We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit... would go back again.”
Review of Hotel Richelieu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Richelieu
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Third visit... would go back again.”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is the third visit to this hotel, and I have had a enjoyable visit on all three occasions... It is a basic 2 star, the rooms are clean, the staff are polite and friendly... the location is perfect, a couple of minutes walk from the seafront and the old town... 5 min walk from Menton train station. The hotel is located on the first floor, with stairs or a small lift. A very nice budget hotel to drop your bags and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back, balcony at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaun07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    79
    80
    27
    17
See reviews for
51
101
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The Richelieu is an unusual hotel. Centrally located, it's perfect if you want to explore Menton, although our stop was very much an overnight stay as we drove around Europe in an old banger. Parking is an issue in Menton, and the same goes for the hotel - unloading the car involved stopping on the street, sticking the hazard warning lights on, and blocking half the town off. A single hotel parking space is available over the road, but a local car park is better bet for leaving your car there longer than a couple of hours.

The hotel reception is on the first floor, with the gentleman running the place being incredibly helpful and polite. A map of Menton was produced and then coloured in rapidly, wi-fi was explained, and breakfast offered. I got the impression any request would be catered for, just so long as it's before 9pm as that's when the hotel is locked up for the night. A PIN code allows entry after hours, but there won't be any service.

The room was small and hot, the standing fan was noisy, the bathroom was dark and the view was none existent. Showering was a two person job thanks to a broken mount. It seemed a little like being in student accommodation form my university days, which is perhaps a little disappointing for €86 for the night. That said, Menton was full, so it's clearly what the market will bear, and we didn't book until four days before we were due to arrive.

As a place to spend a week or so on the Mediterranean coast, it's probably lacking. As an overnight stop, it'll do. Just.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Menton hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is probably the worst hotel that we have ever stayed at! The reception area, as already mentioned by others, is on the first floor. They have a lift but one has to climb a few steps in order to get to the lift so this isn't a hotel for those with reduced mobility. The lift is also very small. The whole hotel had a very tired and dated look and smelled musty. The only plus of this hotel is its location, central and about 7 minutes' walk to the pebble-covered beach and the blue of the Mediterranean. Parking was a real problem near the hotel. While I checked in, my husband had to drive around in circles looking for a place to park as we couldn't stop in front of the hotel to unload our bags because of the traffic. When I enquired, we were directed to a private carpark 100 metres away. However, when driving around the area, my husband discovered an empty private parking lot that belonged to the hotel just across the street and he parked there. After unloading our bags, we told the receptionist, a kindly, elderly man, that we had found a place, only to be told that we could only park there for half and hour for loading/unloading purposes. I was wondering why this information was not given to me when I was inquiring about parking earlier because it would have saved us the hassle of driving round the hotel in circles, looking for a place to park in order to unload our luggage. The private, covered carpark was not too expensive, though. We paid €8.10 to leave the car there for one day.

The twin room we were given was really small with little space for luggage because of the presence of a standing fan. The cupboard was so near the bed that the doors couldn't be opened fully. The standing fan was in such an awkward position as to be useless. We had to drag it out from its corner in order for us to feel the breeze generated. However, doing so blocked our way to the room door completely. The fan was also very noisy. The shower didn't work well (half the water leaked out via the joint) and we couldn't get the free wi-fi internet to work in our room although we were told that wi-fi was available throughout the hotel. After 9 p.m. there was no receptionist but guests were provided with a digital code in order to open the front door after 9 p.m.

The hotel serves breakfast in the mornings for an additional charge. There is a city tax of €0.70 per person/day for hotels in this area. Menton is a lovely little town worth exploring. For €68/night (yeego.com) though, the hotel was a letdown. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We are so glad we booked our accommodations here. They were so helpful with all of our questions and offered lots of great suggestions of what to do. The room was adorable! Not as small as we expected for Europe. There was no air conditioning, but you can rent a fan. We just slept with the windows open and the breeze was enough (and we were here in August). The shower was small, but we didn't come to france for the shower! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

If you are on a budget, this is the place to stay. No frills here but a comfortable hotel in a great location (near the beach and the old town). The breakfast is served in the dining room with french doors opened unto the street. We were traveling with a car and we were able to get free parking next to the hotel and the police station. The market is near by. I loved Menton and would suggest to stay more than a day to enjoy the city, the beach and the restaurants on the mediterranean sea. My profile picture was taken in Menton.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Firstly, althought the hotel has no "view" as such, it's lcoation is really quite good - not too far from the train station and yet also quite close to the beach and restaurant areas. This also makes it a good base to explore Monaco from, as it's only a short train ride away. THe owner Guy is also very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, given what we paid in the middle of summer, we were fairly disappointed with the room and general condition of the place. Although our room was large enough, the fittings were pretty basic and everything had a slight air of dirtiness about it. This was probably exaggerated by the heat, as our room had no airconditioning at all, or even a fan to provide some airflow, resulting in a sleepless night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

The hotel itself is okay. The manager was very friendly and helpful and spoke English. On our arrival, he gave us the lowdown on the local sights and gave us a map of Menton, as well as a map of Monaco. He was very knowledgeable.
The room was a bit basic and small. For a twin room, there was only just enough space around the beds, and the TV was very small (probably a 34-cm CRT TV, not a flatscreen LCD type) and mounted on the wall. It worked, but reception on some channels was awful. The only English-language channels were BBC World and CNN.
The bathroom was small, and the shower was way too small, which meant lots of water always on the floor after a shower. The toilet and sink worked well.
Although the bathroom was cleaned every day and we got fresh towels, the beds were made but the sheets were never changed. I stayed 9 nights, and would have expected at least one change per week, so at least once during my stay would have been a minimal requirement.
Also we were woken up sometimes at 06:00 by the rubbish collectors outside, banging the bins very loudly some mornings. The bed itself was comfortable and easy to sleep in.
The hotel offers free wifi access to anyone with a wifi enabled device. The manager gave us the login details, so it is secure, so long as you can trust the other guests and the hotel staff. However, the wifi access stopped on the last 2 days of our visit which was a minor annoyance.
Breakfast was optional at €6 per day. I had breakfast only on the first day, which consisted of the typical French breakfast of croissant, light toast and French bread, with some jam, tea/coffee and orange juice. Although there was nothing wrong with it as such, I thought €6 was too much to pay considering there was no real choice. Breakfast is served at guests' tables, rather than a buffet style which I would have preferred. It would have been nice to have had more choice, such as fruit, etc. Instead of more breakfasts there, I bought some fruit and ate that in my hotel room every morning which was much healthier for me.
The local area is very pretty and the pedestrian streets and main streets are cleaned every night, so they never get too dirty. The local people are pleasant and I did not see any crime. There are two police stations in Menton, one is for local police, one for national police.
The hotel is 3 km walking distance from the border with Italy, if you fancy walking to another country during your stay, and even closer than that are the railway and bus stations. Shops are very close by too, including 3 small supermarkets.
I enjoyed my stay in Menton, but would only recommend Hotel Richelieu for those on a tight budget and who needed internet access through wifi.

  • Liked — The free wifi access and location close to stations and shops
  • Disliked — Small rooms and shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kingavoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Menton Riviera
Hotel Menton Riviera
#10 of 30 in Menton
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#24 of 30 in Menton
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lemon
Hotel Lemon
#9 of 30 in Menton
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chambord
Hotel Chambord
#17 of 30 in Menton
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richelieu

Property: Hotel Richelieu
Address: Partouneaux Street, 26, 06500, Menton, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richelieu 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient 19th century mansion transformed into an hotel in the twenties, our establishment allies the charm of the ancient and modern comfort. We welcome you in the heart of Menton, close to beaches, casino and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richelieu Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing