We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Hotel Riva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riva
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights between 14 and 17 of September. The hotel was very clean with helpful staff and great facilities. The rooftop solarium and jacuzzi are the highlight of this hotel along with the great location. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and hope to return soon myself. The town of Menton itself is wonderful and we really didn't want to leave!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lsmith1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    224
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
319
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Menton for 6 day as part of a longer trip around Europe. The Hotel Riva is one of the highlights and we could not have been happier staying here. We had a mountain view and it was great. If you opt for this then try for the top floor as the view is so much better as you are above the tree line! You will also be closer to the rooftop solarium and jacuzzi. I have stayed on 4 and 5 star hotels that no where near as good as the Hotel Riva.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and 17 year old daughter stayed at this hotel for seven nights. We've been to Menton many times but this was the first time at this hotel and probably the nicest hotel we've stayed at in Menton. We didn't have a sea view but the mountain view was fine. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom modern and staff very friendly. AC worked perfectly! It is approx. 12 minutes to the centre of old town (walking casually) and it was nice to be "just outside" of the crowds and noise. The hotel is right across the street from the ocean and has a nice terrace where you can sit and eat breakfast or have a cocktail. I definitely give this hotel a thumbs up and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a sea view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenandblue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel Riva is beautifully located, just across the road from the Mediterranean. The rooms are clean and comfortable. However, the reason I am writing this review is to praise the very helpful staff. My suitcase went missing on the Nice Airport to Menton Express and I arrived at the hotel with the clothes I was wearing and my handbag. The hotel staff made numerous phone calls on my behalf to try to locate the case and gave me advice on where I could buy some essentials. My holiday was ruined, but I hope to return to Hotel Riva on another occasion.
I believe the case was stolen, so I would advise other travellers to watch lugguage being unloaded from the hold whenever the coach stops to unload passengers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 266Patt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a sea view room with a balcony on the fifth floor and what a treat it was to go to bed each night and wake up each morning to such a glorious view! Despite having a road between the hotel and the sea, there was an uninterrupted view from the fifth floor balcony of the sparkling sea. To the west, Menton looked so picturesque against the craggy backdrop of the Italian/French coast. 

Our room was surprisingly quiet. At night, when we closed the automatic shutters, the road noise was sufficiently blocked and the soundproofing between rooms was great. 

The room was a little dated but I understand that the hotel is slated for a renovation this winter. The room was very clean and had wood floors so despite the age of some of the furnishings/ bedding, the room always appeared neat. The washroom was decently sized and had granite counters. We appreciated the mini bar fridge. We moved the mini bar stuff aside and used the fridge for chilling our own beverages. Wifi was free and the signal was strong. 

Breakfast was 8 euros per person which included coffee or tea, juice, croissants/ buns and jam/butter. We loved the convenience of having it delivered to our room so we could enjoy breakfast on our balcony every morning. There was the option of paying more for a full buffet breakfast on the main floor but we never tried it. 

After breakfast, we would cross the road and go for a swim directly in front of the hotel. I would not really say there is much of a beach directly in front of the hotel but there is room for towels and sunbathing (on rocks, not sand).  You can walk to the east along the promenade to some actual beaches but we were absolutely content swimming in front of the hotel in the clear, azure water. I miss those morning swims! 

The promenade, in front of the hotel, running along the sea was lovely for an evening stroll.

We had a car with us and we were so glad we did! It was great fun driving the Corniches between Menton and Monaco/ Nice/ Eze/ Villefranche sur Mer. One of the highlights of our trip was spending the day in Dolceacqua and Apricale, Italy. We wandered the maze-like alleyways and staircases of these enchanting villages and had a delicious lunch. 

Every evening,  we returned to the hotel and parked our car in our reserved space. We thought our relatively large, designated parking space (under the hotel) was well worth the $10 per night. Parking all along the Riviera was surprisingly easy during high season and we never really ran into traffic issues but there are a lot of scooters that dodge in and out of traffic and that can make driving a little harrowing.

Overall, Menton was a good base for exploring the Riviera and Italy. We liked that it was a little quieter than some of the other towns along the coast. If we manage to return to this area again, we would stay at the Hotel Riva. This waterfront hotel was good value for the money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Back2Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent 6 nights here and had a fabulous holiday.We had a room on the 5th floor with a balcony - everything was immaculate. Breakfast on the balcony was 8 euros a person and well worth it! There is parking under the hotel and buses pass by the hotel going to Nice and Monte Carlo for 1 euro!!
Lots of nice restaurants within walking distance of this top class hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank commissaire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

It was great to spend two days at the Hotel Riva - almost everything during our stay has left a very positive impression. We enjoyed sitting at the balcony in the evening with an amazing sea view - Italy on the left and France on the right. We enjoyed swimming - the sea was perfect, the beach was a bit overcrowded, but better than in other cities of Cote d ‘Azure. A lot of restaurants in a walking distance, Italy in a 15 min drive (just in case you want to have a pizza in Italy).
Parking can be an issue because of a limited number of parking slots, but we managed to avoid this problem both days (and we weren't charged for the parking next to the hotel).
The room was absolutely ok, the breakfast was good… so nothing to complain - simply a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexey_from_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva

Property: Hotel Riva
Address: 600 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riva 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing