We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riva(Menton)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$155
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lemon(Menton)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
72
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold villagewithout being intrusivequiet courtyardcroissantssteep stairslocation is excellentbeatriceloftjam
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 83 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

La Petite Maison is one of the most pleasantly surprising places I have ever stayed. Booked at the last minute at the end of the season, I didn’t know what to expect, and locating the place takes some ingenuity – leave your car and SatNav wherever you can find a parking spot and walk through the old town’s streets with printed directions or a map in hand. The graffiti covered alleyway leading to the external portal isn’t very encouraging, but once though the wooden door, you have entered the Narnia of B&Bs.

The very welcoming host lives on site, in the main house, and her personal touches are obvious from the moment you step into the stone corridor that leads to the courtyard with its outdoor tables and chairs for dining under the century-old lemon tree.

The guest annex is very modern looking, with huge glass doors leading into cool, white rooms. The space is very cleverly used, with the bedroom on an upper mezzanine reached by a set of white wooden steps. From the comfortable, stylish bed, it is possible to view the old basilica through the skylight, and there is a television and electric fan if you care to use them. There is even a revolving rack featuring a very interesting collection of multi-lingual paperbacks. Downstairs is a small living space with sofa, tables, and built-in cupboard/wardrobe. The owner has created a memorable place to stay with tasteful and interesting antiques dotted around, including a Singer sewing machine stopped halfway through a piece of antique fabric, an old wind-up phonograph, and some romantic, black and white postcards of Menton. Probably the most breathtaking and welcoming room is the bathroom. The roll-top bath is large and inviting and the bath towels are fluffy and clean-smelling. The grey stone brickwork is beautiful and there are other antique pieces in black and white for you to admire.

Apart from the stunning guest room, the host’s relaxed, friendly nature makes this a wonderful place to stay. Check-in time was flexible and we could stay as long as we wanted on the day of check-out. The enormous basket of breads and croissants left over from breakfast? Take them with you for a snack later on. We enjoyed hearing about the owner’s experiences and admiring her artfully decorated house, where the delicious breakfast was served.

This B&B is the only one of its kind in Menton and couldn’t be more centrally located. It is amazingly good value and a beautiful, beautiful oasis of calm. I would plan my travels around staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeHCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We couldn't think of a better place to stay in Menton as this charming chambre d' hote has it all. Situated in the old quarter behind an ancient door lies an oasis of calm and character. Beatrice is attentive but discreet and you will enjoy her company as much as the accommodation which is first class of high standard,and includes a breakfast with a selection of food and drink for every continental taste. None of your prepacked food hear. Visit and enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A friend and I stayed at La Petite Maison last weekend, and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The property consists of the owner's own apartment, and two separate guest rooms, both of which have a living area, a bathroom (one with a bath, one with a shower) and a mezzanine floor with a very comfortable double bed. The rooms are beautifully decorated in calming neutral colours, with lots of clever little touches and ornaments to make them feel like home.

As another reviewer has mentioned, don't be put off by first impressions: yes, the B&B is down an alleyway, but it is like stepping into another world once you walk through the front door. A beautiful garden awaits you including many different herbs and a full grown lemon tree, and I have to say one of the highlights of our stay was simply sitting in the garden enjoying the peace and quiet in the warm autumn sunshine.

As for the breakfasts, as others have noted, they are delicious! Tasty ham, cheese, pastries, bread, freshly squeezed orange juice, a selection of teas and delicious coffee certainly set us up for the day.

But the real star of the arrangement is the owner, Beatrice. A lovely, friendly lady who was very welcoming and knowledgeable. She was happy to recommend and then book a nearby restaurant for dinner, but best of all, she was happy to bake a home made chocolate cake for my friend's 40th birthday, together with sourcing a local bottle of wine as a present. And I have to say, the cake was absolutely delicious, although Beatrice kept the recipe to herself (a family secret - which is fair enough!).

A couple of practical points: the B&B also has free wifi which was very handy. In addition, as the property is in the middle of one of the streets of old Menton, there is no parking in the immediate vicinity, but there is a very secure public car park nearby which Beatrice recommended for 9 euros per day.

Overall I would highly recommend this B&B. Beatrice has created an oasis in the beautiful town of Menton, and I have to say I preferred staying here as opposed to in Nice, which appeared much more touristy. Menton itself is a lovely little town, and certainly worth at least half a day to appreciate its many charms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Such a wonderful haven of peace in a busy area of Menton. The neighborhood looks rough at first, but once you pass the door, it is refinement and "home" that awaits you. The rooms are not only very tastefully decorated but very comfortable as well and unique. The owner is a wonderful lady, very knowledgeable and helpful. The best 2 nights of our trip and the most wonderful memory - we will be back to Menton and to La Petite Maison.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

After reading the reviews for this B&B we decided to book for the Aug bank holiday. Unfortunately when I was booking through booking.com I accidentally booked another LPM and not this one! We arrived on 23rd Aug to discover my completely mix up and La Petite Maison fully booked. Thankfully, the owner was very kind and offered to help us find another hotel in the area. Although we didn't stay here I wanted to add my comments about the owner. She was delightful and I would definitely like to stay here at some point in the future and wouldn't hesitate recommending.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews