We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese 1970's Smelly Yuck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Cheese 1970's Smelly Yuck”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was due in Cannes for some meetings and decided to stay here, although a 20 minute or so drive into Cannes it wasn't too bad in terms of commuting.

My first impression of the hotel was it was in poor condition, most likely having been built in the 1970's, it has been neglected.

The name of the hotel gives the impression of a grand casino that one might see in a James Bond movie, but don't be fooled the Casino is a series of slot machines that run 24 hours a day in the basement. When I visited it was filled with men and women in their late 70's who perhaps regularly gambled here in their 30's when the place was actually in keeping with the times, and who perhaps come to reminisce in their Zimmer frames and walking sticks.

The basement boasts a gym too, there is only an exercise bike in this gym no treadmills, and a few weight machines, the gym is was very very cold when I went in there, it was March and sunny outside but the gym felt like it was sub zero, there are no showers in this gym, no towels, it looks like it is very rarely used. Had nice views of the sea though.

In fact most of the hotel had nice views of the sea.

Breakfast as a buffet was limited in choice but the staff were reasonably polite.

The signature for me to this hotel is the lifts, they are padded with some kind of leather hybrid material which lets off a rather distinct odour. As my colleague put it, the lifts smell as though a smelly sweaty builder has come in with his clothes off after a long hot day and rubbed his body all over the walls of the lifts. The smell in these lifts are something I will not forget in a hurry. Yuck.

The floor we stayed on was the top floor which had a mouldy smell....and sleeping was hard, it was always noisy outside, we could hear ambulances / emergency services all night.

All in all the hotel was not one I would choose to stay in again, we paid 524 EURO per room per night to stay here, in general it felt like I was in a time warp from the 1970s..

Room Tip: Ask for one where you dont have to go in the lift - the lifts stink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iloveluxuryholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-François C, General Manager at Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the hotel did not please you.
As for your comments about the gym, please note that we are looking into purchasing a trademill and that we do have 2 showers which are available to the guests. The towels are being refilled regularly throughout the day by our housekeeping department. We have not had comments regarding the smell of the lifts in the past but we will make sure to monitor it closely in the future.
Finally, I would be happy to discuss the different points you wrote about over the phone or in person.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    456
    132
    44
    29
See reviews for
222
573
42
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for for an onsite conference. It is a perfect location for such an event as they have several large rooms (300+ people) as well as breakout rooms.

Bedrooms are a large, clean and well decorated and kept spotlessly clean. Bed is large and firm, bathroom includes bath and shower. Free Wireless LAN is available in all rooms.

Breakfast was pretty usual buffet but with a good range and everything was fresh.

Hotel is located on a small private beach with views over Cannes and has a pool. Only minor drawback is that it is a €20 taxi ride from the town, and taxis are hard to come by after 11pm but this is reflected in the quality you get for the money compared to the in town hotels. Perfect location if you have a car to travel round.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view, higher the better as when the sun rises, it is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangallio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-François C, Directeur général at Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure for my team and myself to read your comment.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you on the French Riviera... maybe next time for vacation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed there for a conference and was pleasantly surprised: modern, elegant and spacious rooms with private balcony. Free WLAN access is provided. Staff is swift and friendly. Located outside of Cannes, directly at the beach.
As the name suggests, there is a Casino attached to it with direct access from the bar level. The bar area can get crowded, especially when a conference is held. Prices are fair, considering 4* and location.
Can recommend the hotel both for leisure and business. Only drawback was the food, all of medium quality, so better eat out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-François C, Directeur général at Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at the Pullman Cannes Mandelieu.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the moment.
I look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you again,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for a conference.
Rooms are a good size, bright, spacious and nicely decorated.
Good bed. Great shower. Room safe. Free WLAN.
Breakfast was actually very nice, unusual for France for me. Hot options were good and lots of cold and pastry options. Nespresso machines for coffee so all good.
Great conference facilities and of course a casino.
Lunch and dinner were also good especially for so many.

SMall private beach, decent pool.
Only issue is its a little outside Canne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-François C, Directeur général at Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Pullman Cannes Mandelieu.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Really beautiful location (Mandelieu) & nice beach (artificial one) . Very spatious and clean rooms. Well designed and big bathroom and the best queen bed ever ! We were upgraded to a superior room .Mandelieu is some kms away from Cannes so you deffinately need a car to move to and from the hotel so the parking should be included in the really high price of the room (costed 12€/night) and we were not informed in advance. The breakfast also should be complimentary - it was very average for 22€ per person. Not enough chaise longues at the pool & beach area.

Room Tip: Ask a room in the sea view part . Park your car in the hotels courtyard area - its free. Reserve a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Epikouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-François C, Directeur général at Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very nice comment about your experience in our property.
I’m happy to read that the service you were given at the Pullman Cannes Mandelieu has been up to your expectations, despite the price of the car park and the breakfast.
I would like to confirm that our private car park with vallets is at additional cost but we also have a free large public car park just across the street. Regarding the breakfast, I would like to let you know that we offer many packages with breakfast included. To have more information, I invite you to contact our booking department and they will advise you with regards of your needs.
I look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Royal Casino is located on the beach at the far end of the bay from Cannes in Mandelieu. We have been coming to the area for six years as it offers an affordable way to be within reach of Cannes for the film festival and Xmas. This was the first visit to this hotel as it has been improved over the past few years and we thought we would give it a try. It was great ! Good value, relaxed and very comfortable. We had a seafront room with the included breakfast option and both the room and breakfast were really good. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-François C, Directeur général at Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty in the Pullman Cannes Mandelieu and for taking the time to write this nice comment about your last stay with us.
We look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you for the next Cannes Film Festival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I liked this place, a little out of the busy city center way but perfect for some quiet time by the pool facing the beach. Really close to a few restaurants.
Full breakfast buffet.
Rooms were big, comfortable & very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toraguillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-François C, Directeur général at Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

It’s with a lot of pleasure that we received your review, we are very happy to know that you had a good time in our establishment. We hope to see you soon and will be very pleased to welcoming you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandelieu-la-Napoule
3.1 mi away
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel & Spa
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Theoule sur Mer
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Ermitage Du Riou
L'Ermitage Du Riou
#2 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
162 reviews
17.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
9.3 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino

Property: Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino
Address: 605 avenue du General de Gaulle | Bp50049, 06210 Mandelieu-la-Napoule, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mandelieu-la-Napoule
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
#1 Family Hotel in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Hotel&Resort is situated on the beach facing the bay of Cannes, on the French Riviera, 25minutes from Nice International Airport.Our 213 rooms and Suites, nicely refurbished on a contemporary design are all equiped with a private terrace, en suite bathroom, high quality bedding, mini bar, TV 16/9, tea and coffee facilities, safe, free WIFI.The Resort provides a full service 24/24 : restaurant, bars, Casino, private sandy beach, swimming pool, fitness room, tennis courts, night club, conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Hotel Mandelieu La Napoule
Pullman Mandelieu La Napoule
Accor Mandelieu La Napoule
Sofitel Mandelieu La Napoule
Mandelieu La Napoule Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing