We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Bad but not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a litte dated and needs upgrading..The room was ok,but only ok. the breakfasts very repetative and the preparation a little messy...the evening meals were a little bland if you go half board...Don't go half board and eat outside of the hotel as there are some great restaurants in Menton at reasonable rates.The staff in the Restuarant were on the whole ok, but only ok.The staff in the bar were a little disrespectful of the elderly and they showed it..Some staff have had a charisma bypass operation and need to go on a hotel management course...Would I go back....Yes.....If they improve.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie L, Responsable réception at Quality Hotel Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sir

we want to thank you for leaving your feedback .We want to assure you that we have no prejudice on the elderly clientele wich is representing a large majority of our customers. also you can read the friendliness and kindness of our staff is recognized by our customers.
Furthermore, we are pleased to inform you that every year we make renovations (painting, bathroom, furniture, decoration ...)

It is with great pleasure that we welcome you again and we knew that we will give you the best quality of service
Best regards

François Madueno - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    319
    151
    28
    24
See reviews for
114
393
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a return (after 19 years) trip to Menton. They say you shouldn't go back - but the Quality Hotel helped make our return all we could have hoped for.It is excellently situated in the picturesque town of Menton - literally 4 minutes from the beach. Our room was very good, enhanced by aircon, a pleasant view from the balcony, and a small fridge. The half-board/demi-pension option was good value - with one small caveat. My request for a veggie choice at dinner was met...with omelettte the default option. It was like being back in England 20 odd years ago. The first and dessert courses were excellent - but I would have expected a three star hotel, in 2013, to have been more versatile and sophisticated with their vegetarian option.
The waitresses were courteous and helpful - especially Sophie and Elise. In fact, all the hotel employees were welcoming and friendly.

We would certainly return - but I'd try hard to make sure there was a better veggie choice next time.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor - rooms here are likely to be dark. Our third floor room was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLonePoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie L, Responsable réception at Quality Hotel Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Menton and all the team thank you for this nice comment

We have noted your comments about the vegetarian diet and we promise you we will do better next time

See you soon (before 19 years )

Best regards

François Madueno - Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for one night on a Cosmos tour. The room was a little small but this is common in France. It was very clean and comfortable. The location is great for the beach if that's what you want. We ate dinner out and I did not use the bar. At breakfast things were a little cramped. But with 47 of us that was no fault of the hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and cheerful. If I was going to Menton again I would use this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvafred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie L, Responsable réception at Quality Hotel Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear sir

we thank very much for your feedback and we are very delighted you have enjoyed you stay in Menton.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon


Best regards

François Madueno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hôtel convenable certes...mais à mon avis le système des étoile en France est à revoir; il ne reflète pas toujours la qualité générale à la quelle on serait en droit de s'attendre. Faudrait imposer un standard minimum et s'assurer sue les hôtels s'y tiennent.

The food is okay but one can find a better taste in a cheaper hotel or restaurant.. Lots of English go there on holidays.. with a tour coach they booked from England. The wine is not served at the right temparature and the red one is of average taste...Staff are plaisant to customers so far.... but they should mind more about the taste of their food...
I like cooking and find the fish 2 or 3 mins over cooked etc...

It easy for a coach to park in front of the hotel.

The rooms in front street tend to be noisy and only curtains strugle to prevent day's light from passing through and wake you up...
The room 103, in september, had water leaking from the Italian shower style...easy to slipper and fall down.. Here is what i think of average standard for a 3 stars...^=^

The bar is nice and offer a lovely view over the sea and city...

Menton is very pleasant in summer time and for those who like youths..they culd meet someone nice..^=^

On the whole, the hotel is okay to my opinion but the system to get the stars in France makes me perplexe....and so the price we pay might sometimes not match the standard we expect..
I would be pleased to read critcis from othes aout thta.

kind regards

Room Tip: Front rooms street are to my mind Noisy though their offer a balcony...Les chambres côté rue sont tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie L, Responsable réception at Quality Hotel Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. It so was good of you to go into such detail. We really value everything you said .

We sinceraly hope to see you again very soon.


Best regards

François Madueno -Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchmaid
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

First the good points! Menton - lovely friendly town.
Hotel location - reasonable, quite central, 6-7 minutes walk to seafront. All staff very nice and friendly. Food quite good, except when restaurant is over booked, then everything is rushed! Hotel very clean.
Not so nice - our room was on ground floor and so dark we had to have lights on all day, even during brilliant sunshine outside!!
Shower room was larger than the bedroom!! Bathroom door didn't shut, tried slamming it and it locked itself! Luckily we were on the outside!
As for Newmarket Holidays - do not bother! Our arrival and departure arrangements were appalling! The rep - Anne - with us on final trip was rude, obnoxious and arrogant! Just 'dumped us' unceremoniously and did not bother at all! When she returned and we had the audacity to complain, she said she had done nothing wrong!! Travelsphere here we come!!!!

Room Tip: If you have a room on the ground floor ask to change it!! One side of the corridor behind reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie L, Responsable réception at Quality Hotel Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Menton and we thank you for your kind comments.
for your next stay, we invite you to contact us to choose with you the room that best suits you.

We hope to see you soon

best regards

François Madueno - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Best thing was the location. Rooms small. Expensive for what you get. Some reception staff very unhelpful. Unfortunately this seems to be standard in Menton. Not sure how much better it would be in other hotels for this price a d location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenTraveller117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie L, Responsable réception at Quality Hotel Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on your stay in Menton.

Your opinion is very important to us.
We have several types of rooms ranging from standard rooms (the smallest) to the privilege room (the largest).
We are sincerely sorry that our reception staff have not been able to meet your expectations despite their expertise recognized by a majority of our customers. Indeed, in the summer we have trainees but they are still supported by our staff.

We stay at yor disposal for any information

Best regards

François Madueno - Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the street level floor so we had a little terrace (not much sunlight there). The room was small, the bathroom was relatively huge. Very small corner for the shower, most of the bathroom space wasted. Nevertheless, it was still functional so no reason for major complaints. The room smelled quite strongly of an artificial strawberry scent, but again, no real problem there. The room floor had a basic red carpet material. Some tissue paper was hanging out of the air conditioning device (somebody obviously put it behind the device for some insulation). Ugly but didn't ruin the stay. The staff was normal and helpful. There is a balcony upstairs which is good if you have to wait for something. Wi-Fi didn't work but we didn't bother to ask about it as we didn't need it (in the room there were basically zero access points visible). If you get a good deal to this hotel and you don't need a fancy stay, this hotel should do the job perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie L, Responsable réception at Quality Hotel Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. It so was good of you to go into such detail. We are delighted to be able to make your stay in Menton pleasant and We really value everything you said
We hope to see you again soon.
best regards

François Madueno - Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Mediterranee

Property: Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Address: 5 rue de la Republique, 06500, Menton, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Mediterranee 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hôtel de charme" with 89 rooms and 5 apartments for rent, the Hotel Méditerranée welcomes you in a warm, modern setting. With a private underground car park of 34 places, a restaurant-brasserie open throughout the day and its ideal location in the centre of Menton, 50m from the beach, there is everything for you to enjoy a care free holiday in Menton. The Quality Hotel Méditerranée Menton has free unlimited WIFI access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Menton
Mediterranee Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing