We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bastide aux Camelias
Ranked #2 of 9 Eze B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect spot!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were fortunate to stumble upon the Bastide aux Camélias. Fred and Sylviane are friendly, gracious hosts. The main house is lovely and well appointed. The amenities are five star. It was a great location from which we could explore Eze as well as the entire French Rivera region. The suite in the village of Eze looks very nice although we didn't stay there this visit. The roof top view is priceless. The Bastide aux Camélias gets our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    18
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
95
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for three nights of our honeymoon and it was a great choice. The house, set just outside of Eze, is beautifully decorated with lots of personal touches and flowers. There is a swimming pool (which we didn't get to use because we were out and about so much) and a jacuzzi (which we did use one night after dinner) in pretty gardens. We stayed in the Yucca room, which was a good size, individually furnished and had a little patio. The bathroom had a rain shower, local soaps and a fresh, pink rose in a little vase.

Breakfast consisted of croissants, bread, boiled eggs, coffee/tea, freshly squeezed juices and home-made preserves and jams. The owners are friendly and gracious people, happy to make recommendations (and a dinner reservation for us). I liked the honour system they ran in the bar, where you just take something from the fridge and write it on the blackboard. Fred and Sylviane should be congratulated on running a relaxed but professional B&B that is obviously just the sort of place people want to stay in!

One note is that it's probably better to have a car to stay here. It's a little bit out of Eze - up the hill. Also, you kind-of need a car to access bars and restaurants out of the village and in neighbouring towns and beach spots.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fozzy_Bear_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
444 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a week at the gorgeous suite in the medieval village of Eze. We arrived first at the main house where Sylviane showed us around the pool, jacuzzi, breakfast room and informed us that Fred gives massages on site as well. (We each had one the following day and they were amazing). After, we followed her to a parking area below the village, parked our car, then loaded into hers. We had not taken their warning about packing lightly seriously enough so she was kind enough to drive us as close as she could, then we hiked up to the suite. The suite is very nicely appointed and the rooftop terrace is breathtaking. This is a place that we'd like to return to again and again.

We visited the main house every other day or so for wifi and advice on things to do, but really everything you need is in the village. Fred brings breakfast in each morning while you sleep, and you wake to a beautiful spread which we enjoyed taking bits of to the rooftop.

We were unable to find a boat to charter for an evening of sailing and, upon asking Fred and Sylviane about this, they spoke to their son who had a friend of a friend who was able to take us out. This is one of the many advantages of staying with locals.

We had a marvelous time and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the suite of the Bastide aux Camelias for a couple of nights in September. Well, what we got exceeded all our expectations.

We first arrived to the main villa and got acquatinted with the wonderful owners - Fred and Sylviane. They were both very nice and friendly and they showed us around the property with a pool, an open-air jacuzzi, a petanque ground, a pavillion for massage and truly French charm around it all. It was all nice but not yet breathtaking. The breathtaking part began when we got back into the car and headed our way to the medieval village of Eze where they have the suite house.

And - my God! - how incredible it was! We left the car at the parking, the paid one but paid from the hosts' parking ticket. A few steps up the hill, through the village gates and narrow streets and there it was - a house right in the medieval village: for the next few days all the tourists around would be sure we were locals who were so lucky to live in such a charming house.

It had the ground floor with a fireplace, the bedroom and the ensuite bathroom on the first and... a small roof terrace with such a gorgeous view down the mountain to the sea that no photos and no words can describe it.

Our journey to Cote d'Azur was long enough for us to let ourselves stay at Eze during these two days without leaving for somewhere so we could fully enjoy the charm and quietness of the village that after the sunset when all tourists were gone turned into a truly magical place, walk down (and up!) the Nietzsche path and sip cool champange on the terrace (a bottle of Deutz was waiting for us in the minibar).

As for breakfasts - you don't need even to go anywhere - your only task will be to open your eyes waken up by the smell of coffee and croissants served for you only in the living-room downstairs while you are still asleep.

We had truly wonderful time at the Bastide aux Camelias and keep the very best memories of that trip.

Room Tip: Choose a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
423 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The owners are the nicest French people and very accomodating. The Jacuzzi is so relaxing after a day of touring and walking. We had the impression of seeing the real France instead of being in the bog city of Nice. Once you know the road in and out it is reallty quite easy to go to Monaco, Italy, Nice, Cannes etc. The breakfast was done with a family touch with homemadde jams and really fresh bread and squeezed orange juice. We loved this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETHKino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My husband and I had a long weekend in the Nice area and we spent the first night at this charming B&B. The owners Fred and Sylviane were delightful and recommended a wonderful restaurant in La Turbie which we thoroughly enjoyed. The room was very comfortable and breakfast, particularly with the the homemade jams, was delicious. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carambole room which is at one end of the house on the first floor. We found it ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otter234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
301 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We enjoyed a few days here. We had already visited Nice, Monaco and Menton but still found plenty of other places to explore in the mornings.
The peaceful pool was a lovely place to relax amongst all the flowers and trees. There is also a suana, hot tub and hamman which we did not use.
Our room, Lilas, was pretty with a lovely view. It had a good shower and there were plenty of towels.
The breakfast was good with fresh croissants, breads, fruit and yogurts.
Fred and Sylviane were good hosts.
A car is highly recommended. Dinner at Cafe de la Fontaine in La Turbie is a must.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eze
1.0 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eze Hermitage
1.0 mi away
Chateau Eza
Chateau Eza
#2 of 7 in Eze
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eza Vista
Eza Vista
#5 of 7 in Eze
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#3 of 7 in Eze
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastide aux Camelias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide aux Camelias

Property: Bastide aux Camelias
Address: 23 C route de l Adret, 06360 Eze, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Nice and Monaco in the heart of the park Grande Corniche,above Eze a famous medieval village overlooking the Mediterranean, Bastide aux Camelias 4 épis Gites de France is a charming Provencal home with pool away from the bustle of the Cote d'Azur but close to all major interestsLa Bastide recommended by many guides including the red Michelin guide has four charming rooms in a nature area with mountain view. and an independent suite with panoramic sea village Particular attention is given to well-being stay.Complementary jacuzzi sauna & steam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bastide aux Camelias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing