We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in Menton Accomodation”
Review of Hotel Riva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riva
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A jewel in Menton Accomodation”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This newly refurbished hotel offers sea front accommodation Staff are fantastic and rooms are comfortable. Should say it is horrible because I don't want it to get too busy and spoil my future visits but the hotel really is too good to keep a secret

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    214
    35
    5
    1
See reviews for
51
303
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at the Riva Hotel, on recommendation, whilst visiting friends & I wasn't disappointed. This "boutique" hotel is situated on the coast line & in a great location for crossing the Italian border & visiting the extravagant Monte Carlo. It's recently refurbished & as such the communal areas are very modern & inviting. The rooms are spacious & great value for money, I suggest booking a room via booking.com for the best rates. Staff were friendly & my overall experience was fantastic. I have no hesitation recommending this hotel. Research Menton before arrival. The old town is worth a visit & there are many good food & drink places to choose from. Travel to Monte Carlo by bus or train for minimal cost & under 15 minutes. Happy travels!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must. There's no pool but the jacuzzi on the 7th floor sun terrace i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
374 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very nice hotel and helpfull staff. Clean and very well decorated. Lovely terasse at the very top of the building. Here you allso find a spa-bath and well-ness-center.
Rooms are spacious and nice decorated too. Bathrooms excellent.
Internet working. The hotel is situated right at the beach and 20 minutes walk from the old town.
Breakfast great, and you can sit outside next to the shore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A very pleasant, modern hotel right on water. Very friendly welcome from reception in a modern clean lobby. Our fourth floor room on the front was spotlessly clean but a little small. Breakfast was in a bright and cheery room and the buffet was very well presented.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumbuck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
806 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lido hotel is on the promenade which runs along the sea side through most of Menton. The hotel is well situated for visiting the old town and the city center - by foot 15 min. And it is just facing the Beach, which in fact is not so nice for bathing since there is a lot of small and big stones.
Our room was to the "backside" so we had the view to some distant Mountains and a lot of other houses in Menton. There was a small terrasse as well.
The rooms are up to date and with aircon.
There is a roof terrasse on the hotel from where there is a fantastic view over the bay. Also you can use a SPA bath on the terrasse and if you wish book a massage.
Service is very helpful.
You can park in the cellar at a cost of 12 eur if you book early, but also there is a paid parking just next door.

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The reception area and dining room, together with the deck facilities on the roof have been fully modernized snd the interior is fresh, open and clean. The full breakfast each day was a good start to the day, together with the great service. We loved being on the front of the hotel with views over the sea. The rooms are a little dated but the bed was good and the place was spotless. Would we recommend this place to our friends and family? Definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattieTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
628 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel, the room was bright and airy and well maintained.

Small fridge was useful and the closet large and capable. There was a small safe that we did not use.

The only comment about the bathroom was the shower fixing ,a point that everyone seems to note.

The balcony looked out to see and along the coast, we were on the second floor and their was traffic noise with the balcony door open ,this was mainly the very annoying motor scooters.

I think a higher floor would be preferable .

The parking was full bit there is a pay car park right beside the hotel and we did find free parking directly outside the hotel itself. A point to note the car park payment starts at 9am through to 1pm and starts again at 2pm to 7pm. The maximum ticket time is 3 hours so beware.

The promenade is an easy walk to the restaurants and the marina and the old town.

There are a couple of bars and restaurants next to the hotel and even an English tea shop--for the traditionalists.

Minutes from Italy and from Monaco. The bus runs from the rear of the hotel and number 100 takes you through Monte Carlo and all the way to Nice if you wish all for Euro 1,50.
Do keep your ticket as they do have inspectors who get on to check.

We had breakfast in our room on one morning which was good and the buffet which we did not have looked very good. There is a small bar .

We did not use the spa facility .

We would recommend this hotel as a good base to explore this area.

Room Tip: Go high and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva

Property: Hotel Riva
Address: 600 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Menton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riva 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing