We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good location, very helpful and friendly staff”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for a week in September and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Rooms were spacious, bed comfortable, cleaned regularly. Free wifi. The location is good as this part of Menton is a little quieter than the main town. The only negative was that we were on the 2nd floor with a balcony to the side and we could here quite a lot of traffic noise on the balcony from the road behind the hotel. In the room it was not a problem as there was double glazing and shutters, only on the balcony. I liked the rooftop terrace where you could sunbath on sunbeds or use the whirlpool. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for sea view and as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    124
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
170
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We usually prefer more modern decor type of hotels, but this little hotel expected our expectations. The location was good (10 minutes stroll to the old town and railway station), right on the promenade, still quiet enough to be relaxing. Our room had a wonderfull sea view.

The room decor was ok, though the furniture was slightly old fashioned. However, the bathroom seemed brand new. Everything was very clean. While the hotel was not particularly "fancy", I can't recall the last time I came across such a well-kept hotell. The staff was very friendly and spoke good English (and Italian).

You could certainly see that this was a family-owned hotel, not a chain. We were accidentally charged for two breakfast that we did not have and did not notice this until we were home. In fact, we contacted the hotel about a month after our visit. They were very apologetic and immediately refunded the money paid.
The only (slightly) negative thing I could come up was about the beach in front of the hotel. It was a public beach but not as good as the one at the other end of the town, near old Menton. If you prefer to be closer to a serviced beach, you should look accommodation closer to the Italian border.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we normally just have cafe au lait and croissant for breakfast. There were several boulangeries near by for this and every beach-side bar also offers light breakfast.

There was a jacuzzi and "a fitness room" on the roof top of the hotel, which we did not use. Please note that the jacuzzi is quite small and is covered. This is of course great if you visit outside the hot summer months.

Room Tip: The sea view was well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My sister and I spent our autumn vacation at Cote d'azur. First part of our rest we stayed in Nice but the second part we decided to spend closer to Italian boarder (to visit Italy) and moved into Menton. Hotel Princess & Richmond was chosen due to itghts location (on the first sea line, 10 minutes on foot to railway station, large room, balcony in each room with beautiful sight either mountain or sea, good reviews on the travel sites. We stayed here for five nights and everything appeared true. Very nice district - safety at late evening, with great amount of different cafes. Hotel really is located right on the main promenade (along the beach). Only 10 minutes pleasant walk and you in the centre of evening life.There are shops with souvenirs, wines and even clothes.On the one hand Menton is very close to Monaco (30 minutes and 1 euro by bus) and Italy (1 hour by train). Everything was wonderful except two points: we travelled with sister and wereserved twin room, but when we arrived they prepaired for us double - so first night we kicked each other with our legs at night^)))It 's joke of course.The second point - rather expensive breakfast at hotel - 13 euro. We went to a nice cafeteria in the morning to drink fresh coffee and to eat hot French croissant.

Room Tip: if you want to save a bit money, don't pay for sea sight because mountain sight is very nice, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana_Jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was our second stay at this very pleasant and friendly hotel. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English, and one even carried our heavy luggage a block and a half from where we had to park. The only negative about this charming hotel is the parking. We had a seafront corner room which was very bright, cheery and airy. Well worth the nominal increase in tarif. Nicely decorated room with very light bathroom and separate wc.

Room Tip: Any room on the seafront but a corner room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jumbuck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossett, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the Monaco Historic GP. 10 minutes walk to the train station, Monaco is 10 mins by train from here. The visit to the hotel was sadly marred by a very grumpy male receptionist who, we understand has since departed! Garage parking good but needs ore booking.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

staff nice and friendly. good English speaking. above expectation. Meat-free, mostly vegan breakfast. took it in my room, amazing experience. clean, cozy room, and well protect against the cold outside. Unfortunately the restaurant Le Galet does not offer vegan/plant-base dish options. Stayed only one night, and i really liked it. thanks to young yet skilled staff for nice overall service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theodoro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very nice settings, in front of the sea.
Rooms are just great for this category.
Every member of the staff is smiling and helpful.
A great stay, I would certainly come back.

Room Tip: As usual in these settings, some rooms are not facing the sea (and therefore are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princess & Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess & Richmond

Property: Hotel Princess & Richmond
Address: 617 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Princess & Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Princess & Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Princess Richmond
Princess Richmond Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing