We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The girls just loved the visit”

Parfumerie Fragonard
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.47*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Grasse Perfumery and Provence Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Nice
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Grasse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Visits to this historic factory thread their way through the perfumer’s laboratory, with its perfume organ, the distillery, the maceration and filtering studios, the enfleurage rooms, and the artisanal packaging and soapmaking workshops. The museum's collection features bottles and perfume memorabilia from ancient times and all the way up to the present day. Clay perfume flasks, khol vases, scent holders, salve jars, pomanders, bergamotes, and travel kits trace 3,000 years of history.
Meerbusch, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The girls just loved the visit”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to Grasse in August to visit the famous perfume museum of Fragonard. Allthough there very many tourists, the attention of the staff was still quite pleasing.
At the end of the tour, there was the usual shopping, however all my girls ( 4 of them ) got their personalized perfume and were very happy with this day trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank timmfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    417
    134
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited Grasse from our holiday base of Antibes. It wasn't a bad drive, and we didn't know much about Grasse, other than the connection with perfumes.

We arrived in the centre of Grasse, and there were posters everywhere directing you to Fragonard factories. We found one that had an old looking building, but parking was limited, and we were directed towards another factory. I'm not sure whether we were directed to the new factory as the old place was full, or maybe they just weren't open to the public that day.

Regardless we were soon at the new factory which had plenty of parking. It was pretty much a self guided tour, but there was a group of people who were given explanations as to the manufacturing process in French (obviously :-)) which we didn't join. It was a Sunday so the production machinery were unmanned and nothing was going on.

We quickly walked through the factory to arrive in the shop where there were lots of expensive soaps and perfumes for sale.

I think we were anticipating a bit of a history or a museum of perfumes, but we just had a short walk through a modern factory.

If there is a more interesting museum elsewhere in Grasse, we didn't get to experience it :-)

All in all it was a pointless drive to Grasse.

Thanks for reading.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RichClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A 20min drive by car from Cannes.Ther are 3 factories to chose from offering the same service and attractions:Molinard,Galimard and Fragonard. You arrive in the middle of an ugly city Grass. There is a free short (15'min) factory visit which is not really a factory but a small volume laboratory with a few posters in French and poor English. you follow the production line by yourself.There are basically 3-4 process rooms with manual packaging being one of them. It is great to see but it is short.At the end ther is a giant shop with their products like body lotion,own branded perfums (26-100eur),face creams and aftershaves. No customer service,no business acumen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Archimedesrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly, free and fun”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

They offer free guided tours through the factory and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. They take time to answer all your questions. There is also a small Museum, free of charge and of course a huge store where you can buy all the Fragonard products.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HugoBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Lovely fragrances”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A must if you love perfume, both for men and woman. Our friendly hostess, Kristina, gave us a very good insight in the process of manufacturing as well as the various products required to produce perfume. After the tour you have the opportunity smell all the lovely fragrances and canbuy perfume and other products at factory prices. You are no obligation to buy anything. Received great service from Kristina. Very professional and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quinton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parfumerie Fragonard also viewed

Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Parfumerie Fragonard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing