We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
72
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold villagewithout being intrusivequiet courtyardcroissantssteep stairslocation is excellentbeatriceloftjam
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 84 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were visiting family in Monaco but wanted a less glitzy place to stay. We found this highly rated establishment on Tripadvisor. La Petite Maison deserves it's excellent reputation. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, comfortable and stylishly furnished to a high standard. All fittings work well. Shower pressure is excellent. Bed quality is very good and there is no noise disturbance. Breakfast is delicious. We requested fresh fruit which was generously provided. Freshly squeezed orange juice was a treat. Yoghurt, freshly baked bread and croissants, cheeses and cold meats. The home made jams are simply delicious. Excellent coffee, cappuccino if preferred. We had breakfast indoors in a very attractive and spacious dining room. The charming hostess Beatrice manages to achieve a perfect balance by being friendly yet unobtrusive. She is generous and helpful. On our last morning she had breakfast ready for us at 06.50. As we did not have much time she presented us with a lemon drizzle cake and a jar of her truly amazing lemon marmalade. La Petite Maison is well positioned, close to the seafront, shops and many good restaurants. The surrounding old town is full of interest and history. The views from the basillica and cemetry are breathtaking. Some reviewers have mentioned the entrance in an unattractive alley. We actually found this to be very charming, authentic and slightly reminiscent of the old towns of North Africa although cleaner. It is easy to reach all attractions along the coast by rail. The views from the train are beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-U-K-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Wonderful B&B tucked away on a winding street, just a few steps from the main shops and restaurants; However when you go through the front door, La petit Maison is a surprise, tucked into a courtyard of herb garden and lemon tree shade. A surprising oasis of calm, excellent standards, lovely furnishings, crisp white sheets on the bed and all is beautifully appointed. Breakfast was delightful, very continental and out ready every morning. My little granddaughter, of nearly three was given little musical books to read after breakfast and treated like a family member, which was really nice!
Beatrice, the lady who owns the business was so helpful, pointing out the best places to eat, what to go and see and how to get there etc. I am not usually a B&B person, but this little place has won our hearts and we will be back again next year!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms available, each with tea and coffee making facilities; one room has lovely bath tub with hand held shower and the other room has a fantastic power shower but no bath.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradiseseeker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed twice at this charming little bed&breakfast, and both times we have been more than happy with the experience and quite sad to go.

If you want the anonymity of a large hotel, this is not your place. As described in many of the reviews, the charm lies in the personality of this small size b&b with only two guest rooms and the most charming little garden where you have breakfast, weather allowing, and where you can relax between your excursions. The rooms are pretty and comfortable, and very quiet. Breakfast is delicious, either taken under the lemon tree outdoors or in the dining room in the main building - both equally charming.

The location is perfect. Restaurants, the beach, getting lost in the alleys of the old town, all are at an easy access from La Petit Maison.

Finally, a few words on the hostess. Beatrice provides the perfect welcoming atmosphere and is just as present or discreet as you want. There is so much attention to details both in caring for the guests and in the decorating of the place. It feels like you leave a friend´s home when you go - we are sure to return!

Room Tip: Steep stairs to the comfortable bed, just be careful !
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScandiCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

La Petite Maison is one of the most pleasantly surprising places I have ever stayed. Booked at the last minute at the end of the season, I didn’t know what to expect, and locating the place takes some ingenuity – leave your car and SatNav wherever you can find a parking spot and walk through the old town’s streets with printed directions or a map in hand. The graffiti covered alleyway leading to the external portal isn’t very encouraging, but once though the wooden door, you have entered the Narnia of B&Bs.

The very welcoming host lives on site, in the main house, and her personal touches are obvious from the moment you step into the stone corridor that leads to the courtyard with its outdoor tables and chairs for dining under the century-old lemon tree.

The guest annex is very modern looking, with huge glass doors leading into cool, white rooms. The space is very cleverly used, with the bedroom on an upper mezzanine reached by a set of white wooden steps. From the comfortable, stylish bed, it is possible to view the old basilica through the skylight, and there is a television and electric fan if you care to use them. There is even a revolving rack featuring a very interesting collection of multi-lingual paperbacks. Downstairs is a small living space with sofa, tables, and built-in cupboard/wardrobe. The owner has created a memorable place to stay with tasteful and interesting antiques dotted around, including a Singer sewing machine stopped halfway through a piece of antique fabric, an old wind-up phonograph, and some romantic, black and white postcards of Menton. Probably the most breathtaking and welcoming room is the bathroom. The roll-top bath is large and inviting and the bath towels are fluffy and clean-smelling. The grey stone brickwork is beautiful and there are other antique pieces in black and white for you to admire.

Apart from the stunning guest room, the host’s relaxed, friendly nature makes this a wonderful place to stay. Check-in time was flexible and we could stay as long as we wanted on the day of check-out. The enormous basket of breads and croissants left over from breakfast? Take them with you for a snack later on. We enjoyed hearing about the owner’s experiences and admiring her artfully decorated house, where the delicious breakfast was served.

This B&B is the only one of its kind in Menton and couldn’t be more centrally located. It is amazingly good value and a beautiful, beautiful oasis of calm. I would plan my travels around staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeHCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We couldn't think of a better place to stay in Menton as this charming chambre d' hote has it all. Situated in the old quarter behind an ancient door lies an oasis of calm and character. Beatrice is attentive but discreet and you will enjoy her company as much as the accommodation which is first class of high standard,and includes a breakfast with a selection of food and drink for every continental taste. None of your prepacked food hear. Visit and enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews