We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in great central location. Needs to be more family friendly though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Astoria
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Good hotel in great central location. Needs to be more family friendly though.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked our holiday a month before arriving and ordered a cot for our baby for the room. On arriving, the cot had not been arranged and after asking for it on 3 separate occasions it was finally delivered to our door just before our baby's bedtime only to find it was broken. Lady then went on a hunt for another which we had to set up ourselves with no apology. In the morning when we went down for breakfast, we found that the only highchair available was also broken! Thank goodness we had packed a booster seat with us. Other than that, the hotel is clean, modern,comfortable and exactly what you pay for. The best bit is the location, central to everything- beach, train station, bus stops, shops, park, town centre... Great! Need to be a bit more family friendly but otherwise a good hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mim186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    130
    47
    16
    6
See reviews for
37
140
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was perfectly situated a very short walk from the train station and the beach. We spent five nights there in mid-September, just as the main tourist season was ending.

The choice of a location turned out to be very wise, as taxis are not common in Juan Les Pins, and indeed there is not even a taxi stand at the train station.

The closeness of the train station also made it easy to take a day trip to Monaco.

The room was clean and comfortable, although a bit tight for space.

A bonus about the location was a laundromat just around the corner. Turn right when you leave the hotel, then right at the end of the street, then right again down Docteur Fabre - it will be on your left. It will cost about 8 Euro to wash and dry. You must bring coins. Start a load, go to breakfast, then come back 40 minutes later for the dry cycle.

The hotel has a noon checkout, a secure bag storage area, and showers for those who want to spend their day at the beach before moving on.

There was lots of choice in the breakfast room.

The staff were friendly. Ask at the front desk for a discount coupon for one of the establishments that have chairs and umbrellas.

There were a few negatives.

The air conditioner was noisy on all but the lowest speed - the fan gave off a metallic grinding sound.

Noise was a problem on our first night (a Saturday) mainly from drunk young people on the balcony of the condo across the street. Most of the noise goes away if you roll down the shutters.

On the last two days of our stay we kept losing the internet signal, and then had to re-enter a lengthy password.

One of the walls showed signs of water damage from the air conditioner.

Overall, we were very pleased to have chosen this hotel for our first time to Juan Les Pins, but now that we know the town we would also consider other options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Average hotel, the best point is the location' about 100 meter from the beach and from the center of town. Room are very small but very clean. No mini bar. Breakfast is very average with basic products. If you come with a car don't expect parking near by. After all you get good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyHacohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from a wonderful vacation! We stayed there and traveled to Nice, Cannes and Monaco! Great beach!
Hotels staff not friendly! Room is very small. Comforter on the bed had a huge stain, which was discusting! And every "fresh towel had one or two hair on it! Water did not go thru the sink! I complained once, but no one came in to fix it! And I didn't say anything anymore! Shower was pretty bad as well. Breakfast not very delicious! Comparing to a 4* hotels we stayed in Milan! Overall, location is perfect for nightlife and amazing beach, but it's a very poor hotel for me and my husband! No more 3*!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olchik0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This middleclass hotel is in very good condition. The rooms are (as all rooms on the Riviera) small, but the rooms are good maintained. The continental breakfast is a small buffet, nice and with a nice range of bread, cakes and conmidment.

The hotel is situated 2 min from the railway station, 4 min from the restaurants and 5 minutes from good beaches.

If you fly into Nice, you don´t need a rental car. The airport bus stops 10 min walk from the hotel. With the train you reach Cannes, Nice and Monaco easliy. The train runs frequently.

We were here for 4 nights. The hotel is a good place to stay for such mini holiday.

The reception staff are of two kinds - very friendly or not so friendly.......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western Hotel Astoria in Juan-les-Pins (JLP) from June 28 to July 6, 2012, and used this location as a base for day trips to other locations in the Cote d'azure. The hotel is located a 30 second walk from the train station, and two blocks from the ocean front, and the best private beach in JLP. Also a couple of blocks from all the action in the main squares of the town. The hotel is very clean, proper and comfortable. We stayed in room 603, on the top floor, and had a MASSIVE balcony. Beds were vary comfortable (two single beds in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the living room which as comfy as the regular beds!!) Free WI-FI a huge added value (worked with my iPad and pc laptop). All of this being said, the hotel is definitely not the fanciest hotel, maybe even a bit dated, but very proper and excellent location. I would stay again without hesitation when visiting JLP.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thepurple_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan-les-Pins
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#2 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Pavois
Hotel Le Grand Pavois
#15 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#13 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Strelitzias
Les Strelitzias
#7 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Castel Hotel
Le Petit Castel Hotel
#1 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Astoria

Property: Best Western Astoria
Address: 15 Avenue Du Marechal Joffre, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 M From Beach; 30 Min From Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria Hotel Juan-Les-Pins
Best Western Hotel Astoria
Best Western Resort Astoria
Juan-Les-Pins Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing