We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A lovely place to relax by the pool!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Mimosas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Mimosas
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
1 review
“A lovely place to relax by the pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We (couple in early thirties) stayed there for four nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Ok the hotel has not been fully renovated for a number of years but has plenty of charm and still looked good (in our eyes). Our room (€115) on the second floor was average size for a hotel room (not too small) and was decorated very nicely, carpet looked newish and very clean - nice furnishings too. Had a safe in the fitted wardrobe and also (a big plus in the heat) a fridge to store your own drinks. The bathrooms was probably the most noticably dated thing but did not detract at all from the enjoyment of our stay.
The exterior of the hotel is clearly lovely and the atmosphere calm and relaxed.
Jean les Pins is very easy to reach by public transport - bus from terminal 1 at Nice Airport costs only 1€ to Jean les Pins! Cannes, Nice, Grasse and Monaco can all be reached easily on the train.
Due to Euro exchange rate Brits may find the Riveria quite expensive. Many restaurants seem rather over priced even without this added factor. One tip for a light dinner would be La Creperie on 17 Rue Dautheville (Tel. [--]) - they have a wide range of very interesting savoury pancakes for about €8-9 and sweet pancakes from around €4. Another restaurant we'd recommend is La Forge in Antibes (10 Rue Aubernon, tel. [--]) - we found all the dishes we had on the €25 Menu to be excellent quality and value. Nice place with a relaxed charm - probably best to book ahead if you want to sit outside.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    63
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
83
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Des Mimosas at the end of May for three nights. The staff was extremely nice and very helpful with restaurant recommendations, places to see and directions. The front desk staff spoke good English, which we really appreciated.

Hotel was in a good location, the pool looked great (although didn't go in it - too much to see!) and so did the hotel grounds. Our room was compact but adequate, very eclectic style, had small terrace and mini-fridge. The only ding I would give the hotel is that the bed was uncomfortable. We had a king (two twins pushed together) and you tell that they were worn as the bed sagged in the middle. Overall, I really thought the price per night was very reasonable for what you got.

We took a lot of day trips while in the area and found staying in Juan les Pins a great central location to stay, and the parking at the hotel was very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c5599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We recently stayed at Des Mimosas for three days and found it delightful. We also found Madame delightful - It really helps to make an effort to speak French to her - as indeed were all the rest of the staff. We had a room on the second (top) floor - there is no lift, but they were happy to carry the bags up and down for us - with an excellent bathroom, with a proper bath. The bed seemed a little hard when first tested, but in fact we slept like logs, so it must have been just right. The interior has a very distinctive atmosphere due to the eclectic collection of artifacts about the place and pictures on the walls, ranging through english hunting and shooting prints through the impressionists to indian art prints! The garden and pool area in front of the hotel is simply amazing. It is quiet and tranquil and even in May the pool was up to a very acceptable temperature. Having breakfast on the terrace beside the pool was always a wonderful way to start the day. The Mimosas is set two or three blocks back from the seafront, by which I mean that it is only a very short walk away from all the restaurants down there and the beach itself. Somewhat surprisingly we had some quite reasonable meals in the restaurants down on the beach and also had very good meals at Les Pecheurs (on the coast road towards Cap d'Antibes - go for lunch - in the evening it is very expensive, as befits its Michelin star) and L'Amiral, which is very close to the hotel.

This hotel is perhaps very different to the average modern concrete and glass norm, and, in my view, all the better for that. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed here (accidentally) during the Cannes Film Festival.. They don't put up their prices during this time, unlike many other hotels. We stayed in one of the first floor rooms with balcony and this choice probably really makes the hotel. The balcony is about the same size as the room (which did not have a bath, only shower, but OK). They will serve you a continental breakfast on the balcony, which overlooks the very nice garden and pool. Despite what others have said here , "Madame" who has been running the hotel for 30 years, is delightful. 1 of her daughters was helping her out whilst we were there. Cost was 135 Euros per night + 10 Euros per person for breakfast, so making it 155 Euros per day. Expensive at the present because of the pound exchange rate like everything in France. They will also serve you drinks etc. in your room at any time.
They have a good map/list of restaurants nearby - I would stick to it as there is a range from expensive ("Le Perroquet" restaurant - very recommended ) to others on the seafront that they have found do good food. Garden and pool is splendid

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birkacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

Booked 3 rooms for 3 days (for 5 adults) to attend our niece's wedding.

We liked the hotel from the moment we drove in. A building with character, nice lawns, and garden, swimming pool. Porter to carry our bags up the stairs. Nice cheery greeting at reception. Very welcoming. Warm lounge. Rooms were nice and reasonably sized. We had one room with a huge balcony, overlooking the gardens and the pool. Bathrooms were average.

Breakfast was good and cheery. We could take it inside or at the terrace overlooking the gardens. I was amazed at the attentiveness and politeness of the servers - a rare quality in France!

The hotel is more a 4* rather than a 3*. It is far superior to some so-called 4*s we have stayed in Europe. We all enjoyed our stay and had an overall 4* experience. No one in my family group had any negative thing to say.

Totally underrated - a very good hotel and more than comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

Trip Advisor's reviewers turn up trumps again.

Of the many hotels nearby we chose Hotel des Mimosas because of the positive reports. We weren't disappointed. Whilst several friends stayed at other better known, more expensive, establishments we enjoyed the best experience and value for money (£95 per night).

We stayed 3 nights and found des Mimosas to be a relief from the snooty, overpriced, mass produced hotels that are so prevalent in the area.

The hotel is charming and tranquil, set in lush gardens but just a 5 minute walk from the centre with its beach, bars and restaurants.

Our room was modest in size and simple in decor but adequate. White walls and ceiling were offset by pink carpet, bedspread and curtains. Very French. There was ample hanging and wardrobe space. The bathroom was a fair size and functional. We had a small balcony (other rooms had a larger one) overlooking the pool.

Unfortunately we couldn't have breakfast on the terrace or spend much time by the cool but inviting pool because the weather was unseasonably wet and windy.

The only very minor irritation was that the TV was tiny and received few stations.

Good value - which is rare on the Cote d'Azur.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Small TV
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

During our annual sojourn to the South of France we have stayed in apartments for the last couple of trips. This time we thought it would be a nice idea to go back to a hotel based holiday. We wanted to be the Cannes end of the Riviera, have a pool and somewhere with a bit of character. The Mimosas fit the bill perfectly.

This year instead of suffering the eye watering taxi fare (approx 75euros) from the airport, we gave the train a try. It is a very simple 10 min walk to Nice St Augustine station. A bus runs every 20 mins to the station at a cost of 1 Euro. 22 mins later we arrived at JLP and it is an easy 10 min walk to the hotel. If you want a taxi the hotel will arrange collection from the airport with a local firm at a very reasonable 38 euros.

Check in very smooth and efficient. Shown to my room on the first floor. We had booked a double with bath and terrace which was a good choice. The room was nicely turned out with very good (and quiet) air conditioning. Bathroom was a 4 piece - not large but perfectly adequate for our needs. The terrace was money well spent as it was large with 4 chairs, table and parasol and a nice view over the garden.

Breakfast can be taken in your room or on the terrace. I have had some pretty miserable breakfasts in French hotels – this wasn’t one of them. Decent tea/coffee served with juice, croissant, and bread etc and eggs cooked to your liking all served in the lovely surroundings of the terrace. The terrace leads to the pool. No need for the 6am alarm call to reserve a sun bed. There are plenty for the number of guests staying and they are of good quality with plenty of parasol’s to go round. It really is a very peaceful place to read, laze and just top up your tan with the well tended gardens as a peaceful backdrop.

JLP is a short stroll down hill from the hotel. We had a very nice meal at the Hotel Alexandra next to the Mimosas. The price is fixed at 26 euros and was top quality. All the other attractions of the Riviera are within very easy reach of the hotel.

The Mimosas is a great choice for couples or parties travelling as couples. Teenagers would be bored stiff because of its peace and quiet. There were also guests with toddlers. Again I would have thought this hotel not the best choice for those people. The pool has no shallow end or kid’s pool. And if junior has a 2 am feed me screaming fit the whole hotel will know about it. I was told that 70% of the guests are repeat business. I can imagine it- we will certainly be returning.

  • Liked — Overall ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greendalef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juan-les-Pins hotels
0.6 mi away
Sainte Valerie Hotel
Sainte Valerie Hotel
#9 of 50 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Strelitzias
Les Strelitzias
#5 of 50 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 50 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colbert
Hotel Colbert
#19 of 50 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#4 of 50 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel Ambassadeur Antibes- Juan les Pins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Mimosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Mimosas

Property: Hotel des Mimosas
Address: Rue Pauline, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Mimosas 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel in a vast exotic flower garden with palm trees. 5 minutes within walking distance to the sandy beaches and restaurants. 10 minutes by foot to the lively center of Juan-les-Pins. Very calm hotel. Large and beautiful swimming-pool. Private parking free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel des Mimosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Mimosas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing