We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for tourists!”
Review of L'Olimpo

L'Olimpo
Ranked #215 of 275 Restaurants in Menton
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
kullavik
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for tourists!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Visited the restaurant today for lunch, we ordered a white pizza to share with a bottle of rose wine. The pizza was good, the service was rather fast, but when we get the bill, we had been charged a extra sum of €5 for "diverse", when we asked the waitress what it was she could not explain it in english. She was talking to three of the other staff and after a while we were told it was because we were sharing the pizza; we were not told this from the beginning when We told her that we asked her if we could share a pizza before we were seated and that she answered that we could do so. Being a tourist i France almost every summer. This was very new for us. Please check your bill before paying.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    67
    49
    26
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Who didn't like this place?”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Yes it's right at the beginning of the pedestrian section, close the harbor, where all the tourists begin their search!

Does that automatically make this a tourist trap? By no means!

The oysters we had were great, the paella superb - I mean SUPERB ! It appears to be family owned and run, great, charming, competent service.

It's not cheap, but trust me, NEVER eat cheap seafood, anywhere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, awful service”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We ate there twice during our three day stay in Menton. There were four of us and we all thought the food was outstanding. The pasta with seafood was exceptionally good and the portions were very large. The prices were also reasonable. The "service" is a different story. They take your order, drop off your food and good bye. If you want another drink, some extra napkins or are ready for the bill, you better be patient. The manager told us we should learn how to speak French. This may be true but it is no excuse for the poor service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
“Cheated by crooked cooks”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Serving plain margharita pizza saying it is pepproni!!
Had the gaul to bring a red pepper from the kitchen and show .."see pepperoni!!".. and few minutes earlier he had claimed to be italian!
Never step into this place which oterwise seemed to 'look' fine & smell fine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrep1dExpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Nothing Special.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nothing Special. The food was OK but nothing to write home about. Service was surly. The highlight of the meal was watching "Mama" walk around making insignificant alterations to unoccupied tables - such as moving a fork a few millimetres to the left one minute, and then the next moving it to the right. Then she moved a table slightly to the right one minute, then slightly to the next a couple of minutes later! Much attention to detail! Its a shame the same attention was not paid to the plate of half eaten garlic bread which was put down on a counter next to us just after we sat down and did not get removed throughout our meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Olimpo also viewed

Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Olimpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing