We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cheese, good place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mon Fromager

Mon Fromager
Ranked #16 of 231 Restaurants in Frejus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Philippe Daujam, passionate farmers cheese, is a former master of the luxury hotel catering. In his shop, it offers a range of over 200 references of cheeses from raw milk, artisan, farmers and skillfully selected except that we also have the pleasure of eating there. It also offers regional grocery products foie gras, local wines, jams, organic spice bread, tapenade and olives Cailletier, Olive Oils, Salami Iberian ... In its original concept, you offers food throughout the cheese base year and also suggests a formula appetizer "the drink-Fro" during the summer evenings.
Lustenau, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good cheese, good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

As we wondered the street of Frejus in a hot summer day, a little past lunch time, we saw this small but charming place and decided to give it a try. We were not very hungry so le menu du jour, a very good combination of cheeses, salad and delicious french bread, was perfect for us. We had some of the very good local rose wine they recommended. Every plate is prepared by the owner just behind the cheese counter in the shop and only one waitress serves all the tables, about 8 in total because it is a small and cozy place. A very friendly ambience, quiet and peaceful...we highly recommend it. Good quality at a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cordobesaenlustenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    77
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Cheese Shop and Restaurant - Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stumbled upon Mon Fromager on a trip to Frejus. Having wandered through from the market it was the cow print table cloths that first stopped us in our tracks. We looked at the menu and my husband was overjoyed to find that it was a cheese shop serving cheese delicacies. The cheese shop has a small number of tables tightly packed together outside which were all nearly full on the Wednesday lunchtime in early June when we visited. We grabbed the remaining table outside and enjoyed a small bottle of house white to accompany our cheese dishes. Most of the other diners were enjoying red wine or rose with their lunches. The chef prepares the lunches behind the cheese counter in the shop whilst one waiter served all the tables.

Not being a huge fan of strong/blue cheeses myself, I opted for the tomato and mozzarella salad. The mozzarella was so fresh and tasty! My husband however, being a big cheese fan, went for the Assiette de Fromage where you could choose 5 cheeses from the Fromagerie. He opted for the waiter's recommended selection, which he carefully explained to us in French (we caught the words "vache" and "chevre" and that was about it!). The lunches were served with lots of delicious French bread. When we came to pay, the bill is served in a wooden cheese box which was a lovely cute touch.

Our lunch was delicious and Mon Fromager is such a French idea. A must if you are in Frejus. Just a shame they don't have cheese bars in the UK!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gemhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Smile- say cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We found this gem of a place in Frejus. A really good Cheese shop, that has 6 tables that doubles as a small restaurant . The food is really good, and obviosly cheese is top of the list, and what a superb variety, but we had a lovely fresh salad with a delicious duck breast, and goats cheese. Phillipe Daujan the proprietor is charming, speaks good English, and knows his cheese's.
Well worth a visit, and very good value for money.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicsibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cozy little fromage shop with service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Very beautiful cheese shop. With no so kind "fromager", but very pleasant "fromagerette". The value is quite high, but it is worth it to visit this shop with possibility to have a bottle of wine with premium French cheese...
What more, beautiful atmosphere of historical centre of Fréjus is just perfect...

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarsellusWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
145 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lunch in a Cheese Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We happened upon this little fromager as we were strolling along one of the main pedestrian streets of Frejus. They have about half a dozen tables set up - inside and outside for meals and degustations. They also have local wine and other items for sale.
The owners are quite friendly and happy to offers suggestions. My husband and I both ordered the plat du jour which was fantastic - fresh and tasty shrimp "gambas,"morel mushrooms dish topped off with shavings of Comte. We had a pitcher of a local rose and for dessert, a creamy, fromage frais topped off with Gariguette (wild strawberries).

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ABroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Fromager also viewed

Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Mon Fromager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing