We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Riva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riva
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The reception area and dining room, together with the deck facilities on the roof have been fully modernized snd the interior is fresh, open and clean. The full breakfast each day was a good start to the day, together with the great service. We loved being on the front of the hotel with views over the sea. The rooms are a little dated but the bed was good and the place was spotless. Would we recommend this place to our friends and family? Definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattieTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel, the room was bright and airy and well maintained.

Small fridge was useful and the closet large and capable. There was a small safe that we did not use.

The only comment about the bathroom was the shower fixing ,a point that everyone seems to note.

The balcony looked out to see and along the coast, we were on the second floor and their was traffic noise with the balcony door open ,this was mainly the very annoying motor scooters.

I think a higher floor would be preferable .

The parking was full bit there is a pay car park right beside the hotel and we did find free parking directly outside the hotel itself. A point to note the car park payment starts at 9am through to 1pm and starts again at 2pm to 7pm. The maximum ticket time is 3 hours so beware.

The promenade is an easy walk to the restaurants and the marina and the old town.

There are a couple of bars and restaurants next to the hotel and even an English tea shop--for the traditionalists.

Minutes from Italy and from Monaco. The bus runs from the rear of the hotel and number 100 takes you through Monte Carlo and all the way to Nice if you wish all for Euro 1,50.
Do keep your ticket as they do have inspectors who get on to check.

We had breakfast in our room on one morning which was good and the buffet which we did not have looked very good. There is a small bar .

We did not use the spa facility .

We would recommend this hotel as a good base to explore this area.

Room Tip: Go high and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel riva is a very nice and clean hotel near the beach and value for money.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean, sea side rooms have stunning views.
The hotel is located on walking distance to center de ville.
Also the hotel have a great terrace pool on the roof with even more stunning views.
Breakfast is average and real french.
The staff is friendly on their own french way.
Tip! try to get a sea side room the rooms at the other side are next to a busy and noisy street.

.

Room Tip: Tip! try to get a sea side room the rooms at the other side are next to a busy and noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Layover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Riva was fabulous and faultless. The hotel is spotless and very stylish. Breakfast delivered a great choice of continental items. All the staff are very helpful and smiling. The rooms are very comfortable with a cool marble bathrooms. With a roof top jacuzzi giving stunning views of the Côte d'Azur I am sure that we will return not only to Menton but also Hotel Riva.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xjosettex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was a pure pleasure to discover this hotel with great location on the sea, but also with nice view on the mountains. I had a mountain view room, at sixth floor (room 605) and the view was really spectacular. The hotel is newly renovated and you can see this in every design details. The entrance, the terrace and the breakfast room are very smart and bright, the colours are beautiful and the furniture is modern and ergonomic. The best part is the staff: the reception people are friendly and helpful, the chambermaid did an excellent job (the room was spotless) and the breakfast ladies can smile even early in the morning.
The only minus is the distance to the old town and the rocky beach near the hotel. A much better beach is “Les Sablettes”, 20 min walk from Riva Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor and don't avoid the mountain view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MihaiPopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel Riva is excellent value for your money. Very easy access by bus from Nice, the bus stop is right next to the hotel. Hotel is clean and fresh, they have a good AC and a secure luggage room in case you need one.
Hotel Riva is just across the street from the nearest beach and rooms facing the sea have the most amazing view. Breakfast is quite expensive, but you can always enjoy your own breakfast sitting on the balcony admiring the fantastic view!

Room Tip: Choose the room with a seaview!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Auli_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stayed here for a week recently. had a room with a balcony, 3rd floor overlooking the sea. was excellent.
sound proofing was not great so if that's an issue that may be not so good for you. the housekeeping staff were excellent, the hotel staff were maybe a bit aloof........ certainly not friendly...... on the day we were checking out we had checked the time for check out and it was 12 noon...... as we were not leaving Menton till that evening we ahd wanted to stay in room till nearer 12 but were still going to make sure we were checked out BY 12. at 11.30 there was a phone call from reception just to make sure we were definitely going..... I don't think this was needed. Also we hired bikes and attempted to leave them on the deserted terrace and the "barman" who had never spoken to us before rushed out and said we couldn't leave them there and suggested putting them between guests parked cars and the railings on the other side..... potentially damaging the car........

Room Tip: sea view 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank califon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.0 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Ambassadeurs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva

Address: 600 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Menton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
Price Range: $80 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riva 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing