We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vineyard & Tasting & lunch Review Only”

Vignoble du Clos des Roses
Ranked #19 of 34 things to do in Frejus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Le Clos des Roses offers to visitors the possibility to discover the vineyard and its expertise through entertaining and friendly tours. From the chapel to the cellar, passing by the vines, let us guide you and dive into the mysterious world of the wines of Provence which secrets will be revealed to you. Le Clos des Roses is a family vineyard where traditions and Nature are respected.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Vineyard tour was ok, tour guide was very nice. Nice to see the work that goes into this vineyard. You always learn something about the process that you did not know before.
I would recommend that the tasting part is done where the barrels are kept, it is already setup for it. I thought it lazy and an after thought to have it near the shop till. Ruined the feel for the experience. Easily remedied though!
The wine we tasted was rotten, normally I don’t spit the wine out. I did at this place!! Even an alcoholic would spit it out. The one that we wanted to taste was not made available to us but we tried it at the restaurant.
Tour costs 10 Euro and in my opinion should be refunded/discounted if spending money on a meal afterwards.

The restaurant was very nice and they had different wines available. Thank god! The restaurant area both inside and out was very nice and the hotel part looks nice (did not stay there but a tad remote without a car).

It’s a cool place in terms of looks and the restaurant is very well run. But remember, in France, the customer is wrong! So go with their flow.

Art also scattered around the grounds. Some sculptures were nice and others, well......

Ample parking and worth going to for lunch if you are staying in the area.....something to do and a nice break from the villa.

The winery is a nice touch but does not deliver quality or anywhere near average wine. But it’s a nice story.......

This is our second visit for lunch.

Thank Dazza_Loves_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

.... with the kids was such a pleasant surprise and really well received. When we arrived at first the event was fully sold out, but the kind owner took it to her heart to let in our small girls. Excellent service. I had to buy some wines as they where too delicious not to.

Thank Von_Raffenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back from the sea to taste and buy wine, and have lunch. We arrived around 11:45, walked around the grounds and then just before noon got to the cave to taste wine. As we had been driving for most of the morning, I stopped to use the toilet before entering. While in the toilet the ladies working, looked at my wife standing outside the cave, locked the doors, and said nothing to her. I came out and the doors were locked- no wine tasting and no buying wine possible as the cave is closed during lunch. I don't expect a lot of Customer experience in France, but this was a joke! The ladies could have said they were closing and asked us if we wanted to buy wine- anything?!?! They said nothing.

After a completely disappointing experience at the cave, we walked to the restaurant. There we waited at the doors for 5 minutes, no one came to help us. No one asked us if we wanted a table- again no communication.

I have no idea why this place is even open. They clearly don't want our money!

Thank mikeslone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLOSDESROSES, Responsable relations publiques at Vignoble du Clos des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Mister Slone,
We are really sorry for your disappointment. You should have come straight away for the wine tasting before walking around in the vineyard, because indeed the cave closes at noon (during « low season ») as it is written at the entrance, on the main doors and on our website.
It is common that the clients of our restaurant wait their other guests in the lobby of the cave or use our toilets before going to the restaurant. This is probably the reason why the lady closed the doors of the cave without asking you if you came for the wine.
Regarding the restaurant, they were certainly occupied with the terrace tables outside and haven’t seen you waiting and we apologize for that.
Noneless, be sure that we take very serioulsly your comment and we will be very pleased to welcome you again on our vineyard for a better experience.
Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2018
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLOSDESROSES, Responsable commercial at Vignoble du Clos des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vignoble du Clos des Roses also viewed

Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Frejus, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Vignoble du Clos des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing