We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be”
Review of La Brocherie

La Brocherie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great place to be”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Staying in l'Ermitage Hotel (which is super, see my review) across the road we dined there three out of six nights and found it consistently good with excellent service kind attentive staff in a good location. Go for the set dinner, great value and variety huge amount to eat.
From our viewpoint it was most convenient reasonable value though I found it extraordinary that the boss or owner(?) gave orders over our table as if nobody was there, totally ignoring us and then stopping to talk at most tables occupied by locals.
First night as two we had the set dinner which was super and great value, with a huge amount to eat, great house white wine, underwhelmed by the red. The second night we were six, four had the set dinner, the other two had lobster salad and grouper with champagne again superb with the house white and chose Whispering Angel as the red which we greatly enjoyed.
On the final night we were four two had the set dinner, with the same wines, and two had the lobster salad and felt " like hens scratching around to find it" the maitre d' immediately replaced them but it did not work.
The staff were consistently charming attentive and helpful

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cc4bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    214
    66
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect price/quality, we will definitely return!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were 5 persons having their wonderful menu. It was worth every cent. The quality of the food was impeccable and the service was excellent. For the price of 38€ you got a wonderful menu with several cold starters + two warm starters + main course and the cheese and dessert. We would not have found this place without advise from a hotel nearby. We are very thankful for that. There were no hidden extras added to the bill and this was one of the nicest experiences in restaurants in France so far. And I can tell you: we have eaten in French restaurants quite many times before. I definitely would recommend this palce for anyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the best is yet to come”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I dined at this restaurant on 28th March 2012 with my wife.The place is nice,there is a fine view of the harbour,the tables are not too close and the service is attentive.Soon after the customers are seated,two waiters will arrive with a big basket full of fish(presumably,the catch of the day):a display that not everybody does appreciate,for various reasons.The quality of the food is just passable but what is really shameful is the deceitfulness of the menu.Just two examples:1)the "friture mixte" is 95% joèl(big-scale sand smelt) and when I told the restaurateur that it was not "mixte",his reply was that this is how they do it(sic!).2)the"salade fruit mer" was 4 mussels,2 scallops,1 shrimp and the rest was green salad(€26.00).Maybe the restaurateur thinks it is always Festival time and he can play his tricks as if in a movie.But if you do not like experiencing a scorching cheat,I reccomend to avoid this restaurant

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kurti3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Most wonderful place to eat!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

La Brocherie is simply perfect! Fabulous location right on the port in la Napoule. Great staff and superb food. The waiters bring a HUGE basket of fresh fish - whatever has just arrived - to you table so you can choose. They offer a very very good "menu" at €38, including tax and service, with 3 courses one of which, the appetiser, has in fact 5 different things!! Everything was so fresh it almost jumped onto our plates.

We loved it (went there on a recommendation of someone local with whom we played golf the day before) and so we went back a second time. Had we had another day in la Napoule we would undoubtedly have gone again! Though it was January we were able to sit outside on their sheltered terrace.

It is essential to reserve on the weekends and any time in the summer season. This is a wonderful restaurant!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hambagahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargemon, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SERVICE WITH A VIEW NEXT TO NONE”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The restarant was packed, luckily we had reserved.....high season was just beginning. We were shown to our table overlooking the sea and the harbour, it was splendid. The waiters were very attentive and extremely polite. The menu was large, mostly fish....fresh fish.
We all had fish, fresh, beautifully cooked and served with pride. Wine was good too, no "pichet" here. The desserts lacked originality, but were tasty nevertheless. I must say the service exceeded all expectations.....and that sticks in my mind. Be sure to book if you go in high season as all the yachts come in here and it fills up very quickly. Not easy to par AT ALL.....the only negative thing I have to say !

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psha1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brocherie also viewed

Mandelieu-la-Napoule, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Theoule sur Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mandelieu-la-Napoule, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mandelieu-la-Napoule, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mandelieu-la-Napoule, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Theoule sur Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Brocherie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing