We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I had arrived that day by plane in Nice and then had taken the bus directly to Menton. Therefore I was at the hotel prior to 11am and asked to leave my luggage in the depository. I deposited my belongings and was informed that my room would be ready by 12:15 and could check-in then. That was truly wonderful. My room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. There is free WiFi and special rates for people over 60 which includes the breakfast buffet. My experience has been that French hotels do not have buffets that are as lavish as those in other countries but this was a little bit better than others I have seen in France. Everyone working there whom I encountered was friendly and gracious. I certainly would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterranee06, Responsable réception at Quality Hotel Mediterranee, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

All hotel staff like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Mediterranee for your escapade in Menton, and we are all especially touched by your comment.

We are delighted to be able to make your stay in Menton pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely

François Madueno
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 781 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for 3 days in late October and has a pleasant time. Service was efficient rather than friendly but always helpful. We took a breakfast-inclusive package, it's expensive (€13) if you don't but it was a good meal. Standard room had no view of either hills or sea. It was tiny and decor from 1980s but spotlessly clean and quiet. Not somewhere if you plan to spend time in your room. We may go back but would prefer somewhere with more character.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived after an 8 hour drive, only to be told quite dispassionately, that there was no room for us, despite our booking several months in advance and receiving written confirmation. The front desk person was completely indifferent and dismissive, but after we steadfastly refused to accept the hotels decision to ruin our three day stay, miraculously a room was found for us.

The room was nicely furnished, clean, small but satisfactory. Until that is, we turned on the air conditioning to deal with the sweltering August heat. It simply didn't work. We visited the managers office, which by the way was very cool. The manager's arrogance and attitude matched the front desk personnel. We were apparently "fortunate that the hotel could provide accommodation" We were never moved, and no service person came to rectify the problem for the entire three nights we spent at the hotel. When we repeatedly checked with the manager, he had the temerity to suggest that we could go and buy fans.If we could have moved we would have.

The hotel location, the beautiful patio and bar were definitely positive aspects, but the combination of the indifferent attitudes displayed and the terrible discomfort from the lack of air conditioning made it an unforgettable experience for the wrong reasons.

We would never return.

Room Tip: My review highlights issues that are not matters of personal taste or preference. They are comments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rmcda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Brilliant hotel in great location, close to centre, along with friendly, helpful staff. Hotel has a lovely roof terrace with sun loungers and chairs & a lovely view of Menton’s roofscape. Happy Hour from 5:30 to 6:30 at the bar on the terrace is an added bonus. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 911pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have a great stay in this hotel during our holliday in july 2011. The hotel is really well situated, it is in the centre of Menton, closed to the beaches and also railway station (by the way the train is the best way to go to Monaco, it takes only 10 minutes)
The room was quite and very cosy, the receptionnists are really nice and helpful !
We would love to return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Klarinette88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I want to give a fair review. There are many good things about this hotel, including the location, the quality of the breakfast buffet and the size of the rooms. The main thing that surprised us was the attitude of two of the staff that we encountered, one behind the front desk and another in the breakfast clear-up team. What a shame! Attitude is such as easy thing to get right, and it costs nothing... We decided to cut short our stay to just a couple of nights and move to another hotel where the staff were fantastic. On reflection, I think the Hotel Mediterranee could make 3 improvements: 1/ deep-clean the rooms; a non-smoking room shouldn't smell like someone has been chain-smoking in it for 10 years, 2/ employ more staff to cover the breakfast areas - why are so many tables left dirty?, 3/ re-decorate... I hear that a new hotel has opened just around the corner so if we go back to Menton (really lovely place) then I will investigate that one...

Room Tip: If you ask for a non-smoking room, don't get fobbed off with a smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chopperiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, it is in a great location close to the town centre and beach as well as the Italian border. Breakfast was very average (14 Euros per person) and the staff very complacent (in regards to the availability of glasses for juice, clean cutlery, clean tables etc.) The rooms are dated and could do with updating. Parking in the hotel garage is VERY expensive at 18 Euros per night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UsLot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.7 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Mediterranee

Address: 5 rue de la Republique, 06500, Menton, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range: $66 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Mediterranee 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hôtel de charme" with 89 rooms and 5 apartments for rent, the Hotel Méditerranée welcomes you in a warm, modern setting. With a private underground car park of 34 places, a restaurant-brasserie open throughout the day and its ideal location in the centre of Menton, 50m from the beach, there is everything for you to enjoy a care free holiday in Menton. The Quality Hotel Méditerranée Menton has free unlimited WIFI access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Menton
Mediterranee Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing