We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Vieux Eze

Vieux Eze
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.10*
and up
Small-Group Monaco and Eze Full-Day Tour
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Eze
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Too crowded. Fully occupied by cafes, restaurants, hotels, shops to the point that you cannot get to the top of the village to get the main view without paying 6 euros for so called exotic garden that is not any better than any public flower bed that was replaced by cacti. Don't waste your time and if you want this medieval village experience, go to St Paul de Vence instead.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank OlgaTimonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    301
    56
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
243 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you enjoy quaint, this is the epitome, in the historical sense. Wear comfortable shoes as the walks are uneven, but well worth the "hike" up the narrow passages. Its so amazing that ancient residents built and lived in this top of the mountain town, which is all rock.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank going5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We truly enjoyed meandering up and through the medival town of Eze to reach the top. The view is very pretty, and the walk through the town is fun because of all the little shops tucked away here and there, and the fantastic historical architecture. After the relaxing day of wandering and seeing pretty sites, we got to shop at Fragonard...so I'd say that was a great day!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EllaAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I've visited Eze in July. It was very crowded, you really couldn't walk at your own pace or take a good photo without bumping into another tourist. I can't say I was amazed by Eze, especially after visiting St Paul de Vence (another medieval village far more beautiful than this one). I must admit Eze is well preserved, and has its lovely sights, but it's nothing out of the ordinary, or worth seeing...there are many other places more interesting in Provence than Eze. I would recommend visiting this village only if you are in the area ( maybe at the Fragonard Perfumery) and you have some spare time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was like travel back in time! Amazing views, narrow old streets, cafes, atmosphere – history around every corner. Come and see if you are around!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MEandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vieux Eze also viewed

Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Vieux Eze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing