We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality declining over the last year”
Review of Le Stanley

Le Stanley
Ranked #101 of 275 Restaurants in Menton
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Stanley welcome you everydays to propose you a cuisine from the south of France.
La Condamine, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quality declining over the last year”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Been to the place 3 times this year and it actually started up pretty good in the spring. Average just after the Summer, but now it has really lost steam.
Started off bringing the wrong wine and then waiting 10-15 minutes for the right one. The Panzotti aux Crabes is the smallest I have seen in a long time and still looking for the crab. The Seabass was with supposed to be with lemon, but it more tasted like lemon with Seabass. When we got the bill, actually without asking for it, it was wrong, but was correct without comments. Will look for something else next time in Menton.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    93
    75
    61
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not sure what the hype is for”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We tried Le Stanley because every time we had been through Place Du Cap it was full of diners. NOw we have eaten there, it is not clear why it is so popular. We both had pasta dishes which took a long time to arrive, were bland and overpriced. I even received some tagliatelle in my Penne which was unwelcome. It is nothing special but by all means give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Moray_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thank you for the warm welcome!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A really great experience was shared at this well run family restaurant. On a really hot day in August we shared a wonderful plate of fresh food.
We were met by great staff that made us feel really welcome. With so many choices make this one yours and see for yourself....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Average tourist restaurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a meal here with our grandchildren. The children's menu was 9.80 euros and fairly typical. The adult mains were 13 and 15 euros. By the time drinks, a small carafe of wine and coffee had been added the bill came to 80 euros which we thought expensive for what we had had. More annoying was that we were hurried along as other people were waiting for an outside table. The Place Du Cap is an attractive old square but apart from this there is not much to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hampshirevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Le Tourist Trap”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is an absolutely disgusting example of the predatory attitude some French restaurant owners have towards the high season. The food is bad. The service is atrocious. The prices are ridiculously high. I was dragged to this place by a couple of friends who took me out to Menton for dinner and insisted on walking into the first restaurant they came across. It was packed, they argued, so it couldn't be that bad. Think again! Please, please, avoid this excuse for a restaurant. It is one of the worst I have come across.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank rafael105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Stanley also viewed

Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing