We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing, loads of space, great value.”
Review of Astor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Six friends, three rooms....with extra bunks and beds in each room! Nice big bathroom. Breakfast served on the terrace each day. No complaints. We didn't have a car, so there was a little bit of a walk each day to the bus station or restaurants at night - no more than 15 minutes though. Very quiet at night, and great value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willow019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Astor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 365 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

Location is nice enough if you're there to go to the beach or strolling through town on a nice summer's day but when on business it's a place to avoid. Difficult to reach by car and finding a parking spot at night can be impossible. Room is very very basic, no curtains and no desk and/or work-area. Holiday only.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller-935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Due to a car breakdown, we arrived at around 1am, only to find that the hotel has closed at midnight! Now, it's definitely Venere's fault that they haven't informed us about this (they actually said that check-in is at any time after 2pm - literally), but still -
exhausted from the long trip with the car which was breaking down, we rang the door bell of the hotel: a terribly rude person answered the speakerphone and started shouting at us that the hotel is closed, and that he's sleeping, why did we wake him up.Then he hung up shouting that we shouldn't bother him!!
Now, I know that it's not Hilton, but still that is no way to treat a client.

We then obviously had to look in the middle of the night for another hotel and were fortunate enough to find for almost the same price (10 eur difference) a nice beachside best western hotel. Absolutely no comparison in value between this nice 3star hotel where we were treated nicely (also given the discount because they saw how stressed we were) - and that awful place Astor, miles behind the train station in an crap neighborhood.

So in the end we did feel lucky to have been denied check-in at this dump.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Veryblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

But not mad about the steep hill climb to the hotel which, to be fair, can't be helped. Located really near the train station & the town it's a great base for travelling around. The room was clean & comfortable with a great little balcony to take in some of the sunshine. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squareroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

This hotel is small, on the fringe of a residential area, with citrus trees and winding little streets, a self-proclaimed "naughty" but personable Frenchman (J.C.) as your host, and great walking access to the JLP train station, JLP restaurants and Old Antibes. Our room, on the lower level, was quite large and the bath was the largest we'd seen in our three weeks in Europe. A huge window let the morning sun and fresh air into our quiet room. J.C. served us our breakfast there - our choice, instead of out on the small patio. The walk to town doesn't start out to be scenic, as you travel a few blocks down a semi-industrial looking road and cross a pedestrian bridge over the railroad tracks, but then you soon come to the shops and cruise down the hill to the beach. The Astor was very comfortable, quiet and easygoing, not for the seeker of fancy.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peace714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

J.C, the conciere was friendly after our long sweaty trip prior to arrival. He gave us a very large, clean room, great bathroom. We could walk to the ocean/beach in about 10 mins. Room had a fan and stayed rather cool. Train stop was about a 10 minute uphill walk away as well.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RobsterVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

The hotel is overall limit ok. For the period, mid september, the price is quite high for the quality and position. Directly around there is not much, and to reach the beaches takes about 15 min by foot. Juan les Pins is a very nice place however.
The room is large, but not very clean, and pretty old. We had a studio with kitchen, equipped but not very clean. the towels should have been replaced once in the middle of the week, but they "forgot" to do so.
The owners are ok, but a bit agressive on the borders. Finally when we left, they promised the caution back by bank transfer, which never occurred, despite repeated emails.

All in all i would say you can find much better places in Juan Les Pins at this period of the year, and especially closer to the beaches and touristic areas. Hotel and service quality is mediocre.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blip-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan-les-Pins
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Castel Hotel
Le Petit Castel Hotel
#1 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#2 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
La Villa Cap d'Antibes
#5 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
0.4 mi away
Les Strelitzias
Les Strelitzias
#6 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
513 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Antibes
Ibis Styles Antibes
#16 of 86 in Antibes
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel

Address: 61 Chemin Fournel Badine, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#2 Business Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#2 Family Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#3 Romantic Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range: $73 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isabelle and Jean-Christophe welcome you to an attractive Provencal-style building with a relaxed, family atmosphere. Committed to ensuring all their guests a comfortable stay, they offer you an ideal location for a sun-filled holiday or business trip. A tranquil location, away from the hustle and bustle yet close to all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Juan Les Pins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing