We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Mougins”
Review of Le Mas de Mougins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mougins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mas de Mougins
Ranked #2 of 16 Mougins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A wonderful stay in the private Mas of Joel and his wife! The rooms are beautiful, with a very French touch. The service is like a 5 stars hotel, with the friendly service in addition.
It was our first time in a B&B, and we were fully satisfied. The breakfast is amazing, a real brunch. we were so lucky to meet other families from NZ, USA, CH and I, that we spent everyday more than 2 hours eating and having so much fun! it was like we were a group of friends knowing each other for years!
Thank you Joel for this unique atmosphere, will be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloKemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 144 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

When we booked to fly into Nice to explore the South of France, as part of a 4 month overseas trip for our family of 4, I had no idea that we would have such an exceptional experience. And this is due to finding this gem. I had no knowledge of the area, so posted a question on Trip Adviser forum about where to stay and what to see in south of France. Some really helpful advice followed about what villages were worth seeing. After reading reviews we selected to stay at Le Mas de Mougins. It was soooooooooooo the right choice. Joel was really fast to respond and answered all my numerous emails and questions. Although his English is limited (but way better than my pathetic French!) we could understand everything. We arrived in the evening after a delayed flight and Joel met us at the gate. Definitely advise a GPS/Tom Tom for finding your way. You drive off the road into a hidden oasis. The heat pump was already on in our room and it was very cosy. We had a two bedroom suite with a large terrace. It was really spacious. We had read about the breakfasts but could not have known how good they would really be. We value eating well when we travel as nothing peeves us off more than having to pay for poor dining experiences. Trust me - you will LOVE the breakfast (which lasts right into lunch time). The table was set beautifully in the dining room awaiting us at 9.30 am. The food was delightful. Every day was different and all homemade by Joel's wife Sonia, who we got to meet twice. Every savoury tart, pie, croissant, bread, sweet tart was delectable and you just had to try everything. The fresh fruit was endless also. Joel was most generous and insisted that we all ate till we could hardly move. He was very accommodating and kind to the children. I will always remember these special breakfasts where we met and got to know Joel and new friends from corners of the globe. The pool looked fabulous, but sadly it was too cold to swim in when we were there. It is a lovely setting and would be amazing in summer I am sure. Mougins is a terrific location for many day trips. Joel gave advice on the best places / villages to see and we felt his advice was spot on. He even suggested the best boulangerie to buy from and this was a welcome visit by evening time as we were never hungry for lunch. We were able to use the lovely dining room for preparing and eating our tea and this was really helpful with the children. Joel has the biggest and kindest heart and his wife is very sweet. It would be a dream to return here. Le Mas deserves to be # 1 in Mougins. Thank goodness we found it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelicityJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Le Mas de Mougins at the beginning of September for 1 week which slipped by far too quickly. Sonia and Joel are absolutely charming hosts and could not have been more kind and treated us more like family than guests.
The Mas has very attractive and comfortable accommodation and is set around the swimming pool. When one arrives through the entrance you immediately notice how beautiful and well kept the buildings and gardens are.

And now for the BREAKFAST.... Each morning at about 9.00 breakfast is served either around the pool or in the attractive dining room just off the courtyard. The table is a sight to behold with all sorts or gorgeous delights, different everyday and many of them made by Sonia early in the morning. Joel paces around coaxing everyone to have seconds or else "the price of the room will double" Needless to say you don't need lunch after this breakfast extravaganza.

We had a really wonderful week exploring the nearby villages and wish we had planned to stay longer. Hope very much to visit in 2013 again!


Merci Sonai and Joel

Melbourne
Australia

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nean769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just back from a 7 day holiday and stayed in "Le Mas" for the whole time. It has a quite central location so you can easily reach Cannes, Antibes, Nice and othe cities on the coast but as well place in the "arriere pays" comme Grasse, St. Paul, Vence or Tourrettes s.L.
Some restaurants are within walking distance but with 5 minutes drive,you'll find a lot more in the beautiful old town of Mougins. Around the central square there are probably 10 good restaurants.
Le Mas is a provence - style cottage B&B on a quite large piece of land and has got 5 "chambre d'hotes. The pool area is very nice and clean the rooms do represent the provincial charme and I would rate them 4*. The 6* experience is the breakfast where every morning at 9:00 hrs sharp the owner starts to serve the daily breakfast. I just want to mention the freshly prepared french specialities like Fougasse, Omelette Provencal, Tarte Tatin, Tarte aux pommes, figues et tomates and some more. Al of that was simply delicionsand a huge selection of "Charcuterie", "Fromage", fres fruit and and and....
We enjoyed our time, would always go back and can highly recommend this also to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a great but too short stay here. We unfortunately arrived late in the the evening but Joel was very nice about it. The rooms were comfortable. The pool was beautiful but we didn't really get to enjoy it as we were not there long enough. The breakfast was the best part. the food just coming and was very good. The jam was perfect - we ate alot of that. Meeting and talking with the other guests and Joel at breakfast was great. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a terrific experience at this small bed and breakfast. The owners are very thoughtful and it is great place to meet other travellers. It is very close to the old village of Mougins which should not be missed. Also the bus stop is just down the street for a short ride to Cannes to spend the day there. The room was very large with nice bathroom. The breakfast is quite special with homemade quiche etc. every morning, and the food keeps coming. This is a perfect place to stay outside of the big cities and enjoy peace and relaxation. There are a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance and great bakery. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was nice but there is one with a huge balcony. Our balcony was rather closed in by bushes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discriminatingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Where do we start? Joel, the owner of this delightful place, is a wonderful host. Very welcoming, knowledgeable and provides the most fantastic breakfast. It starts at 9AM prompt outside by the pool and can last for up to 3 hours, should you so wish, with great converstaion and the most varied of food that just keeps coming! We stayed for five days and so wished it was longer, the room was very clean and well presented. The pool and terrace were immaculate. We met some delightful people from Belgium and will be back next year, for sure! Mougin village is close by and has excellent restaurants, with spectacular views. A must for a quiet relaxing holiday, in a wonderful setting.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mougins hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Mougins
Hotel de Mougins
#4 of 14 in Mougins
299 reviews
2 mi away
Royal Mougins Hotel
Royal Mougins Hotel
#5 of 14 in Mougins
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lune de Mougins
Hotel Lune de Mougins
#2 of 14 in Mougins
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 14 in Mougins
983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Rosees
Les Rosees
#1 of 16 in Mougins
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Stephanie bed & breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Mougins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Mougins

Address: 91 avenue General de Gaulle, 06250 Mougins, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mougins
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mougins
Price Range: $153 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed and Breakfast near Cannes, Grasse, Biot, Antibes ... Held by Jean-Philippe, former chef Pastry chef of starred restaurants in Paris. With the shelter of the eyes, embalmed by the unique and delicate fragrance of jasmine, you will be able to appreciate the charm of our oaks more than a hundred years old, olive trees and oleanders. Haven of peace, warm cocoon, refined and convivial breakfasts. Located in one of the most beautiful medieval Provençal villages, undoubtedly marked by the passage of the painter Picasso. The Côte d'Azur is also a privileged golf destination. The municipality of Mougins hosts two 18-hole golf courses. The Mas de Mougins is in the heart of a green park with five bedrooms, one suite all overlooking a beautiful pool of 10 meters by 5 meters. The family home and patios form an intimate enclosure to the premises. It has a private parking, a solarium and a large garden. Beyond its exterior Provencal charm, rooms decorated with a certain taste. Our rooms decorated with care of noble materials, arranged for the comfort of our guests aim for a perfect harmony. Each room has its own bathroom with bath or shower and toilet, a private terrace, TV, air conditioning, safe and free wi-fi. They all have independent access from the family house. The breakfasts are served on the terrace by the swimming pool when the weather allows it or sheltered in the winter room in a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Mas De Mougins Hotel Mougins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing