business dinner at trade fair, I could not get into the hotel. Despite knocking, calling out for 30 minutes or so no one answered. Even trying to wake another guest proved unsuccessful. I was a woman alone, and very scared as it was late at night, and the hotel is in a deserted area. Eventually I had to make it back into Cannes (20 minutes by taxi) and stay the night with a colleague.

On returning to the hotel the next morning, the director was not available for me. Since then I have called 3 times and written a letter and no one has responded to apologise officially. I am stunned that somewhere which describes itself as 4 star, could deliver this poor level of service, not only putting one of its guests in an extremely dangerous situation, but subsequently failing to acknowledge or compensate in any way at all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
7  Thank lkm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We selected the Moulin de Mougins for a three days stay on account of its affiliation to Relais & Chateaux and, except for the size of our room, we were satisfied about our choice.
The hotel is very elegant with a special kitsch note, either you love it or hate it.
In fact it is built around the restaurant and has only few rooms.
Ours was small and dark with butterflies into showcases in doubtful taste, orchids in vases, and perfect dark curtains to screen the morning light.
The bathroom had black mosaic at the wall, a stone washbasin and Etro´s amenities.
** Nice touch: every day we found a delicious collection of freshly handmade chocolates on our bedside table.
Breakfast was served in a room overlooking the garden and was genuine and delicious.
We once tried out the dinner at the famous hotel restaurant and have to admit, it lived up to its reputation.
The location is good for travelling around avoiding the bustle of the coast and Mougins has a pretty historical centre up the hill with plenty of typical restaurants and art galleries.
Of course a car is mandatory but it can be easily parked at the hotel.
Will we go back to this hotel? Likely, but only if we get a much bigger room.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maociu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

The 3 day stay in Mougins, which is part of a 31/2 week european holiday was extremely disappointing. I assumed that to be part of the Relais and Chateau family, especially in France, a certain acceptable standard was to be met...obviously not so. Unbelievably expensive for the very small room with leaky shower. There are no hotel grounds (not even a hotel lobby/seating area) available for use except for your actual hotel room. Minibar is non existent, TV had one english speaking channel which cut in and out. No Internet. Food is exorbitantly expensive - 20euros per person for breakfast which is a few bites of bread, some homemade condiments, OJ and coffee. Restaurant was tasty but entirely overpriced and snooty - waiters kept of speaking french to us knowing fully that we hardly spoke french. Do yourself a favour and spend your money elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank needmoreholsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This hotel is nothing more than a few rooms with a hotel. There is nothing else. It is just a place to sleep and eat. There is nothing on the premises. The rooms are very small, unless you get a suite and cave-like. Although the staff was very nice and really tried to be accomodating, it just was not what we expected.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob-skindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We spent two nights at this hotel as part of our holiday through Provence and Riviera.

Unfortunately this did not meet our expectations, to put it very mildly. This is not a hotel, not even an inn - just a restaurant (horrendously overpriced, by the way) with a few rooms attached.

People at the front desk couldn't help us with the free Internet (code needed, but the front desk didn't know it ?!?!), nor did the DVD (provided in the room) work.

Location was awful - a few meters away from a busy Riviera highway - make sure you don't open the window. As we had our car there, trying to park in the hotel park lot was a real challenge due to steep and narrow driveway - at one point I was sure I'd scratch the entire wing of my car.

This place is not worth even half of the price they charge for their rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmotcina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mougins hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 14 in Mougins
936 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel de Mougins
Hotel de Mougins
#3 of 14 in Mougins
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lune de Mougins
Hotel Lune de Mougins
#2 of 14 in Mougins
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Manoir de l'Etang
Manoir de l'Etang
#8 of 14 in Mougins
109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Club Mougins
Le Club Mougins
#4 of 14 in Mougins
325 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Mougins Hotel
Royal Mougins Hotel
#5 of 14 in Mougins
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin de Mougins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de Mougins

Address: Notre Dame de Vie, 06250 Mougins, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mougins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mougins
Price Range: $179 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Moulin de Mougins 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to the Croisette and Nice airport, down Mougins medieval village, this age-long mill full of history is an exceptional gastronomic and artistic address on the French Riviera.In a captivating setting which opens onto the outside gardens and Provencal restanques, the works of some of the best contemporary artists meet the autographs of past and nowadays‘s celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Moulin de Mougins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin De Mougins Hotel Mougins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing