We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, shame about the pool”
Review of Le Club Mougins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Club Mougins
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Mougins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here in August, our ground floor apartment was well furnished and very clean. A bit crowded with furniture in the main room, seems to be usual with Diamond. Kitchen area tiny but well equipped not much prep area but good enough for simple meals.Bedroom adequate bed could be more comfortable, only really annoying thing wardrobe doors didn't slide, were large to open you had to get positioned alongside bed otherwise you couldn't get to the contents! Safe was too small. Separate loo and basin to bathroom is a good arrangement, looked refurbished. window shutters good for keeping out the sun when hot. Large terrace with table and chairs.
Reception staff did their job but wasn't bowled over by the friendliness or helpfulness.
Well kept grounds. On site restaurant excellent.
My main gripe is the totally inadequate pool and surroundings. Huge wasted space with a tennis court only used by two people when we were there, they should really put the pool there.
The resort had a nice feel to it, so would consider returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Le Club Mougins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you like cleanliness, quite, a restaurant in the hotel with great cooking and being near a medieval village just up the hill....this is the place!!! You will need a car to get to Cannes....otherwise you can walk to the bus stop and take a bus there.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here in July/Aug 2012 for 2 weeks. Mougins old town is beautiful and the resort is ideally located for a trip to the Cote D'azur. Though we had a great holiday in Mougins and Cannes, we were disappointed with the accomodation. We felt the photos did not represent the apartments and that they were very basic.
I have never stayed in a timeshare and I admit I was expecting the apartments to be of a much higher quality than your average apartment - I admit I have little knowledge of timeshares. They had not been updated for a long time (I would guess 20+ years?) and in my opinion they need renovating. The kitchen was the smallest I have ever had and was not enjoyable to cook in. There was no oven and the microwave, kettle and toaster were across the room on a tiny table?? All the furniture was scratched and chipped.
In my apartment the carpet in the bedroom stank very badly - like wet, smelly dog - so much so I bought some incense.
The apartments were cleaned regularly and the bed was lovely - which was a bonus, but I found most of the staff to be unhelpful and not very cheerful. The exception was the pool attendants who seemed nice. The restaurant was overrated and we had a very average meal there.
I would not recommend the apartments as they are quite expensive and I believe they need updating. In another review a Club Mougins representative states there are on going renovations but I saw no evidence of this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flamey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Le Club Mougins, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We’re really sorry that the accommodation you stayed in at Le Club Mougins didn’t meet with your satisfaction. The interior furnishings are currently being updated as part of the resort’s ongoing refurbishment, and a major renovation project is scheduled for next year.

We trust that the issues you’ve raised didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at Le Club Mougins. We really hope that you’ll choose to return to this resort in the future, and we’re sure that if you choose to do so, you’ll appreciate the difference!

Resort Manager
Richard Tribut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our first visit to the Cote D'Azur and it certainly won't be our last. As Diamond members we have come to have high expectations of accommodation and we were not disappointed. Our ground floor one bed appartment was spacious for the two of us and had been recently refurbished. OK, the kitchen was small but perfectly adequate given we ate out most evenings.Plenty of crockery in the kitchen - we had to hunt for large plates and mats and found them in theTV unit. Comfy seats were outside on our terrace.
I would have preferred a separate shower rather than one in the bath but the modern contemporary wood and chrome sink unit added a high class feel to the appartment. The separate loo with a second sink was a bonus. The towels were changed frequently and the bath sheets were very large. Complimentary toiletries are good quality with an extensive range.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have had on holiday- two singles attached to make an enormous bed. I worried about how transparent the pretty voiles on the bedroom window were until my husband found full length roller blinds behind them which gave good blackout. Good to have flatscreen TVs in the lounge and bedroom- these were well viewed during the Olympics.
The accommodation was spotless and cleaned every day bar Sunday and Wednesday. We were amazed at having it cleaned the day before we left. It shows the attention to detail.
The pool was OK - not very large and could do with some sort of mural or plants along the interior walls to brighten the area up. Having read previous comments I was dreading the sunbeds but they weren't as uncomfortable as anticipated. They do need updating and need to be higher as they were low to the ground, Deck chair alternatives did not seem popular with guests. I was surprised that the pool has no depth markings and no warning about submerged steps. The pool is deeper in the middle, which less confident swimers would need to know and my shin managed to find the submerged steps before my eyes did. The grassed area adjacent to the pool was nice and the kiosk with ice creams and drinks a bonus.
I totally agree with all comments about Bistro 21. The food was excellent, well priced (23 Euros for a three course meal, 14 Euros for a litre jug of Rose, 5 Euros for a pint- this may seem steep but we paid 8.5 Euros in Mougins). Cedrique is a star - lovely to have the chef interacting with us. His wife is delightful and always welcoming. I'd advise booking the day before if you want to eat outdoors although the restaurant interior is poovley with a contemporary feel. Do be on guard for mosquitoes in the evening.Repellent sprays are a must as most people were covered with large red bites.
All of the staff at Le Club Mougins were exceptional. A warm welcome and any enquiries dealt with immediately. We did not have a car so took advantage of the free trip to the Molinard perfume factory in Grasse- a nice way to spend the morning. We loved the full day mini bus excusions to the villages of Provence (Gourdon, Tourette, St Paul de Vence and old Antibes) and Monaco (Eze, Monaco and Monte Carlo). They may seem pricy but weighed up against the cost of car hire were a bargain. We followed advice from previous comments and took the bus to Cannes. Very easy - bus 600 to Cannes from the bus stop on the Patisserie side of the road then returning on the 600 to Grasse to get off opposite the Patesserie. Very easy and takes 25 minutes. We took the boat across from Cannes marina to St Marguerite Island and has a fascinating tour of the fort and prison where the Man in the Iron Mask was held. We were kicking ourselves that we did not take swimming stuff as most people seemed to do.
The old village of Mougins is lovely and we were very grateful for the shuttle bus which operates to and from the village from 5pm to isnight. We ate twice at the Rendevous Restaurant and the food was excellent (28 Euros for a three course meal and sorbet). Beer was expensive in Mougins so stick to wine!
We joined in with some of the many activities on site. organised by William, the entertainments director. Something to suit everyone with an Olymics theme and a great way to meet and share a laugh with fellow guets. Even funnier was the daily medals ceremony complete with podium and medals. It was great to see Richard, the Resort Manager, so involved with all of the activities and interacting so well with holidaymakers. Our previous experience has been with Managers being very much behind the scenes and this made a refreshing change.
We will not hesitate to return. A wonderful base for one of the best holidays we have had.
Linda Locke

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LInda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Le Club Mougins, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our resort, and for providing invaluable tips for our future guests. We sincerely appreciate that you are a member with Diamond Resorts and are extremely pleased that you had such a wonderful stay here. Your feedback about our pool area is appreciated, as it informs us of potential issues with our facilities, and make changes where needed. Our guests’ safety is very important to us, and we want to assure you that we will look into this as soon as possible. Our whole staff had an amazingly wonderful time participating, along with our guests, in the games as well as the medals ceremony. It was really nice to get out of the office a bit and interact with our guests. I met a lot of great people and their families, and I am looking forward to participating in future activities here at the resort. We are truly honored to be a part of what you considered to be one of the best holidays you’ve had, and we look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon!

Richard Tribut
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We only stayed a single night here but wouldn't hesitate to return. The high quality apartment we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable. Most (but not ours) have a fine view over the valley. There are large flat screen TVs with some English channels in both lounge and bedroom. Our kitchen was very well equipped and a very nice touch was to find complimentary milk and water waiting for us in the fridge. Also provided were a few sachets of tea and coffee plus some very nice toiletries in the bathroom. Little things I know but they make the apartment feel just a bit more special.



Free parking was possible under cover and the resort operates as a gated community. You are given a key fob at check in which operates a huge electric entrance gate. The resort is on a hillside beneath the fine old town of Mougins. It is well worth a visit.



On the downside WiFi was not free. Also the pool was very plain and poorly located. For a resort on a hillside it would have been superb if it was freeform and positioned with a view over the valley. There are a small number of sun loungers but as mentioned in another review, they are so uncomfortable.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank MistyTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Le Club Mougins, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of our resort. We’re delighted to hear that our amenities in our unit greatly met, if not exceeded your expectations, and contributed to the wonderful stay you had here. As an FYI, we do accept and try to accommodate requests for a unit that includes a particular view type. While we do not currently offer free Wi-Fi, the current costs of our Wi-Fi services are very reasonable nd affordable. Thank you for the feedback in regard to our pool and pool amenities. Feedback, whether positive or negative, is very important to us, and we will work at trying to improve the quality of our sun loungers. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Richard Tribut
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed in Le Club Mougins for a week and had a great holiday. The Cote d Azur is a stunning area and can be explored without having the bank account of a multi millionaire moored at Cannes. For example, the bus from Mougins down to Cannes is €1 one way and takes 30 mins. The train from Nice to Cannes is €6 and Antibes is on the route too. Lots of lovely places to see. The helpful staff at the reception have all the timetables. Public transport is extremely reliable and runs on time!!
Our apartment was totally good for us with lovely vistas of the surrounding countryside and the main town of Grasse.
The bedroom had comfortable beds and pillows and we had a good nights rest. The living areas were Spotless and tidy. There was two flat screened televisions in the living room and bedroom had we wanted them. We ate our breakfast in and had our lunch or dinner out in the many eateries of the surrounding area. The old village of Mougins where Picasso is buried has some really nice places. And there were plenty which were not too expensive but served good food. The bistro at Le Club Mougins was also very good. Cedrique the owner chef and his wife are lovely and so helpful. I only wanted an omelette one day and he was more than happy to accommodate my notion for eggs even although it is not on the menu. He speaks excellent English and is a great laugh.
The weather was glorious with beautiful sunny days and temps around 28-32 degrees. Perfect for us. The only thing that bugged us was the darn sunbeds. They were mega uncomfortable after about 5 mins. My husband sunbathed on the grass quite a few times lol! The pool is very small but spotlessly clean and it was warm at this time of the year. There is no problem getting a sunbed or chair. There is also loads of excursions. We used public transport and boats for this and it worked out perfect for us. Saved a fortune. You just have to organise yourself. There is no need to get ripped off.
The French folks at this part of the country were absolutely lovely. Very gracious and helpful. We had a really happy time down here and would certainly return at some point.

Room Tip: Room 616 is a nice two bedroomed apartment with a decent view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greatfoodandservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I were not expecting 5 star accommodations but I did expect our unit to not smell and not have ants. Our unit had a strong musty smell, like the carpets had been wet and never cleaned, and if we left so much as a dirty dish or empty soda can in the kitchen the ants were out in force. They definitely have an insect infestation problem and must be aware it.

The shower was bad, the decor inside was from 1979, and did I mention the place smelled terrible and had ants!! I made management aware of the insects but I got the feeling they didn't seem to care.

We were booked here for a week in May 2012 but did not stay the whole time even though we had paid for it.

The only good thing is the on site restaurant which is separate from Club Mougins. The owner and chef was funny, spoke English very well, and his food was very good.

Room Tip: I think some units have been updated so ask for one of those.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan7708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We’re really sorry to read that that there were aspects of your recent stay that did not meet with your expectations.

There is no excuse for poor housekeeping, and we’re sorry if there were areas within the apartment which you considered to be unclean. Please be assured that the resort is currently undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment, including interior redecoration of the apartments.

We’re also sorry to read of the situation you encountered with ants in your accommodation. The resort does take preventative measures to reduce their appearance, and while this is something that is very difficult to completely eradicate, we’d like to reassure you that the situation is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff.

We are very sorry for any disappointment you experienced during your holiday. We do hope that you'll choose to return to Le Club Mougins, however, and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Resort Manager
Richard Tribut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mougins hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 14 in Mougins
937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lune de Mougins
Hotel Lune de Mougins
#2 of 14 in Mougins
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Mougins
Hotel de Mougins
#3 of 14 in Mougins
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Mas du Golf
Le Mas du Golf
#7 of 14 in Mougins
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Mougins Hotel
Royal Mougins Hotel
#5 of 14 in Mougins
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Privilege Appart-Hotel Domaine de Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Club Mougins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Club Mougins

Address: 199 Chemin du Val Fleuri, 06250 Mougins, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mougins
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mougins
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mougins
#3 Family Hotel in Mougins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mougins
Price Range: $70 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Club Mougins 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample the delights of the French Riviera from the tranquility and comfort of Le Club Mougins.Just ten minutes from the beautiful beaches of Cannes, this small and unpretentious resort is the perfect year-round vacation destination.So near to the coast yet only an hour's drive from the ski resorts of the southern Alps, Le Club Mougins has beautifully decorated accommodations and a good selection of recreation facilities. Whatever your tastes, you'll find plenty to do and see in this remarkable region of France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Le Club Mougins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Club Mougins Hotel Mougins
Hotel Le Mougins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing