We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ninth year, as good as ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
north west
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ninth year, as good as ever.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just returned from our annual visit to the Hotel Napoleon. This was our ninth year. A great hotel, clean, well furnished, good location and very friendly. Will return next year! As good as ever thanks to the staff. Thank you Andre Tiziana, Jocylene, Aurelian and many more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    198
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
105
271
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is amazingly located, with a walking distance from everything interesting in Menton; beaches and the historic centre.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, with a special mention to Marco and Aurelien.
Cleanliness is felt all over, and the design of the rooms with the Jean Cocteau theme is very cheerful and complement the sea view.
On the downside, food is not served after 9pm and the breakfast room needs a complete refurbishment, since it clashes with the other areas of the hotel. A Nespresso machine would be welcomed in the room, and noisy AC issues could ruin a very comfortable night sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view is a must, the higher the floor level the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilya64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a truly memorable stay at Hotel Napoleon.Stayed with my two adult sons in a triple room.Location is perfect with beautiful views,whilst a short stroll from one of the railway stations,which we used to visit Monte Carlo and Nice only half hour journey and the beautiful old town of Menton is a short stroll away too.The Hotel was very pleasant with good facilities,our room was not newly decorated but was very clean and at the rear of the Hotel it had a large window that opened so wide it was the next best thing to having a balcony! with a lovely view of the mountains.All the staff were very friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble.We will definately return... a gem of a hotel !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is really nice. It is perfectly situated in front of the sea, close to the historic centre and with a lot of space to park your car free. It is very clean and offers a rich and of high-quality breakfast. The best about it is its staff which is very kind, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are a lot better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavlospaschalidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Having reviewed this Hotel last year, I could easily cut and paste the whole thing again.

Nice room, friendly helpful staff.

Everything is wonderfully clean.

The menu for lunch and snacks was more extensive than last year. All simple things well cooked and representing good value.

Mosquitos were a real pain this year, especially outside at breakfast. Take some repellent.

A great base camp for Menton itself and the rest of the coast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Hotel Napoleon is situated about 10 minutes’ walk from the centre of Menton and overlooks the sea, port and town. We had a front facing room with balcony. There is a busy road in front of the hotel but as the room was air-conditioned and double glazed, there was no noise from the road at night. The balcony was a great place to retreat to in the heat of the day as it had a wide blind which could be rolled out to provide shade even at the sunniest time of day. The room had a fridge, topped up with free water, orange juice and Coke throughout our stay. There was also a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities.

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and clearly spoke a number of different languages. They were able to provide us with bus timetables and information about the town and suitable restaurants and they also made restaurant bookings for us.

We used the bus on a number of occasions as the stop is just outside the hotel and the service is frequent enough to make it worthwhile waiting. The bus fare into the centre of the town is €1.50 per person.

There is a pleasant bar adjacent to the reception lobby and the bar gives onto the swimming pool at the front of the hotel. The bar serves light meals and snacks which we didn't try but for which the menu looked reasonably varied. There is a breakfasting room at the rear of the hotel and each day we ate on the terrace of this room as it was pleasant and shaded in the rather unexpected heat that Menton was experiencing.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and intend to return.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This Hotel was a lovely find; the room was excellent, well thought out and very clean.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a small pool but it’s well designed with boarding around the edge, not to many sunbeds but enough for the size of the pool, besides the beach is just across the road and the hotel will provide you with a towel.
The hotel is close to Menton Garavan station with trains along the coast to Italy, Monaco or Nice airport.
I can't praise this hotel enough down to the free mini fridge(soft drinks) to the bar were the night porter will serve you a drink if you get in late.
Another nice touch was the glass of iced lemonade when you check in.
I cannot wait to return to this hotel it was excellent.
The hotel shares a private beach across the road, which is great but there was no mention of a charge of e8 each from the reception.
Small point so don't let it put you off, The Napoleon is well worth staying in.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front would have a nice sea view but there might be noise from the road (motorbikes).Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgecassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: 29 avenue Porte de France, 06500, Menton, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Menton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy: An elegant, comfortable, unpretentious boutique hotel - for guests seeking quality without ostentation on the French Riviera. The hotel was recently renovated and decorated in a contemporary style by Jean-Philippe Nuel. Built over 6 floors, there is air conditioning throughout and a comfortable lounge bar and terrace serving drinks 24hrs a day and light snacks at meal times. Free wifi is available throughout the property, which features an outdoor swimming pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing