We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel with character, good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Corniche d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Corniche d'Or
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small hotel with character, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We expected to pay outrageous prices for a hotel in La Napoule, but this was very reasonable as long as you are not expecting faceless luxury. Lovely quirky place with a pleasant and helpful receptionist. Our room was small, simply furnished but adequate, comfortable bed, the shower was old fashioned but worked, there was no airconditioning so the first night was rather warm, then the next day we were given a fan which helped. Wifi in the room was patchy but worked fine in the reception area. The hotel is close to the shopping area and the railway station. Our room was at the back overlooking the railway line, but we weren't bothered by the noise even though we left the windows and shutters open at night. There is a 10 minute walk downhill to the marina.
There are several eating places close by and the restaurant next door where the receptionist also works was the best meal we had during our 4 day stay. We didn't book the breakfast, we walked the few yards up to the bakery and had fresh pastries and coffee every day sitting outside the shop.Visit the ice-cream shop as well. Parking was a headache on the first day, until we understood the system. Parking in areas with white lines is unrestricted, blue lines means you have to buy a blue card and you have 2 hours parking. Loved the place, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    10
    0
    9
See reviews for
12
24
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This small hotel is indeed very handy for the railway station – truly a few steps away as the web site advises but it should be noted that rooms at the back can suffer from the noise of trains. The rooms are quite sparsely furnished but the bed was quite comfortable. Breakfast with fresh bread and croissants was good in the usual fresh way though the coffee tended to be a little cold. The owner is very friendly and helpful does not speak much English but is learning!
Mandelieu la Napoule was very quiet off-season and there were not many restaurants open while the only bar closed at 8pm. The places that we did eat were very good.
Some people have commented on the security but this is in the guest’s hands to make sure the front door is locked. The only potential problem is on arrival when you have to phone the owner who will give you a code for the door so that you can get in and pick up your room key from the table in the hall – a real self-service arrangement. This is OK if you speak French but maybe more difficult for foreigners.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place has had a makeover and I think it is under new management. When we arrived nobody was on reception but keys left on a table with our details at the Hotel we think is owned by the restaurant next door. We hung around for a while and then figured we just take the key and go to the room. The room had a large terrace and nice outdoor furniture. The room was lovely in size, great bed and basic, but overall nice. However the bathroom was a total contrast and obviously had been missed off the decoration for many decades. The shower tray was so awful I dare not get in it, we were only there for one night so it did not really matter. The ceiling bathroom also looked hideous... shame because if they can sort this and put in some decent showers it will be a good place overall. The price was relative so overall not a bad experience, and the bed was comfy. Their was no control for the aircon but fortunately we did not need it.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room, but beware the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireQPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rueschlikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel has a low price since is close to Cannes and is July! We have been welcomed by a very kind and smiling lady that provided us some information (was a forced stop). The location is wonderful, close to the beach and to Cannes (to the airport too), the room was clean and with nice furnitures (except the bathroom, a bit too old). There are also plenty of restaurants in the area (to be mentioned "La Mandarine"). Only negative thing is that there is no air conditioning but only a fan. In summer the room is really hot, it's enough to keep the window open and you can have a good sleep.

Room Tip: Room n°9 had a private bathroom, not sure about the other one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chmax73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. He has been a regular here for years and I will definitely be back. Right in the centre of town, it's surrounded by good restaurants, close to the marina and beach and the train station. The rooms are very clean and tidy with crisp clean linen. The staff are also very friendly.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have never slept in such a horrible, dirty, old hotel. the fact I was in Cannes for a conference and the best hotels were already fully booked or too expensive for the company I work for, so I decided to join a colleague in this 2 star hotel. Ok, I did not expect a beauty, but cleanliness at least ... not broken-down and filthy as it is. Breakfast is very poor and costs 7 euros. not to mention the poor security of the hotel: the door at night is unattended and always opened, with our keys hanging at the entrance, ready to be taken by anyone! also, the free wi-fi only works in a corner of the entrance, where a sofa for 2 persons only lies. really, the worst experience I ever had in france.

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoNippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed here while visiting my sister and her family and was very satisfied. This is not a luxury hotel - but neither is the price. The hotel is old but that only adds to its charm with e.g. the typically French balconies. The shower in the bathroom - at least in my room - could use a upgrading but everything worked as it should. The owner is active himself at the hotel and is very helpful and friendly and attentive. The location in this little town is the absolute most central. It is placed at the town square with restaurants and the best icecream shop. The beach is only two minutes walk away and a somewhat larger beach five minutes away. The hotel and the location soaks in the most authentic atmosphere. A little music from one of the restaurants next door but only a few hours and not late.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiKBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandelieu-la-Napoule
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino
Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal C...
#1 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
1.0 mi away
L'ilot du Golf
L'ilot du Golf
#7 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Ermitage Du Riou
L'Ermitage Du Riou
#2 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
#1 of 6 in Theoule sur Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Calanque
La Calanque
#1 of 1 in La Napoule
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cannes Mandelieu
Ibis Cannes Mandelieu
#6 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corniche d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corniche d'Or

Property: Hotel Corniche d'Or
Address: Place de la Fontaine, 06210 Mandelieu-la-Napoule, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mandelieu-la-Napoule
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Corniche d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Corniche d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing