We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”
Review of Chateau Eza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Eza
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our room had a balcony with the most fabulous view along the Cote D'Azure where we sipped champagne and basked in the sun. A gloriously ornate four poster bed and sumptuous bathroom completed the experience. We dined in the restaurant on the 7 course taster which was delicious. The staff were friendly and very helpful though do check the cost on the wine list...you could be in for a rather expensive surprise otherwise. The village it is situated in is a labyrinth of delights and we were pleased we did the steep descent on foot to Eze Bord De Mer and the lovely pebbly beach - my calves protested for days afterwards though!

Room Tip: The Garden Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MizzPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    59
    31
    21
    14
See reviews for
53
345
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had I not also stayed at Chateau de la Chevre d'Or, I may have given five stars. I stayed at Chateau Eza my first night in Eze and was very impressed with the village in general and the hotel. The welcome drinks were excellent and the view from the balcony was amazing. The service all around was definitely 5 star. Mr. Martin at reception was so kind and helpful and our room was on two levels and was very clean and cozy. We had the tiniest view of the ocean from our bedroom window, which was nice because we weren't expecting it. However, we were not impressed with the water pressure in the shower, which was such a shame because it was such a beautiful, big shower, and we were not very impressed with the restaurant at the hotel. The service at the restaurant was impeccable, but the food was just pretty good. I have definitely had better and for the outrageous prices (240 euro for the two of us), I was not impressed. I also wasn't very impressed with their breakfast buffet. The patio you eat it on was fantastic, but the food was just like any other hotel. In general, this definitely is a five star hotel, but I would recommend staying at the other five star hotel in the village (Chateau de la Chevre d'Or), which happened to be the exact same price the weekend we stayed. It was just a little more special and luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacKennaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Me, my husband, and my mother in law had a lovely two week vacation in France and spent our last two nights at this chateau. Once we arrived to the hotel, we received a warm reception with a glass of champagne on their private balcony. We were blown away from the views and knew right away that this was the cherry on top to our wonderful trip. Both of our rooms were very charming and had excellent views. We had dinner one of the nights and very much enjoyed the cuisine and service. We definitely recommend eating here!

I only have two criticisms for our stay: 1. The water in our showers never went beyond luke warm. This might not be an issue for some, but I enjoy hot showers so this was a disappointment for me. 2. They advertise free wifi but it rarely worked for us. When it did connect, it was almost not even worth it because it was so slow. We went to the office multiple times to resolve the issue and they kept giving us new passwords. They mentioned that they were trying out a new system to limit the amount of users on their wifi, but unfortunately, it wasn't quite ironed out for our stay.

Overall, the pros certainly outweigh the cons and I definitely recommend anyone to stay here!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckormanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend with family to celebrate my wife's birthday and had the most amazing time. Everything about the hotel, from the welcome, the rooms, the views, the ambiance and the staff was all superb.
With our private dining room and terrace for our special celebration meal, we could not have asked for more.
Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Having heard about Chateau Eza from a Samantha brown episode on Monte Carlo, we booked a lunch during a recent trip to the cote d'azur.
surviving the intense walk up to the near top of Eze, (not for the physically challenged), we arrived to a warm welcome and the most amazing balcony table overlooking the Med. The service was prompt and friendly. We were recommended to each try a different tasting menu as a means of maximizing the experience. Excellent idea. Combined with a wonderful white wine selection from the Sommelier, it was an afternoon to remember. Kudos and highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuertingen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were staying for 1 night with a kid. Personal was very nice and helpful, upgraded room wich was better to stay with a kid. Breakfast very very delicious and view having breakfast in Terrace was incredible. Parking space very limited but solved very good by personal, up on arrival you just give your to very nice guys and you forget all troubles, they park your car and get your luggage to your room. Welcome drink with amazing view included !

Room Tip: We were staying in Royal Junior Suit, very spacious but balcony is with limited space, though just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GintareKestutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you don't know what it is like being a part of royalty, stay here and you will. The 1000 year old village of Eze is about half way between Nice and Monte Carlo or about 30 minutes by bus from either city center. The Chateau Eza is a quaint 12 room hotel built in a ~17th century castle. The service is incredible, the rooms are appointed beautifully and the views from 1200 feet above the Mediterranean are second to none. The pictures on the website are impressive but the only way you can experience the granduer is to stay here or if your schedule doesn't allow for this, dine or have a drink on the balcony of the restaurant after wandering through the shops along the narrow walkways. There are shops and small restaurants within and outside of the villiage of Eze and there is also a small supermarket at the village entrance. If you are planning a trip on the Cote D' Azur you will be cheating yourself by not staying for at least one evening.

Room Tip: My only recommendation is to ask for a room away from the restaurant patio. A couple of the rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Property1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eze
0.1 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
0.9 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#4 of 7 in Eze
189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eze Hermitage
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
0.2 mi away
Eza Vista
Eza Vista
#5 of 7 in Eze
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Eza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Eza

Property: Chateau Eza
Address: rue de la Pise, 06360 Eze, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Eza 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BOUTIQUE HOTEL ON THE COTE D' AZUR, Chateau Eza is the most stunning, with a Michelin-starred restaurant, tucked away in one of the most enchanting locations on the Cote d' Azur.Exquisite and intimate, the 14 room and suite chateau clings to the side of the ancient rock walls of Eze, a thousand-year-old medieval village more than 400 metres above the Mediterranean Sea. Chateau Eza offers 14 luxurious rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Eza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Eza Èze
Chateau Eza Hotel Èze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing