We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great staff, luxurious rooms!”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great staff, luxurious rooms!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

After having been at various hotels throughout Europe, it was very refreshing to finally find a great hotel. From its location facing the ocean, near the center of town, to its friendly staff, to the beauty and comfort of tis rooms. The bathroom is very spacious and luxurious. You could sense the attention to detail when you enter the room. This could easily be a 5-star hotel. I was planning to stay only for one night, but after being in this hotel, I decided to extend my stay 3 more nights. It was wonderful! I was driving a brand new car I picked up in Europe, and having on site, secure parking was a plus. Make sure to ask for an Ocean-front room as the view of the ocean in the morning is amazing. Also, breakfast is great, either inside or at the garden, even if you may have to share it with a few birds ☺. Please, don’t forget to order omelet for breakfast, they make the best omelets in town. I would definitely stay again at Napoleon, and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean-Front room, and don't forget to order an Omelet for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    204
    33
    6
    2
See reviews for
106
280
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our second visit to this lovely hotel. Again chose to have a suite; it was a different one this time but just as wonderful as the first one we stayed in. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable.

The hotel is very welcoming and the staff both charming and efficient. A taxi was again organised by the hotel reception to collect us from and return us to the airport.

Guess what - we've already booked our suite or 2014!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisandmike5304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent a night here and everything was just great. Would highly recommend. Staff in particular fantastic - very helpful, friendly and professional. Lovely modern, well equipped bedrooms and bathrooms too. With regard to previous comment on Trip Advisor - asked about the beach restaurant it doesnt actually belong to them - they sold it off a couple of years ago. I would however agree with previous comment that the hotel is on the outskirts of Menton near the marina - about 10 minutes walk to the prettiest part of Menton however - the old town. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel if you need to go any further. Very close to Menton Garavan station.
All in all - highly recommend. Small/medium hotel very well run.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TellTale59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlik, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for the great review - and for pointing out that the Napoleon Beach no longer has anything to do with the hotel.

Our partner beach this year (and most probably next!) is the Festival Plage - reviewed elsewhere on this site.

Thanks again, and I look forward to welcoming you again to the Napoleon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combloux, France
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed here and found it a perfectly pleasant hotel to stay in. However, this time we just stopped to have lunch at their beach restaurant and were most disappointed by the poor standard of the meal. My wife's portion of pasta was minimal and she got one scallop in a scallop and mushroom pasta. I got sand in my prawns and very dried-out calamari. Certainly poor value for money as well as being poor quality. Try the other restaurants nearby instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASHFORD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlik, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Your impressions of the Plage Napoleon are, unfortunately, similar to ours.

We sold the beach restaurant in 2011, and the experience we have had with the new owner led to us breaking commercial ties with them at the end of 2012. Unfortunately, they have so far retained the name. This will hopefully change in the near future, eliminating the obvious confusion with the hotel.

In 2013, we have had an agreement in place for hotel customers with the Festival Plage, which has been a real success. Our customers get a discount at the beach, and, more importantly, the ability to reserve via the hotel, and sign for their bills at the beach and its restaurant. We have had very good feedback this year with regards to service, quality of food and value.

I do hope that you will visit the hotel on your next time in Menton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Clean. Friendly staff and family owned. Generally well maintained and most ocean facing rooms have been refurbished. Daily breakfast is nice - especially in the small back courtyard. Popular with tour groups, so one may encounter a periodic rush in common areas. Located about a 10 minute walk from the city center. There is a marina directly in front of the hotel which adds to charm, but necessitates a walk for beach access. Pool is very small, located in front of the hotel and not really an asset.
Menton traffic is insane in summer, so it's best to visit here in the off-season.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are far superior to those in the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel was well located with plenty of restaurants within a short walk. Staff friendly and helpful; rooms clean and fairly modern. Free parking in public car parks across the road (very limited spaces on site). Our room was small (had difficulty accessing the wardrobes positioned at the foot of the bed) and bathroom was very small. The 'over the bath' shower was not efficient - bathroom really not big enough for a bath, would have been better if it had just a good, walk-in shower. Free mini bar providing water and fruit juice - great idea. A lot of noise from the school/college at the back of the hotel. Our small balcony overlooked the area that the students gather in before/during/after sessions - l was awoken by this every morning. Breakfast was OK - fairly limited choice of foods on the buffet. Loved the freshly squeezed orange juice though. Ventured in to the pool once - was very cold. Pool area quite small and next to the busy road so a lot of traffic noise and limited seating available.

Room Tip: Select a sea view room if you want to avoid the student noise and have greater privacy, though you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41Chris45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a sea view room which was lovely. The room is quite small but neat, clean and tidy. Having a balcony was great. Beware the hot water can get very hot! The room was white and quite minimalist with good resources for all apple and PC usage.
On the down side sometimes it was very late before the room was cleaned, at breakfast there was only instant decaf coffee, The pool is clean and nice but there are only 7 sun loungers which is not enough (although space is limited). You get free Wifi but this drops sometimes and you need to get a new code each time.I would suggest robes in the rooms and perhaps some more towels.
We would stay again but would recommend a little more flexibility, as an example when I asked for a mushroom omelette at lunch I was told I could have ham or cheese but not mushroom although they were clearly available on other dishes.
For late check out there is no shower/dressing/hair drying facility outside of your room, so if you leave late there is nowhere to change and get ready. The latest you can check out seems to be 1.00 so for evening flights it may pose a problem if you want to keep swimming.
Sleep quality is excellent and the waitress Ulrike was really lovely.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great, you do face a busy road but with the door closed you cant hear it. A/C is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlik, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for your relevant and useful comments, which I will certainly take on board.

Regarding the Wi-Fi, you visited us just as we were bedding in a new system: the drop-off problems have now been resolved. Towels for the pool are available from reception, and we will happily provide robes on request.

You're right about limited space for sun loungers around the pool, and the changing facilities - we are looking at changing the layout around the pool to help with both of these issues in next years renovations.

... and I'll see what I can do about getting some mushrooms in for your next omelette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
492 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: 29 avenue Porte de France, 06500, Menton, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Menton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy: An elegant, comfortable, unpretentious boutique hotel - for guests seeking quality without ostentation on the French Riviera. The hotel was recently renovated and decorated in a contemporary style by Jean-Philippe Nuel. Built over 6 floors, there is air conditioning throughout and a comfortable lounge bar and terrace serving drinks 24hrs a day and light snacks at meal times. Free wifi is available throughout the property, which features an outdoor swimming pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing