We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying in an olive mill museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moulin Sainte Anne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moulin Sainte Anne
Ranked #4 of 36 Grasse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
208 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Like staying in an olive mill museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this old mill that has been turned into a B&B. We stayed in the Chappelle room which was very large with a large beautiful bathroom. There was no wifi reception in the room. We had to go to the lobby to get internet. Owners were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good but nothing special

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
51
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, Ca. 94703
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a pleasure to stay at Moulin Sainte Anne! The comfort and beauty of this restored olive mill is due to the talent and enthusiasm of our hosts, Ludovic Walter, his gifted mother and former art gallery owner who devoted twelve years to the renovation of this historical site. The two level guest room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the use of a well-equipped kitchen, a living room and an upstairs bedroom and bath. With all the modern comforts, we also enjoyed the aesthetics of the stone walls and old wood beam framing that faithfully honored the original architecture. The communal dining room too is quite charming. While you enjoy your breakfast, which includes fresh squeezed orange juice, croissants, fresh breads, yoghourt, confitures and cheeses, you can enjoy views of the outdoor terrace and beautifully landscaped gardens, again, the inspired work of your host. If that weren't enough, adjoining the dining room is a special room devoted to the original olive mill with with the grinding stones and other tools that were used in the production of olive oil a century ago. Ludovic generously gave us a tour of this 'museum' and shared the history of the region, its, people, its industries, and his experiences in restoring the mill. Moulin Sainte Anne is close to the ancient town of Grasse. Ludovic was very helpful in suggesting places to see there and elsewhere in the region. He and his family were wonderful hosts and it was a treat to stay in such a unique and inviting Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuko_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Cute B&B at the dead end street. Well kind of: The street ends, gate opens and you enter an ancient property, lovingly restored. Wow effect included. The reception is charmng and the rooms delightful. Very quiet, just what you need to cruise the area and check everything out. I will return there anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from spending two delightful weeks in Grasse at the Moulin Sainte Anne in the Aile Sud room. Ludovic and his mother Katrina were delightful hosts. After long days at the Grasse Institute it was heaven to return to my lovely provincial rooms with its small balcony overlooking the beautiful flowers so carefully attended by the Walters. It was great to have several rooms, living quarters and bedroom, which gave me a real sense of homey-ness, unlike my colleagues who all had single hotel rooms in town. The small kitchenette was more than adequate for preparing a light supper.While staying at the Moulin necessitates a car, it's worth it. There is no television but the wifi worked adequately enough for me to entertain myself during the evening. Several of my colleagues who stopped by to see where I was staying were all quite jealous, exclaiming that "Moulin was the real Provence" that they expected to see when they came to Grasse. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Aile Sud is great for those who are staying more than a few days as it affords a small kitchen and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Gorgeous and peaceful surroundings, very warm welcome, not to mention very comfortable accommodation... Our week at Moulin Ste Anne was just perfect. We will definitely recommend Moulin Ste Anne to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desert1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Moulin Sainte Anne is a fantastic place to stay, Ludovic and his mother are genuinely welcoming and friendly. Breakfasts on the terrace are a real highlight, we just wanted to linger, with fresh croissants and the sound of the stream.. Our tour of the mill, lovingly restored by the family, was fascinating, our room was Aile sud, a cute split level with kitchenette and seating area, and just like in the main house, beautifully restored with stone walls and furnished stylishly with lovely antiques. We wished they did dinners! Grasse is good for a day trip to visit the lovely perfume factories, but avoid in the evening as there's nowhere to eat, is deserted, and lacks charm. Instead, head out to Cabris, Valbonne and other villages for great food and atmosphere. There's so much to do in the area that the Moulin is a great base for exploring and a wonderful place to come back to, highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our 2 year old labeled the Moulin a "castle" and that sums it up very well. You can feel the history in the property at every turn. The rooms were spacious, clean and stylish. And, the hospitality was genuine and friendly. The owners did an excellent job at renovating this property. We feel very fortunate to have had a chance to spend 3 nights there in May (this won't be available on the B&B circuit for long). We especially liked the breakfasts on the sunny outdoor patio, the comfortable living spaces, the nearby running trail along the water duct, and positive/helpful vibe that the owners conveyed. For example, when we attempted to retrieve our rental car from a perfume house parking lot and found the parking lot gate locked late one night in the rain, we called the Moulin owners looking for help. They dropped everything and started making calls to friends including the owner of the perfume company!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasse hotels
1.2 mi away
La Bastide Saint Antoine Jacques Chibois
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#5 of 16 in Grasse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bastide Saint Mathieu
Bastide Saint Mathieu
#2 of 16 in Grasse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#3 of 16 in Grasse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
1.5 mi away
Auberge du Vieux Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Sainte Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Sainte Anne

Property: Moulin Sainte Anne
Address: 9 Chemin des Pres, 06130, Grasse, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three exceptional guest rooms & 2 self-contained luxury holiday apartments in "Le Moulin Sainte Anne", a breathtaking, genuine early 18th century olive oil Mill. The Mill has been tastefully restored and retains the original machinery employed to produce Olive oil from two water wheels, one of which is located under the Mill in a historic network of subterranean water tunnels. It offers 3 large sized en-suite bedrooms, which combine the charm of old beams and stone walls with the modern comfort of 4 star accommodation (WiFi, Satellite TV, mini refrigerator, safe..) It also offers 2 independant apartments with well equipped kitchen, 1 large bedroom each and a living/dining space. The extensive grounds of the Mill offer imposing views into the pre-Alps and surrounding Provencale countryside. The gardens include a vineyard, olive trees, stone restanques and a discreet swimming pool carefully integrated into it's surroundings. Situated on the west side of Grasse in the "Quartier Sainte Anne", the Mill can easily be reached by motorway from Nice Airport (30 min.) And from Cannes (20 min.) Restaurants, convenience shops (bakery, fishmonger, market, wine store..) And a choice of supermarkets may all be found within less than 5 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moulin Sainte Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing