We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, that ticked every box....”
Review of Hotel Riva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riva
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at the Riva Hotel, on recommendation, whilst visiting friends & I wasn't disappointed. This "boutique" hotel is situated on the coast line & in a great location for crossing the Italian border & visiting the extravagant Monte Carlo. It's recently refurbished & as such the communal areas are very modern & inviting. The rooms are spacious & great value for money, I suggest booking a room via booking.com for the best rates. Staff were friendly & my overall experience was fantastic. I have no hesitation recommending this hotel. Research Menton before arrival. The old town is worth a visit & there are many good food & drink places to choose from. Travel to Monte Carlo by bus or train for minimal cost & under 15 minutes. Happy travels!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must. There's no pool but the jacuzzi on the 7th floor sun terrace i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 516 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very nice hotel and helpfull staff. Clean and very well decorated. Lovely terasse at the very top of the building. Here you allso find a spa-bath and well-ness-center.
Rooms are spacious and nice decorated too. Bathrooms excellent.
Internet working. The hotel is situated right at the beach and 20 minutes walk from the old town.
Breakfast great, and you can sit outside next to the shore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A very pleasant, modern hotel right on water. Very friendly welcome from reception in a modern clean lobby. Our fourth floor room on the front was spotlessly clean but a little small. Breakfast was in a bright and cheery room and the buffet was very well presented.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumbuck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lido hotel is on the promenade which runs along the sea side through most of Menton. The hotel is well situated for visiting the old town and the city center - by foot 15 min. And it is just facing the Beach, which in fact is not so nice for bathing since there is a lot of small and big stones.
Our room was to the "backside" so we had the view to some distant Mountains and a lot of other houses in Menton. There was a small terrasse as well.
The rooms are up to date and with aircon.
There is a roof terrasse on the hotel from where there is a fantastic view over the bay. Also you can use a SPA bath on the terrasse and if you wish book a massage.
Service is very helpful.
You can park in the cellar at a cost of 12 eur if you book early, but also there is a paid parking just next door.

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The reception area and dining room, together with the deck facilities on the roof have been fully modernized snd the interior is fresh, open and clean. The full breakfast each day was a good start to the day, together with the great service. We loved being on the front of the hotel with views over the sea. The rooms are a little dated but the bed was good and the place was spotless. Would we recommend this place to our friends and family? Definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattieTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel, the room was bright and airy and well maintained.

Small fridge was useful and the closet large and capable. There was a small safe that we did not use.

The only comment about the bathroom was the shower fixing ,a point that everyone seems to note.

The balcony looked out to see and along the coast, we were on the second floor and their was traffic noise with the balcony door open ,this was mainly the very annoying motor scooters.

I think a higher floor would be preferable .

The parking was full bit there is a pay car park right beside the hotel and we did find free parking directly outside the hotel itself. A point to note the car park payment starts at 9am through to 1pm and starts again at 2pm to 7pm. The maximum ticket time is 3 hours so beware.

The promenade is an easy walk to the restaurants and the marina and the old town.

There are a couple of bars and restaurants next to the hotel and even an English tea shop--for the traditionalists.

Minutes from Italy and from Monaco. The bus runs from the rear of the hotel and number 100 takes you through Monte Carlo and all the way to Nice if you wish all for Euro 1,50.
Do keep your ticket as they do have inspectors who get on to check.

We had breakfast in our room on one morning which was good and the buffet which we did not have looked very good. There is a small bar .

We did not use the spa facility .

We would recommend this hotel as a good base to explore this area.

Room Tip: Go high and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel riva is a very nice and clean hotel near the beach and value for money.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean, sea side rooms have stunning views.
The hotel is located on walking distance to center de ville.
Also the hotel have a great terrace pool on the roof with even more stunning views.
Breakfast is average and real french.
The staff is friendly on their own french way.
Tip! try to get a sea side room the rooms at the other side are next to a busy and noisy street.

.

Room Tip: Tip! try to get a sea side room the rooms at the other side are next to a busy and noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Layover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.0 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Ambassadeurs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva

Address: 600 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Menton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
Price Range: $82 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riva 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing