We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the worst place in cote d'azure”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mas Provencal

Mas Provencal
Ranked #25 of 39 Restaurants in Eze
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“the worst place in cote d'azure”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We came with our friend to show Eze and have decided to go there because of their flower decoration. We travel a lot around the world, we also know well Cote d'Azur. There are very good restaurants, simply good, average and even bad places, but we never visited before so awful place like Mas Provencal. This restaurant is a shame of this country and destroy the image of french cuisine. The food and service are both terrible, you wait for an hour to get your main which a cold, badly cooked piece of meat covered with Gravy from a fridge. The rest is the same. The service is slow and unfriendly. And they charge you a price tag of a michelin restaurant for such of disaster.
Run out ! Don't even think to come to this place !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    24
    8
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Interesting setting, good food but not spectacular”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The decor and setting is hard to believe - like sitting in a greenhouse in a tropical garden with flowers etc hanging everywhere and some cool antique furniture and decorative pieces all around.

It is a fixed menu of EUR 88 per person and there are several choices of starter, main etc to choose from.

I wasn't expecting all the appetisers to appear which were all interesting, tasty and nice.

Starters were good too.

Mains were ok but nothing special.

Then deserts etc which were good and some interesting presentation.

Live music was nice and non-intrusive. They came to our table and played some selections for us which was a nice touch.

An interesting place and I have been past it many times but never been in. A great setting and something you don't experience often in terms of decor. I can't help thinking the food needed to be a bit better to live up to the decor etc. It is pretty pricey for what it is.

But still well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wills1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

As we entered the restaurant we saw flowers and dust everywere,it seams not so cleaned.The waitress take your food not finished,Put it in a fridge and then give it to other guests....are you kidding?2 hours waiting for a terrible rise with cheese.400 EUros the bill for 4.There are batter places in Eze believe me,don't go there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Feels like your in a movie dream sequence”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

As we entered the restaurant, we wondered if our vehicle had dropped off one of the steep cliffs we drove by on our way in and we were now really in heaven. OK, I'll give you that the food *is* good but maybe not the best plate you will ever taste in your life. However, I can't imagine anyone ever forgetting a night inside what, to me, is the world's most beautiful restaurant. No words to describe the smells, the impressive displays, and most of all... the warm service. I'll take this experience to my grave :) One of the most romantic places on earth.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FloribelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“magical setting”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our third stay in Eze and also third meal at Mas Provencal, which we stumbled upon in our first visit ('95) at which time we had lunch. The setting is unique and is better seen than described. Kind of a cross between your antique-collecting aunt's rambling house and a rainforest. Trend in decorating these days is streamlined so I suppose this setting would not be to everyone's taste, but it is on the main road so at least stop in and take a look at both the setting and menu. For dinner, it is a prix-fixe multicourse meal with a decent number of selections and while it is expensive (what isn't in this part of the world in summer?) at least the wine list offers some relief as the selection is relatively wide in terms of prices.
As with the decor, the menu remains pretty constant and its "rustic French" style may not be in keeping with trends..... but after all the restaurant name is "Provencal house" so the food fits the region and aim of the owners. We really enjoyed the selection of appetizers presented on a tiered tray, more than we could eat but just had to have those quail eggs!
Music seems to be offered every evening and even the musicians have remained constant. Once the group has fully assembled they roam through the restaurant taking requests and adding to the fun ambience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mas Provencal also viewed

Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Mas Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing