We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Chevre d'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
239 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“One Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

How can you describe a hotel that is in a castle? This has to be one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. Yes, it is expensive but this is one in a lifetime experience and the staff are great.

When you arrive you come to a gate where you are greeted by a porter who seems to know your name. He directs you to reception and then parks your car. The walk to the reception is incredible. You see the gardens, the statutes, the flora, and the sea. The site is breathtaking. In fact, it took my wife and I ten minutes to make the walk to the reception area because we stopped off every few feet to take in another incredible view.

We finally arrived at the reception area and we checked into our room - which also was incredible. The room was actually a suite consisting of a good size bedroom, huge bath, nice sitting area, and incredibly large walk in closet. Plus, we had a patio-terrace. We booked this hotel for one night but decided to stay over an extra night.

My only complaint is the length of the walk from the parking area to the rooms all of it without any cover. It is quite a hike and on our second night there it rained as if it were a hurricane. The cobblestone walkway and numerous stairs became slick and my wife fell on the slippery walkway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ackvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    91
    32
    24
    8
See reviews for
73
428
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had booked this place because of it's membership with Relais & Chateaux, as we usualy travel with them and are never disappointed.
we arrived while it was raining as hell, with a real thunderstorm. From the moment we arrived by car, the porters directed us to the reception with umbrellas and took care of our luggage. We found them back, a little later, in our room. This was quite a job, as the car park was quite far from the reception area. This magical hotel is located in a medieval village in the hights of Eze Village. We were escorted to our rooms through the small alleys of the village. Magical !! Our room was a suite, so more than enough space, as was the bathroom, with jacuzzi bath and walkin shower.
To forget everything about the bad weather, we went to the bar and enjoyed a great bottle of Champagne with home made miniardises. Absolutely wonderful.
In the morning, when opening the curtains, oh my god, a stunning, breath taking, view. The rain from the day before was gone and left a blue sky with a beautifull sun shine. Oh wawh !!
The view is just undiscribable...
We left our beautiful room to get a energizing breakfast and there again we could enjoy the same incredible view.
Everything to make your romantic stay perfect.
After our breakfast we enjoyed our walk through the property taking stairs up and down, all with the same view and sunshine.
To every nice thing comes an end, so also to this and we had to leave.
We will be back, but for a few days longer, to enjoy the view, gastronomy of the restaurant,
Oh, I forgot to mention the high class of the staff. They went out of their way to help us out with everything. They were never in a rush and took the time for everything.
Many thx to all the staff for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: No tips needed, every room is great. If you want to spend a bit more, take a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C-Vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Antonio the concierge is absolutely awesome! The staff with their happy smiles always made our day. I don't know where people got the idea that the french are snobs because this whole trip we were treated so well. I thoroughly enjoy the stay and if you can afford to stay at this place don't hesitate. It's worth every single dollar. The place has so much history and the architecture is one to admire. Sitting in the garden and enjoying the view, reading on your balcony, chilling in the spa and working your way around the village. The adventure is worth the weekend.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a sea view it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derek j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is, in a word, magical. Tucked into a medieval village high atop a cliff with breathtaking views of the glistening Mediterranean. The room was a unique multi-level arrangement with an upstairs bedroom with windows opening out to the ocean. The terraced gardens and pool are immaculately kept and, thanks to the small number of rooms, usually empty. The staff are worthy of the hotels five star status as well. A sunset dinner at the hotel restaurant, perched at the highest point, is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, ça
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and it was absolutely spectacular. The hotel room was two story and had every amenity and was beautifully appointed. The staff couldn't have been nicer. It is a 5 star hotel and earns every one of them. The views from our room as well as the pool and gardens are incredible. We had drinks out on the terrace and dined at their 2 Michelin star restaurant that evening--a true culinary experience. One we will never forget. We fell in love with tis quaint and charming town and plan on returning next year for a much longer stay.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a sea view--it is worth the upgraded cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie-nms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I had the most remarkable stay. We have traveled extensively throughout France and this place is at the top of the list (maybe tying with a few others). From the moment we were greeted, we were made to feel like royalty. The care to attention, the beauty of the grounds, the on site Michelin starred restaurant and the quaint village "on the grounds" made it the perfect place for a few nights. I'm into gardens and this place takes the cakes. There are sculpture gardens and at the top of the village, what they call an "exotic garden." (It's a tropical desert garden). NB-This is not part of the grounds and there is a minor charge to get in. The staff was perfect; the room was very nice. There's only one very important thing to understand about this place - if you have ANY hip, knee or walking issues, this is on steep property; even our room had a spiral staircase so the bathroom is on a different floor than the bedroom. The room was a 3 floor suite - not the greatest layout, but very cool with amazing window views from each floor - well worth it if you're physical condition can withstand it. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minniemeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
485 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have wanted to stay at this hotel for years. We decided to book for a couple of nights at the beginning of October and kept our fingers crossed for good weather. We got a taxi from Nice airport, which dropped us and our bags, at the entrance to the hotel grounds. Our bags were taken care of and we were directed to the hotel reception through the gardens. As we walked up the entrance drive you reach the first set of railings which gives you your first views down on to the mediterranean. With the sun shining and a blue sky and sea, the view could not have been better. Walking on through the gardens, the number of statues multiply alarmingly. Looks like someone got a job lot of animal statues from a Hollywood set. Too many and, IMHO, rather tacky and kitsch. However, we checked in at reception and had our welcome drink on the terrace before heading to our room. I didn't have the highest of expectations for the room as we had booked the autumn package and I assumed we would have a small village facing room. I was so delighted when the door opened and we entered a bright room with a wonderful terrace (2 loungers and dining table with 4 chairs) with stunning views on to cap ferrat. As the weather was so gorgeous whilst we were there, we were able to make use of our private terrace. The bathroom was open to the room - although there was a room screen which could be used if you wanted. In the corner there was a large jaccuzzi bath, a separate shower unit, double sinks, and in a "cupboard" was the loo. Lanvin products, fluffy towels, nice dressing gowns and slippers. Breakfast was include which we had on the terrace both mornings. We never heard a sound in our room from people outside or other guests so we slept very well at night. The housekeeping was excellent - very efficient.

We really enjoyed our stay and I am glad we booked the Chevre d'or. I had been tempted to book instead Chateau Eza, so whilst in Eze we wandered along to have a cocktail there. The terrace where we had our drinks was very close to the main road and we could hear road noise the whole time. There are hotel bedrooms just above that terrace so I would not have liked to have been in one of these rooms on account of the road noise.

On our last day we wandered around the gardens and by mistake went into the private gardens of what must be the principal suite (there was noone in the suite and someone had left the gate open so we hadn't seen the private sign). It looked lovely - small private infinity pool and jacuzzi exploiting the fabulous views. maybe next time?

Another bonus was the late check out we were offered. Our flight was not until 6pm and we were able to keep our room for no extra charge until 3pm which was great. After checking out & settling the bill, we had a final glass of wine on the main terrace of the hotel taking in the breathtaking view whilst we started to plan our next trip to this region of France.

We were incredibly lucky that the weather was so lovely as we were able to see Eze at its best but without the vast number of tourists that must clutter up the place in peak periods. I definitely wouldn't recommend going here in the height of summer as the climbing up and around Eze is tough going and must be exhausting in high temperatures. We visited the Exotic Gardens, which were worth going to & the Fragnonard Factory (taking in the short tour) which we also enjoyed.

Room Tip: a room with a terrace & view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eze
0.1 mi away
Chateau Eza
Chateau Eza
#2 of 7 in Eze
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#3 of 7 in Eze
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eze Hermitage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Chevre d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Chevre d'Or

Property: Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Address: Rue du Barri, 06360 Eze, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de la Chevre d'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Château de la Chèvre d'Or in the medieval city of Eze sits between the sky and the Mediterranean Sea and offers a rare, warm, family-friendly atmosphere. 31 rooms, 7 suites and 1 Panoramic suite. "La Chèvre d'Or" gourmet restaurant (2 Michelin stars)- "Les Remparts" Mediterranean restaurant terrace (lunch only), the EDEN restaurant (dinner only) & Le Café du Jardin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau de la Chevre d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Chevre d`Or Hotel
Chateau Chevre d

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing